Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Glenneel

Already replaced mate. Rankin. Hopefully we are doing a "Roosters" and looking for young talent elsewhere. This year will take care of itself one way or another. We need to future proof with sound forward planning.
What about planning for the backs? They're part of the team also.

Soren Lorenson

So much potential that never eventuated. Wonder if will do better at Sharks?
Hold on a effen minute. You have been saying since day one you never saw anything special in him and he was barely a decent first grader. I thought for sure you would come on here this morning and say good riddance. I logged in especially to see that.

Soren Lorenson

Salmon has had plenty of time to show potential and has yet to show any. 1 decent game in 8? does not inspire confidence. And now your advocating not giving another young player any games to show if he is capable. If you're happy to stick with a mediocre player than good on you. Btw plenty of young players have debuted this year and all have shown much more potential than Salmon has.
This, for example

Soren Lorenson

Sorry but hasn't shown enough to me to believe he'll only ever be a fringe first grader. Tell me one game where he has shown anything like taking control, or doing a fancy play or dominating his opposition, anything special? Just appears to be coasting along to me and we're not a team able to afford players coasting.
And this

Gazzamatta

Ive always been a Salmon fan.
I think hes been strong on each occasion hes been provided an opportunity.
I also love it grilled with a crispy skin and a greek salad. Win/win.

Soren Lorenson

Ive always been a Salmon fan.
I think hes been strong on each occasion hes been provided an opportunity.
I also love it grilled with a crispy skin and a greek salad. Win/win.
Personally I would have like to have seen him more, but not to be. I can't really see where he fits into the Sharks side either.

Gazzamatta

Personally I would have like to have seen him more, but not to be. I can't really see where he fits into the Sharks side either.
Morris appears to be a coach who provides much opportunity to young players. In fact its his Snr players on huge money who are holding him back. Hopefully he can move on Moylan, Johnston, the always injured fullback. Fifita and Woods. If successful there will be plenty of room for Salmon.

Soren Lorenson

Morris appears to be a coach who provides much opportunity to young players. In fact its his Snr players on huge money who are holding him back. Hopefully he can move on Moylan, Johnston, the always injured fullback. Fifita and Woods. If successful there will be plenty of room for Salmon.
Haha, I was actually going to say that the Sharks side is full of Newtown players anyway so he will fit right in. But seriously, I will be interested to watch how he develops, or if he is another one destined for fringe first grade for the rest of his career.

Hold on a effen minute. You have been saying since day one you never saw anything special in him and he was barely a decent first grader. I though for sure you would come on here this morning and say good riddance. I logged in especially to see that.
Hey, you're cramping @Glenneel 's style. Just let him pile on the club without interfering OK ?

Haha, I was actually going to say that the Sharks side is full of Newtown players anyway so he will fit right in. But seriously, I will be interested to watch how he develops, or if he is another one destined for fringe first grade for the rest of his career.

I reckon the only way he finds success at another club is that HE works on his deficiencies. The fact that the club had to go out and buy Field and Rankin is a reflection on him not hitting his benchmarks.

You can throw Salesi Fainga’a in as the same player. Plenty of potential, but to just lay blame at BA is a soft cock excuse.

Salmon looked ok. Not spectacular and if he was any good Wenty would of done better. Reality is W.Smith stood out more in NSW cup.
He may turn out ok who knows. But where does he fit into our side? We have our halves covered.

Hold on a effen minute. You have been saying since day one you never saw anything special in him and he was barely a decent first grader. I thought for sure you would come on here this morning and say good riddance. I logged in especially to see that.
Now we're letting him go Glenn thinks he's going to be a gun.

Joshuatheeel

I reckon Salmon did ok in his few NRL games, but not having NSW cup really hurt his chances this year.

Being a utility type player and still very young, he really needed to play each week to find his most suitable position and play himself into some form/get experience.

He only really has had 1 full year of senior footy, last year. In 2018 he was coming back from a serious neck injury (so only 1 full year of footy in 4 years).

Thought he did ok at centre in the panthers trial.

Hopefully he stays, probably comes down to his price and where he sees the best opportunities are.