Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

Maika Sivo and Marata Niukore are being tempted to walk out on Parramatta as the NRL’s free agency frenzy begins.

Around 160 players coming off contract after next season shift on to the open market from Monday.

160 players are off contract ? Geeze I could of sworn it was just Eels players.
Some dude on an Eels FB page was talking about how incompetent our management are for letting as many players come off contract at the same time as we have at the end of 2022. I listed 7 Melbourne players who all played in the semi's for them and the guy hasn't responded. He must love buying the clickbait.

emjaycee

There are rumours flying around that Marata, Reed and Maika will all leave at the end of next year. Gee, am I glad BA re signed to keep the squad together, seeing as all the players love him and want to play for him. 4 down, how many more to go?
I know you have been on here for ages mate, but can you leave the whiney sarcastic comments to the experts? Hell, you haven't even reached 250 posts. Some of the best whiners on here do that in a week.

Joshuatheeel

Interesting how people watch a player have a sook in 1 game, then he makes a few errors, then suddenly he is a shit player!

Obviously players have to have some ability, but these are the type of players you can get on the cheap and get playing like a $500k player.

The kid has plenty of ability, he is only 23 this year. Is 109 kg / 188 cm. Watching him, he is obviously aggressive and fairly mobile.

Stats wise for this year:

He averages 9.4 m per run (94 m per game) 27 tackles a game (at 93%), makes 0.9 TB / 1.5 OL per game. Averages 15m per kick return. Averages 1 error a game. Playing average 34 mins per gane

for comparison here are RCG stats (and I am not saying CH is better).

Averages 9.5m per run (142m per game) 25 tackles (at 93%), makes 1.1 TB / 0.2 OL. Averages 13m per kick return. 0.1 error per game. Playing average 48 mins.

On comparison, his attacking / defence output is pretty decent. Obviously needs to work on error rate. But indications are he has the ability.

If we are going to lose a couple of players and need a “cheap” top 17 middle, I reckon CH wouId be a pretty reasonable option. I reckon he could potentially be a “papa” type player signing (no one rated him either…)

Obscene Assassin

Corey Horsburgh wouId be a good prop project for 2023 if we need a middle.

Bit rough but has potential. Goes ok

Reminds me of an pre eels Nrown but a bigger version …..

I think we're pretty good with "project" props. Hollis, Greig, Rodwell, Tasi James (assuming he's still with us), not to mention of any of the young middles. Both Hollis and James are eligible for Flegg next year, whilst Greig and Rodwell are both a year younger than Horsburgh

Joshuatheeel

I think we're pretty good with "project" props. Hollis, Greig, Rodwell, Tasi James (assuming he's still with us), not to mention of any of the young middles. Both Hollis and James are eligible for Flegg next year, whilst Greig and Rodwell are both a year younger than Horsburgh
I mean more of a “project middle” that is basically in the top 19 or so each week. And can already play 40 or so mins, but hasn’t hit their potential.

And if after this year we lose fair bit of middle experience (like a mixture of RCG, paulo, kaufusi, Marata, papa etc etc), and need a replacement but don’t want to spend big (and CH isn’t the only option there are others)

Those players you mention aren’t really ready to play regular NRL at this stage or decent minutes week to week, but who knows by 2023 (or even during 2022), they could be. All have potential. Interested to see how Grieg goes after an offseason.

Some dude on an Eels FB page was talking about how incompetent our management are for letting as many players come off contract at the same time as we have at the end of 2022. I listed 7 Melbourne players who all played in the semi's for them and the guy hasn't responded. He must love buying the clickbait.
The Daily Telegraph's target audience

Interesting how people watch a player have a sook in 1 game, then he makes a few errors, then suddenly he is a shit player!

Obviously players have to have some ability, but these are the type of players you can get on the cheap and get playing like a $500k player.

The kid has plenty of ability, he is only 23 this year. Is 109 kg / 188 cm. Watching him, he is obviously aggressive and fairly mobile.

