Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Incorrect

Dunno why but almost as soon as Salmon arrived I've had the feeling he would be back at the Sharks when his deal with us had expired.

Like Adam Dykes, he never seemed to take to being an Eel

Why the f**k do you rate him so much? In every game I’ve seen him play he never really showed much of anything. Not enough skill for a half.
Not enough speed for a centre.
Not enough bulk for a forward.
Jack of all trades, master of none.

If I may take the liberty:

Jaeman Salmon, at 21 years of age, showed me he has a good footy brain, and enough speed, and power, to break the line.

He never set the world on fire, but to be fair to him, he didn't exactly get much game time.

Leaving is the best decision for his career, anyway - he is not a better centre than Jennings, or Blake; he is not a better 5/8 than Brown; and he would be very hard pressed to push Nathan Brown, Shaun Lane, or Ryan Matterson out.

I knew it. Why wouldnt he. No worries. We have heaps of junior backs to replace him. Im guessing Taka will be re signed now and W Smith. Jenko 2 more years. Probably Fergo as well. Lets extend Sivo too. Little wonder our A is fu*ked. I hope Salmon kills it there.
Welcome to Parra.

Noise

Salmon has shown in the past that he can handle first grade. With only Jordan Rankin who will be 30 in 2021 as our backs utility for next year (and let’s face it he’s a winger and that’s pretty much it) you wonder who we are looking at? Please god don’t let us re-sign Taka or Smith.

84 Baby

Salmon has shown in the past that he can handle first grade. With only Jordan Rankin who will be 30 in 2021 as our backs utility for next year (and let’s face it he’s a winger and that’s pretty much it) you wonder who we are looking at? Please god don’t let us re-sign Taka or Smith.
This:
Salmon is a backup and will be replaced with another backup.
Plus likely a cheaper backup than Salmon.
And you’re confusing Rankin with Jordan Atkins.

84 Baby

Already replaced mate. Rankin. Hopefully we are doing a "Roosters" and looking for young talent elsewhere. This year will take care of itself one way or another. We need to future proof with sound forward planning.
I reckon Rankin is replacing Smith (and if the squads drop to 28, then it’s possible he won’t even be in squad)
Field replaced Salmon when we decided Salmon wasn’t worth persisting as a half. And now we’ve decided Salmon isn’t worth persisting as a centre/edge forward either

84 Baby

Maybe, Wasn’t Rankin the guy who debuted super young? And has done f**k all since? Played for the tigers on the wing is the last thing I remember
He played split wing/fullback one season for Tigers but he was mostly a fullback/half. Didn’t play wing at all in ESL

If you listen to the TCT Podcast last week, they said that the days of Rankin being a winger are long over. he has been training at 1 and 6 since coming across from ESL.

Why the f**k do you rate him so much? In every game I’ve seen him play he never really showed much of anything. Not enough skill for a half.
Not enough speed for a centre.
Not enough bulk for a forward.
Jack of all trades, master of none.

I thought the same of a young Wade Graheme and Ryan Matterson.