Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

At this stage we don't know, but we do know he can play and is probably the fastest player in the comp. Why wouldn't you have all 3 in your squad with a view to eventually have them all playing in the NRL team. Remember they are all just babies who will happily play anywhere in the team here and there till they are ready fulltime. By then(1, 2 or 3 years away, who knows what our roster will look like and who we have moved on. Fergo for example is gone next year, Savage could easily take that position and play like JAC does for the Storm. Then Pensini could fill in here and there till we move Waqa and same with Opacic. Also Sivo isn't getting any younger or faster either. I dare say by the end of his current contract, we may have better options for him too and the more options we have the better for our club I say. I love competition. It is the best way for long term success and they are all cheap, which is great till we work out who we want and who is surplus to requirements, just like the Panthers have done and doing with all their talent coming through.

Our backline is going to look quite different I would think within 2-3 years. At least I hope so.
I think you're overstating how cheap these merkins would be. Just because you'd never heard of them until a month ago doesn't mean they weren't on the radar of every NRL club since they were 16 years old. There is big demand for these kids, which drives prices up.

Didn't the Tigers get under the radar and get Steffano cheap before he even played FG ?

Oh wait ...

Parramatta teen Stefano Utoikamanu signs $800,000 deal with Wests Tigers​

Didn't the Tigers get under the radar and get Steffano cheap before he even played FG ?

Oh wait ...

Parramatta teen Stefano Utoikamanu signs $800,000 deal with Wests Tigers​

Yep, it happens all the time, but usually the headline is "Eels told So-and-so he wasn't good enough!" instead of Eels were under cap pressure from overpaying their current players and couldn't afford to match a big offer from another club. The only reason we're not hearing that narrative at the moment is because we're doing better than Utoikamanu's new club.

Noise

No they don't. Players of quality will not go to also rans. They will assess and go to the team that has the best chance of winning the GF.
That’s the case all the time, not just with the August 1 deadline. You think Cooper Cronk was going to leave Melbourne for the dogs?

Noise

Except TPJ is going to the Dogs
I don't consider him a marquee player though. Great in attack, awful in defence. Penrith will likely play him limited minutes for that reason. He's a solid first grader, but that's about it.

But his reasons for going to Canterbury are likely very different to his reasons for breaking his Broncos contract to join the Panthers for half a dozen games. He is probably taking a pay cut at Penrith, and even if he isn't, they don't have to cover his full salary during the long part of the year where they don't need him. But next year he'll be on overs. So the Broncos (this year) and Bulldogs (next year) are essentially subsidising his two month finals holiday at Penrith. It stinks.

King-Gutho94

I heard eariler today that we are playing in Mackay next week against the chooks dont know if its true or not. I reckon they should take some games to regional areas in queensland at least they will pack them out instead of playing at soulesss cbus in front of 3k.

Noise

But his reasons for going to Canterbury are likely very different to his reasons for breaking his Broncos contract to join the Panthers for half a dozen games. He is probably taking a pay cut at Penrith, and even if he isn't, they don't have to cover his full salary during the long part of the year where they don't need him. But next year he'll be on overs. So the Broncos (this year) and Bulldogs (next year) are essentially subsidising his two month finals holiday at Penrith. It stinks.
No doubt. But the Broncos and Dogs have themselves to blame for poor salary cap / roster management. Should that be Penriths problem? If the Broncos were concerned about partially subsidizing his Penrith holiday they didn’t have to release him. They also can free up space for next year. And he will get big game finals experience before going to the dogs. We keep hearing how important that is - a positive for the Dogs next year!
Good for Penrith, Brisbane and Canterbury.

No doubt. But the Broncos and Dogs have themselves to blame for poor salary cap / roster management. Should that be Penriths problem?
The question is whether it should be the problem of every other finals team. Why should a single club benefit from the management practices of another?
If the Broncos were concerned about partially subsidizing his Penrith holiday they didn’t have to release him. They also can free up space for next year. And he will get big game finals experience before going to the dogs. We keep hearing how important that is - a positive for the Dogs next year!
Good for Penrith, Brisbane and Canterbury.
And bad for everyone else. This is why we previously had a transfer window ending so far out from the finals. If Penrith had needed to sign TPJ by the first of July (and carry more of his contract) it would have been much fairer. Would the Broncos have agreed to let him go with four more weeks of hope left in their season? This later trade deadline is a massive rort.

Eelogical

The question is whether it should be the problem of every other finals team. Why should a single club benefit from the management practices of another?
And bad for everyone else. This is why we previously had a transfer window ending so far out from the finals. If Penrith had needed to sign TPJ by the first of July (and carry more of his contract) it would have been much fairer. Would the Broncos have agreed to let him go with four more weeks of hope left in their season? This later trade deadline is a massive rort.
Personally, I don't think trades should be made within a week before the season starts. Maybe that's my old school train of thought showing, but that's the way I see it.

Noise

Bad for everyone else? The everyone else who have the same opportunity to do the same thing as Penrith?

You can never have enough young, cheap, talented and fast players at your club all vying for NRL and putting pressure on the top 17. It hasn't hurt the likes of the Panthers, Roosters or Storm. In fact it has given them the best chance to see who are the best to keep and great depth for injuries and during rep season. Also two of those clubs have been winning all the GF of late and the 3rd is probably just about to.

Bringing a player like X. Savage to our club could only boosted our chances not hurt them in my opinion. Moot point now though. I would be looking at the Manly flyer Tolutau Koula now though.

We have Penisni,Russell and Naiduki. And let's not forget Dunster. All these guys could be NRL players

Why shouldn't a single other club benefit? They benefit from the management practices of other teams in the regular transfer market.

I reckon the transfer deadline should be the day before GF day. Or GF lunch actually, given this communist practice of holding the GF at dinner time.

Joshuatheeel

I'd say 280k was ok for what he produced this season. Next season it will be seen as cheap and 2023 a bargain.

we got papa for $150k and Cartwright for $110k….that’s cheap….

Stefo isn’t even averaging 100m a game, additionally his contract is probably backloaded too….not sure Stefo is cheap…