Stats wise for this year:

He averages 9.4 m per run (94 m per game) 27 tackles a game (at 93%), makes 0.9 TB / 1.5 OL per game. Averages 15m per kick return. Averages 1 error a game. Playing average 34 mins per gane

for comparison here are RCG stats (and I am not saying CH is better).

Averages 9.5m per run (142m per game) 25 tackles (at 93%), makes 1.1 TB / 0.2 OL. Averages 13m per kick return. 0.1 error per game. Playing average 48 mins.

On comparison, his attacking / defence output is pretty decent. Obviously needs to work on error rate. But indications are he has the ability.

If we are going to lose a couple of players and need a “cheap” top 17 middle, I reckon CH wouId be a pretty reasonable option. I reckon he could potentially be a “papa” type player signing (no one rated him either…)
He's the type of player who could be the next Nrown/Niukore/Papali'i.

emjaycee

I mean more of a “project middle” that is basically in the top 19 or so each week. And can already play 40 or so mins, but hasn’t hit their potential.

And if after this year we lose fair bit of middle experience (like a mixture of RCG, paulo, kaufusi, Marata, papa etc etc), and need a replacement but don’t want to spend big (and CH isn’t the only option there are others)

Those players you mention aren’t really ready to play regular NRL at this stage or decent minutes week to week, but who knows by 2023 (or even during 2022), they could be. All have potential. Interested to see how Grieg goes after an offseason.
Grieg and Rodwell are pretty much the same age as Oregon. They both showed this year in very limited time on the field that they can handle themselves. Get them up to speed and fitness with a full off-season and they will be pushing for spots in the top 17 in '22 when we need them to.

Obscene Assassin

Personally, I think we're fine for middle forwards for the next few years even if we lose RCG and Marata. I think we have a pretty clear succession plan in place, and even with RCG potentially throwing a spanner into the plan we're fine for young, inexperienced middles. If we feel like we need that experience then we should have enough money freed up from Reg not exercising his option to go out and buy in some experience.

Obscene Assassin

Grieg and Rodwell are pretty much the same age as Oregon. They both showed this year in very limited time on the field that they can handle themselves. Get them up to speed and fitness with a full off-season and they will be pushing for spots in the top 17 in '22 when we need them to.

I'm very interested in how Greig turns up on day one. I've seen a few photos of him on social media and he appears to have trimmed down a little bit

The Eel

Make sure you believe every rumour you hear, especially if it confirms your biases.
Just for the record Pou, I like Brad as a man. I have met him on several occasions. I am disabled, and he and his family sat in the row in front of me for a few years at the old Parra Stadium. He used to help me up the steps.. He would sit there with his family and watch a bit of the reserve grade before he went to the sheds. His wife Michelle is lovely too. I spoke to him and had my photo taken with him at the fan day a few years ago. He is a lovely guy. I just feel that he is not the man to take us to the promised land. I of course hope he does. My comments are my opinion only. I respect your opinion as I do with everyone's on here. I hope you do with mine. Opinions are like bums, everyone has one.

Sivo is done as a player we probably got a year and half of decent footy out of him then the other half has been disappointing and lazy.

That performance against Manly at the sunny coast should have been the final straw it took him getting injured to not be picked. It shouldn't have come to that

If he is on 400k we are mad. He had flaws that where never resolved and never had age on his side. 300k max

There are rumours flying around that Marata, Reed and Maika will all leave at the end of next year. Gee, am I glad BA re signed to keep the squad together, seeing as all the players love him and want to play for him. 4 down, how many more to go?

The important thing is you're basing your opinion on facts, and not hearsay...

Gazzamatta

Sivo is done as a player we probably got a year and half of decent footy out of him then the other half has been disappointing and lazy.

That performance against Manly at the sunny coast should have been the final straw it took him getting injured to not be picked. It shouldn't have come to that
$400k. Thats outrageous.