Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Have to respect Moses for landing a touch line conversion after that miss. Sure Gus, Joey and Sterling are entitled to their opinion, but basically how many 7s go close to their level. Don’t see any halves outside the 4 that are left that are anywhere as good as Moses.
You make some valid points. BA’s bench rotation and timing has always been poor. However the above I totally agree with. I would never just ship him to another team without having a viable alternative like Michael Morgan or some boom rookie that you would invest a long term plan with. There is talk about this Burton kid but he could turn out like Luke Brooks and we may be back to square 1 like we were with Moses a few years ago.

If he is to stay. Move Dylan Brown to centre or fullback and Gutherson to 6. All the great modern day fullbacks turn into top line 5/8ths can’t see why Gutherson wouldn’t. One thing is for sure if we don’t change something BA may get us into the 8 but remain with one solitary semi final win in 8 seasons.

BA needs to think outside the square with some solid recruits or changed formation and not be focused with being a player coach that everyone loves or keep to the Storm 1.2 version from 2010.

If he doesn’t he will be out of a job soon and our drought will extend to sporting world record proportions.

Chipmunk

The club knows what areas need to be worked on to take us to the next level and there has been some changes already made within the playing ranks to address this. It does take a change of mindset from some players and I think there are some who have been pushing back a little on personally taking these changes on board. Saturday night's result will probably see these players now on the same bus.
And it impacts the one area we all know needs improvement - the 1%'ers.

Well the 1%ers definitely greatly contributed to the loss over Souths, but this aspect is nothing new. Surely it hasn't taken 7 years for the current coaching staff to work this out?

84 Baby

Strange the disrespect shown to Moses, lands 4 sideline conversions to keep us in the game, but all anyone wants to comment on is a kick that hit the post that should have been recovered .

After that calf tear, he definitely was hampered in running but defended a lot better than last season. Finishing third and losing to Storm and Souths still was a good season that most clubs would drool for. We are getting better and that shouldn’t be dismissed, pressure now on changes to roster and hopefully support staff to improve us further.

Over to the Head of Football:rugby_football::fire:
I certainly don’t blame him for missing the penalty. Well I do but that shit happens. He was playing too rushed, has been most of the season. He has heaps more time than he allows himself, which usually means he isn’t engaging the defence fully. Makes it easy for them to defend

Delboy

I certainly don’t blame him for missing the penalty. Well I do but that shit happens. He was playing too rushed, has been most of the season. He has heaps more time than he allows himself, which usually means he isn’t engaging the defence fully. Makes it easy for them to defend
If you rewatch the game , the turning point was Davey falling off the tackle in the third try, our replacements got found out big time. I’ll say it again, the middles were left off for too long and that’s how Souffs got back in the game.

Evans is what he is, Davey is unlikely to improve and Stone is a bit undersized. Need to replace those leaving with some size and attitude, Moses is the least of our issues despite the bombardment from Slothfield and Hooper

emjaycee

Well the 1%ers definitely greatly contributed to the loss over Souths, but this aspect is nothing new. Surely it hasn't taken 7 years for the current coaching staff to work this out?
Addressing the 1%ers is a mental thing, not a physical thing.

Pazza

Interesting comment by Wayne B after the match. Claiming some clubs really hammered their guys in the covid break while other clubs managed the load so they would be stronger come end of year.

Wayne said parra were one of the clubs who went all out during the break.

Make sense as to why we were so good early on and so many players were flat by seasons end. Also seems to match BAs MO.

forward pass

Interesting comment by Wayne B after the match. Claiming some clubs really hammered their guys in the covid break while other clubs managed the load so they would be stronger come end of year.

Make sense as to why we were so good early on and so many players were flat by seasons end. Also seems to match BAs MO.

How the f**k would Wayne Bennett know how hard we trained during Covid!

BA thinks all about effort, completions and the amount of tackles that were made. His tactics is where he fails like his selection and rotation of the bench. Like his failure to keep playing an upbeat game when we were winning by 10 against a team that has scored 150 points in their last 3 games. Why not instruct your halfback to stop with the aerial bombs and kick to the sides and slow the game especially when you have just replaced your 3 best forwards with 2 plodders and one oversized lazy galoot.

I’m f**king getting angry again.

84 Baby

If you rewatch the game , the turning point was Davey falling off the tackle in the third try, our replacements got found out big time. I’ll say it again, the middles were left off for too long and that’s how Souffs got back in the game.

Evans is what he is, Davey is unlikely to improve and Stone is a bit undersized. Need to replace those leaving with some size and attitude, Moses is the least of our issues despite the bombardment from Slothfield and Hooper
I agree but Moses has an “easy fix” to his game

emjaycee

BA thinks all about effort, completions and the amount of tackles that were made. His tactics is where he fails like his selection and rotation of the bench. Like his failure to keep playing an upbeat game when we were winning by 10 against a team that has scored 150 points in their last 3 games. Why not instruct your halfback to stop with the aerial bombs and kick to the sides and slow the game especially when you have just replaced your 3 best forwards with 2 plodders and one oversized lazy galoot.

I’m f**king getting angry again.
Raymond is not that oversized mate.

84 Baby

Rorters also clearly went that route. Robinson must also be a shithouse coach.
Would you have preferred we bumbled our way at the restart then be under pressure to just scrape into 6th?
I think the effort in the break was the right method but we should have lent more into easing back midseason. Then again everyone was calling for BAs head when we lost to Moanly and Drags and Souffs

Gazzamatta

Continuing to select Kevans over Kaufusi (or even Alvaro) was utterly confusing. BAs fixation on height in lieu of ability and development was baffling to say the least. One genuine prop on the bench and it was Kevans. Helloooooooo. Was that ever going to work? I note he hooked him pretty quickly after Kevans usual defensive efforts.

emjaycee

Agree, has the club employed anyone specifically in the last seven years to work on the mental side of the game?
I think they have tried a couple of times but I know it has been a part of the recent recruitment... getting players who have that attitude already. I know for a fact Matterson was/is a big believer in that aspect of the game. Word is there will be an increased focus on this area going forward.

Yes at 18-8 we just couldn't hold them out for 15mins untill our big boys come on. Even the 6 mins before half-time you could see how easy Souths took control again once our big 3 went off.
But of course at 20-18 and a kick from virtually infront that Moses shanked was a big turning point to get us back in the game. This doesn't suggest we win but I reckon the game goes down to the wire and a 1 score win to one of the two sides.

If Moses kicks the goal and we go onto win I wonder if Wayne brings this up?

Pazza

Rorters also clearly went that route. Robinson must also be a shithouse coach.
Would you have preferred we bumbled our way at the restart then be under pressure to just scrape into 6th?
I think the effort in the break was the right method but we should have lent more into easing back midseason. Then again everyone was calling for BAs head when we lost to Moanly and Drags and Souffs

I just think its an interesting observation. Do remember BA did a great job of nuking the 2018 season with hiring an AFL fitness guy.