Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Looking at the finals permutations, I don’t think you want to be finishing 4th. It’s really 3rd or May as well be 5th or 6th.

4th will get you Storm first up, then a knock out against Manly (who already beat us at bankwest this year).

3rd gets you Penrith, and then a loss gets you the roosters who if we’re fair dinkum we should beat.

5th/6th gets you someone you should beat, at bankwest, and then a knock out likely against Souths or Manly, but at least then coming off the confidence of a finals win

Its a catch 22. But yes I agree. Playing Melbourne down there would be a nightmare. Lets say Manly finished 4th or 5th with us and either side lost to Storm or won against 8th are they to play each other in following week?
4th would be ok if lost but meant you played perhaps the Roosters the following week. Id want to avoid Manly.

But hey maybe come that time Turbos gets injured.

84 Baby

Looking at the finals permutations, I don’t think you want to be finishing 4th. It’s really 3rd or May as well be 5th or 6th.

4th will get you Storm first up, then a knock out against Manly (who already beat us at bankwest this year).

3rd gets you Penrith, and then a loss gets you the roosters who if we’re fair dinkum we should beat.

5th/6th gets you someone you should beat, at bankwest, and then a knock out likely against Souths or Manly, but at least then coming off the confidence of a finals win
You gotta beat them all at some point.
And part of me thinks… has anyone seen that garbage Kevin Costner movie Tin Cup where he’s playing golf and with a chance of winning he gets fixated on making one particular shot that keeps going into the water? Anyway I feel like if we’re going to do damage in finals, we need to beat Scum in Scumland

Joshuatheeel

Storm are very beatable, they are scoring plenty of points as no one is taking on their forward pack. Basically play sides in poor form

I reckon our pack can match their pack (we have matched it already along with the panthers pack). And storms “decision” making under pressure isn’t as good as previous years …..

Game wouId be close…

TheRam

Storm are very beatable, they are scoring plenty of points as no one is taking on their forward pack. Basically play sides in poor form

I reckon our pack can match their pack (we have matched it already along with the panthers pack). And storms “decision” making under pressure isn’t as good as previous years …..

Game wouId be close…

The problem is we can't match their backs.

Actually we can't match most of the better sides backs. Storm, Souths, Panthers, Roosters(when fully fit) and Manly. They all posses flare that we don't have. So if they match us or come close to it in the forwards, most times we will lose due to the flare and speed they play with compared to the boring predictable pass, pass, pass, pass building to nothing or block plays that we throw at them. We don't challenge any of the good sides with that sh*t.

Who the hell is coaching us this way!

Anyway, until we get some real fast stepping talent out there in the backs I will not be expecting much come finals time. Sure we could get lucky and play a team who are just a little off on the day or an injury effected team, but other then that I don't think we will be winning a GF this season.

If Katoni Staggs return to footy this last weekend serves us anything it is to once again, as @hindy111 has so often stated, show we need at lest one genuine superstar back in our backline with either over the top talent or speed if not both. All the top teams have them. We are the only team that doesn't. We have good to hard working backs, but no freaks. They are generally the ones that at a blink of the eye turn games upside down.

The more I think about it and the way Katoni came back from that ACL, imagine if we had that type of strike power in our current roster? I know BA and the acquisition team tried real hard to get him here, and we missed out due to his high price demands, but boy would he of been a brilliant signing. I was worried at the time that he wouldn't be worth the risk due to injury and his relatively short NRL career that we might be signing a player who once again, shows initial brilliance, but when brought to our club, settles down to be an over priced and overhyped, under performing talent. Boy haven't we been burnt with those sorts of players before? But I don't think that Katoni will fall into that category, especially with the new rules favouring attacking weapons the way they do.

This is why I think that we will get scorched during Finals time. We don't have out and out weapons and the new rules favour teams that do. We need at least one, but I don't know where or who we can bring to the club that fits the bill. Maybe a cameo from Semi? Other then that, I have no clue. I think all the real good ones are locked up. This is also why I suggested we raid the Dragons and try and sign Jayden Sullivan, he is more skillful then anyone at our club and he could, if all goes well in his development, end up with a Panthers Cleary/Thurston Cowboys style of team where he is that good that he makes the rest of the players play the best footy they can each week. But again, I doubt we would ever have that type of killer instinct to even try getting such a highly regarded future superstar when we already have adequate halves at our club.

The Roosters would though, because adequate is not their mantra or in their DNA. Anyway, back to reality, we need a star type of player or two to go to the next level. Period.

Oh and to posters like Pou, yes I know there is a salary cap. The premiership winning clubs work it out and get it done, so so should we. We may need to shed some depth to get it done until all these great future juniors can start to rise and fill the breach. But for the next 2-3 years which is how I see our current premiership window, we need at least one player that can break a game wide open with lethal brilliance. I really hope our recruitment team can somehow pull a rabbit out of a hat and deliver.

84 Baby

Actually we can't match most of the better sides backs. Storm, Souths, Panthers, Roosters(when fully fit) and Manly. They all posses flare that we don't have. So if they match us or come close to it in the forwards, most times we will lose due to the flare and speed they play with compared to the boring predictable pass, pass, pass, pass building to nothing or block plays that we throw at them. We don't challenge any of the good sides with that sh*t.

