Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I'd argue that we don't either.
We finished year well. But how many of our players are not at peak? Most are in it tepai french gutherson will improve thats about it. ALVARO hasnt got a high ceiling.
Norman improves us heaps but vae and brown in for say terepo and Alvaro. Will that makes us a top 4 side? No......
Add scott will decline along with de gois and we lose Gordon.A win against saints who almost lost to the worse team in nrl history and nz who have no heart .We are 20 points behind the top sides. NORMAN and new signings gets us perhaps within 6-10. We need more

Coote takarangi wade graheme austin.... Just to name a few i sugested when no club wanted

Shoot enough arrows and you are bound to hit a target. They have been reasonably easy targets to Hindy. There are people on this forum with strong football knowledge that are worth listening to. You on the other hand aren't much more than a dribbler.

We finished year well. But how many of our players are not at peak? Most are in it tepai french gutherson will improve thats about it. ALVARO hasnt got a high ceiling.
Norman improves us heaps but vae and brown in for say terepo and Alvaro. Will that makes us a top 4 side? No......
Add scott will decline along with de gois and we lose Gordon.A win against saints who almost lost to the worse team in nrl history and nz who have no heart .We are 20 points behind the top sides. NORMAN and new signings gets us perhaps within 6-10. We need more

Idris is a long way off his peak as well. Around five years past it at the moment.

Shoot enough arrows and you are bound to hit a target. They have been reasonably easy targets to Hindy. There are people on this forum with strong football knowledge that are worth listening to. You on the other hand aren't much more than a dribbler.

And i appreciate your knowledge and respect it but i have my opinion.I dont need to go to and watch every game. Alvaro plodder and mannah not my style of prop ... Bang on all you want about these guys, they are running pillows that any defense can tackle.
Coote after major injuries was not an easy pick nor was Austin when at peno.

We have some talent. Tepai and twal i like. Kaysa i still think can break out.
Gutherson is our future captain. Yes there is a lot to like about our club.But we need more talent. We can scrape in 8. I want a team who can win it.

Idris and hastings and id feel optimistic. I understand both would be a risk. Id roll the dice thou amd without throwing bank at them it could be worth it

Happy MEel

Wouldn't the "risk" you're talking about only be relevant to the position/s Idris plays? Mentioning players such as Alvaro, who is becoming a very solid first grader by the way, is irrelevant. In our case, we have Edwards, Tep and Mau on the edges and they are all better than Idris ever was or will be. In the centres we have Jennings and Taka, both of whom are better than Idris. I agree we need a back up so if he is willing to come for back up money (<120k) then fair enough. However, I don't think that is likely.

Idris on less than $300k could be a great buy if he played in the middle. I'm less excited about him as an edge player because his lateral movement is poor even when fit.

Happy MEel

Idris on less than $300k could be a great buy if he played in the middle. I'm less excited about him as an edge player because his lateral movement is poor even when fit.
I don't reckon he is suited to the middle as he is a lazy defender and would get destroyed around the ruck. In the middle he also loses the size advantage he has on the edges, much like Tep earlier on this year. I think he'd turn into a very mediocre middle forward and worth well short of $300k in that position.

And i appreciate your knowledge and respect it but i have my opinion.I dont need to go to and watch every game. Alvaro plodder and mannah not my style of prop ... Bang on all you want about these guys, they are running pillows that any defense can tackle.
Coote after major injuries was not an easy pick nor was Austin when at peno.

We have some talent. Tepai and twal i like. Kaysa i still think can break out.
Gutherson is our future captain. Yes there is a lot to like about our club.But we need more talent. We can scrape in 8. I want a team who can win it.

Idris and hastings and id feel optimistic. I understand both would be a risk. Id roll the dice thou amd without throwing bank at them it could be worth it

I don't think I possess the knowledge of a number of much better posters on these forums mate. I don't lose much sleep if people don't respect what I post either. I do base my opinion on what I read and what I see. If I am wrong it doesn't really matter. Nor does me being right make my day any different. You do have your opinion and you are welcome to it. I disagree strongly with it and find that you change it to suit your argument or if someone doesn't live up to it.

If Idris and Hastings are going to make a difference to your level of confidence for 2017 than good luck to you but I doubt that either are in the clubs plans. I don't think either player fits the culture or squad that Brad Arthur is trying to build and it's his opinion that I value more highly than anyone else's.

I earlier would have moved heaven and earth to get Hayne but in hindsight I was wrong. We are better off without him at his price. I'd still however take him as a 6' on $800k.

I'd take Mead over Sio. He is faster but surprisingly older than Sio. A big no to Idris. Would rather try and entice Whare from the Panthers and try and offload Jennings. MJ needs a big off season. He played too heavy this year.

I don't reckon he is suited to the middle as he is a lazy defender and would get destroyed around the ruck. In the middle he also loses the size advantage he has on the edges, much like Tep earlier on this year. I think he'd turn into a very mediocre middle forward and worth well short of $300k in that position.
Taumalolo is a lazy defender as well. And while he doesn't have any size advantage in the middle he certainly has a footwork/agility advantage over most middle defenders.

Hey Colonel

Should we try and recruit Sam Williams? I reckon we should. He is experienced and an ideal 7 if Gutherson doesn't work out at 6.