Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Here is the thing. What middles do we have? One rep in Jnr Paulo. That is followed by N.Brown,Papaĺi,RCG who id argue are every bit as good as the other middles who played Wedensday night. Atleast not far off.
You then have Niakuore and Lane who are a slight shade below these guys but still better then average on the bench along with Kafusi who might be one of the better young props in the game.
Middle forwards are not a weakness. They are our strength. If we where to get WOODS it wouldn't be out of desperation or need. It would be due to a very good deal. At 200k he would be that. But I reckon he would still demand 300k and will soon elsewhere.

What we need is to just keep our current squad together. And hope Penisini,Waqa,D.Brown all break out or into side. Moving forward to 2022 our squad is still in peak. Who will be worse due to age? Nobody tbh. So you then need to look at who can improve or is at an age where they haven't hit peak.

That leaves you Kafusi,Mahoney to add to the 3 I have mentioned. Others will depend on personal form. Some will have better seasons while some will have worse, but come finals all will put their best foot forward.

So how far behind are we? If Brown and Blake fired like we expected I reckon we are still a chance this season. But come next if Penisini exploded onto the scene and Kafusi and Mahoney went up another level again( remember both last year where just average NRL players) then we are in with a red hot shot.

84 Baby

We have our own Eels team now. We are no longer involved with Wenty
I think you’ll find Wenty still exists *very loudly sniffs runny nose*
tenor.gif

This is pretty much what every club's MO is.

What makes it difficult is roster management. A little thing called the salary cap prevents any club from buying up all the best youngsters, look at the trouble Panthers have had and how many left end of last season. They had a decent roster but they dont all fit into first grade.

Clubs like Storm, Bunnies and Chooks seem to be able to attract good young players without offering big bucks. I think out roster management has improved since MON got onboard and we have better depth and bench compared to last season but its not just a matter of saying we should buy up more good juniors.

We got some decent young backs now but we gotta see how they develop and if they are good enough we have to make room for them, otherwise we lose them.

Its a balancing act.
After Brian Smith (and probably others) had big success with junior 'development' (poaching) in the 90s it was no longer a secret win button. Now it's just something every club has to do to consistently finish higher than last. The secret to beating the cap these days is retention, because plenty of your own players will happily take top dollar if it's being offered elsewhere. If he's popular with the fans his manager might even be able to demand his own club match it by playing it out in the media. There's not so much benefit in developing your own players any more (though you still have to do it to keep up) because you can still blow your cap out retaining them. Look how many players knock back an early extension because they want to "test the market". The clubs with the salary cap advantage are the ones whose training grounds are in the inner suburbs of Sydney and Melbourne, because that's where players are advised to buy real estate.

So Penrith are disadvantaged? This just is not true. Hayne was buying real estate all over Sydney purely as an investment opportunity not to live in.
The benefit of developing your own is a thing called team spirit and players wanting to take less to stay together. Especialy once they are elite level and on large pay days already.
It's different for us common workers scrapping for 50-110k. That extra 10-20k seems a lot. But a guy getting 500k or more could be quite content staying where he is for for 80k less knowing they are happy, can win a title and still will make a great living.
You also have the advantage of a few cheap years before other clubs come chasing. And when they do they are forced to pay overs to get them. I am sure guys like Moses could of taken an extra 50k- 100k elsewhere.
Of course there will be your David Fafitas. But paying a guy like that 1.2 million does a favour for 15 other clubs also.

Well obviously, because they've never had consistent success. How long do you think their current window will remain open? It's shut hard on them before. Why won't it again?

They have been in the finals series 6 of the last 8 years. What's long term success? They have had periods in past where they where strong for 2-3 years followed by 3 poor seasons. I would say the last 8yrs have been quite a turn around. I also beleive they will be stronger more often then a weak club for a very long time. The junior base is just so strong. I do not see them weakening.
Just like we have been a strong club for the last 5 yrs with just one poor season in the mix. If we made the finals in 2022 and 2023 I would say we have had an extremely successful period. The only difference is we had no luck in finals. 2017 we lost Gutherson and Bevan who where both big parts of our side. We also lost to the Storm by 2 points. We genuinely could of won the title that season. Luck and injury was not on our side.
Then in 2020 we lost Semi,Fergo and MJ one week before our game against Souths. No doubt in my mind we win that had they played. And against the Panthers it would of been a 50-50. They only scraped pass Souths.

TheRam

That doesn’t go with you saying we need to sign XYZ because ABC are shit. Nor does it generally gel with:
Yes it does. Basically we need quality(speed) out wide, not more props or forwards. Do whatever we can that can get it that won't stuff up the rest of our top 19 players.

Not really that complicated mate.

TheRam

This is pretty much what every club's MO is.

What makes it difficult is roster management. A little thing called the salary cap prevents any club from buying up all the best youngsters, look at the trouble Panthers have had and how many left end of last season. They had a decent roster but they dont all fit into first grade.

Clubs like Storm, Bunnies and Chooks seem to be able to attract good young players without offering big bucks. I think out roster management has improved since MON got onboard and we have better depth and bench compared to last season but its not just a matter of saying we should buy up more good juniors.

We got some decent young backs now but we gotta see how they develop and if they are good enough we have to make room for them, otherwise we lose them.

Its a balancing act.

All I see here is excuses as to why we can't be great. Good thing that you and Pou aren't in charge of recruitment. Hopefully MON is more like me and Hindy and can make things happen. The best clubs don't talk like you just did. In fact if their football manager came into a board room meeting and espoused that kind of dribble, he would be collecting his last pay cheque by the end of the day.

Losers say that sort of sh*t. Winners get the best players to their clubs.