Anyway, until we get some real fast stepping talent out there in the backs I will not be expecting much come finals time. Sure we could get lucky and play a team who are just a little off on the day or an injury effected team, but other then that I don't think we will be winning a GF this season.

If Katoni Staggs return to footy this last weekend serves us anything it is to once again, as @hindy111 has so often stated, show we need at lest one genuine superstar back in our backline with either over the top talent or speed if not both. All the top teams have them. We are the only team that doesn't. We have good to hard working backs, but no freaks. They are generally the ones that at a blink of the eye turn games upside down.

The more I think about it and the way Katoni came back from that ACL, imagine if we had that type of strike power in our current roster? I know BA and the acquisition team tried real hard to get him here, and we missed out due to his high price demands, but boy would he of been a brilliant signing. I was worried at the time that he wouldn't be worth the risk due to injury and his relatively short NRL career that we might be signing a player who once again, shows initial brilliance, but when brought to our club, settles down to be an over priced and overhyped, under performing talent. Boy haven't we been burnt with those sorts of players before? But I don't think that Katoni will fall into that category, especially with the new rules favouring attacking weapons the way they do.

This is why I think that we will get scorched during Finals time. We don't have out and out weapons and the new rules favour teams that do. We need at least one, but I don't know where or who we can bring to the club that fits the bill. Maybe a cameo from Semi? Other then that, I have no clue. I think all the real good ones are locked up. This is also why I suggested we raid the Dragons and try and sign Jayden Sullivan, he is more skillful then anyone at our club and he could, if all goes well in his development, end up with a Panthers Cleary/Thurston Cowboys style of team where he is that good that he makes the rest of the players play the best footy they can each week. But again, I doubt we would ever have that type of killer instinct to even try getting such a highly regarded future superstar when we already have adequate halves at our club.

The Roosters would though, because adequate is not their mantra or in their DNA. Anyway, back to reality, we need a star type of player or two to go to the next level. Period.

Oh and to posters like Pou, yes I know there is a salary cap. The premiership winning clubs work it out and get it done, so so should we. We may need to shed some depth to get it done until all these great future juniors can start to rise and fill the breach. But for the next 2-3 years which is how I see our current premiership window, we need at least one player that can break a game wide open with lethal brilliance. I really hope our recruitment team can somehow pull a rabbit out of a hat and deliver.
I’ve enrolled you in a class
https://coachingforleaders.com/podcast/how-to-be-concise/

We scored plenty of points in the finals against both Melbourne and Souths. It's the most points either side conceded during the finals series. Where we fell down was our defence, which won't be fixed by Jayden Sullivan or any other attacking weapon.

Joshuatheeel

It we match their forwards, their backs don’t get the opportunities….they will even start pushing passes and making errors (just like the panthers did on Friday)

anyhow I think you are underestimating our backs too….we can also score points too…..probably why we have scored as many tries as the panthers…

additionally defence not scoring points in the 2020 finals cost us, and our defence is better this year ….

TheRam

We scored plenty of points in the finals against both Melbourne and Souths. It's the most points either side conceded during the finals series. Where we fell down was our defence, which won't be fixed by Jayden Sullivan or any other attacking weapon.

You are living in the past. Last season is last season mate. The rules have been adjusted further. Where have you been? Catch up mate. You always seem to be lagging behind. If we were doing training drills, I would be making you do extras. Sheesh!

Take note: The rules this season give the advantage to the attacking teams more then the defensive teams ever before.

TheRam

It we match their forwards, their backs don’t get the opportunities….they will even start pushing passes and making errors (just like the panthers did on Friday)

anyhow I think you are underestimating our backs too….we can also score points too…..probably why we have scored as many tries as the panthers…

additionally defence not scoring points in the 2020 finals cost us, and our defence is better this year ….

They were missing their architect. Take out our 7 and lets see how that game would have played out. If we knew how to dissect a team better or had a freak in the backline, we would have won that game. As it was it was a very disappointing game and loss in the end.

Anyway, I hope you are right and that I am so very wrong. We will see come finals time, our plod attack may surprise us. Who knows, Mahoney may have a stellar finals series and get us on the front foot in all our games which would then give us more strike then normal and we could actually win against the better teams, but that is a big if for him to do it in 3 games straight.

You are living in the past. Last season is last season mate. The rules have been adjusted further. Where have you been? Catch up mate. You always seem to be lagging behind. If we were doing training drills, I would be making you do extras. Sheesh!

Take note: The rules this season give the advantage to the attacking teams more then the defensive teams ever before.
So there's less need for attacking brilliance, since attack is so much easier now. All you need to do is control the ball.

Joshuatheeel

They were missing their architect. Take out our 7 and lets see how that game would have played out. If we knew how to dissect a team better or had a freak in the backline, we would have won that game. As it was it was a very disappointing game and loss in the end.

Anyway, I hope you are right and that I am so very wrong. We will see come finals time, our plod attack may surprise us. Who knows, Mahoney may have a stellar finals series and get us on the front foot in all our games which would then give us more strike then normal and we could actually win against the better teams, but that is a big if for him to do it in 3 games straight.

we were also missing our hooker in a tough forward focused game in wet conditions. No surprised the difference was probably Api….their hooker…

Game wouId be close…

They'd blow the arse end off us