Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Poor Pou, he was waiting for RCG to sign elsewhere and all ready to shit can him as a player and why we didn’t need him.

Don’t worry though Pou there are still plenty of Eels players off contract you can death ride and absolutely hammer if they decide to leave. It’s very exciting!!!

The way I see it is we will have to lose one or two of our top 17.
I still feel like Papa and Mahoney stay. Those are the two I care mostly about. Young, talented and on the rise.

Jnr,Marata,Matterson,Gutherson and Kafusi are the 5 guys who I feel we would like in the side but won't keep all of them. The other guys off contract won't worry most people.
Being that Papa and Mahoney require large upgrades along with Bryce who would of got a few more $$
We did lose MJ and Fergo which clears up some cash. But Pensini would of been given a reasonable deal. And Sivo got his pay day.

I think in an ideal situation Sivo wants out. On a reported 400k.

Of the other guys -
Jnr will be 29 at the end of 2022. Perhaps we could offer him 2yrs. But our pack would be all getting very old with N.Brown,Rcg and Jnr part of it come 2023. Dangerous. If he left so be it. I think Jnrs played his best footy.

Marata is handy but depends on his cost. Certainly isn't irreplaceable and a habit of getting suspended.

Gutherson is good but will cost 750k. If Russel looked the goods we may be able to save a lot of cash here.

Kafusi should be a priority signing. He won't cost to much and should be getting into his good years soon.

Matterson might be a handy extension. I'd say he will cost less then his current contract. But another concussion and its curtains.

There are pros and cons of players off contract. Mahoney,Kafusi and Papali'i would be my priorities. I don't see any positive losing any of them. But of the others I can see positives and negatives.

Marata is almost certainly gone back to Warriors (for 2023). So you might lose one of Jnr / Matto. Might lose more if we want to invest more $$ in the backs.

emjaycee

he would probably be able to offer something as an assistant, but his history with us probably wouldn't make it a good place to return to
Why not? I dare say there would be no one in any part of the club that was here when SK was here. I wouldn't imagine fan memories would have much bearing on the clubs decision... or Ray Price would be our coach right now.

murraymob

Why not? I dare say there would be no one in any part of the club that was here when SK was here. I wouldn't imagine fan memories would have much bearing on the clubs decision... or Ray Price would be our coach right now.
Not a bad idea sterling as his assistant who knows you might have won a comp

given how much the media has been death riding the club about off contract players over the past 6 months, i can understand why the club would release a statement.

excuse me if I start sounding like pou but we didn’t have dumb merkins as fans than the media wouldn’t be carrying on like they did, some of the comments on social media by people who think they know the game is hilariou.

yeah i'm not saying it would necessarily be a bad option ... but possibly from big face's point of view, returning to a place you had a pretty bad record at and left early might not be the top of your where do you want to be in 5 years list

I will be the odd one out and say I thought the club statement about how contract stuff is going a bit odd .... I don't think its terrible or anything, just odd

it basically details how we don't want things to play out in the media etc ..... so what do we do, make a media statement - lol

if you are content with how you are going and not worried about the perception of outsiders with no clue about what is going on, then just keep going about what you are doing

as I said, I think its ok they did it, just a bit weird and unexpected

emjaycee

yeah i'm not saying it would necessarily be a bad option ... but possibly from big face's point of view, returning to a place you had a pretty bad record at and left early might not be the top of your where do you want to be in 5 years list
Depending on what role, I agree although I can't personally see a place for him in our club (and personally, I have no desire to have him back).

Interesting though that even though we announced McGregor as a consultant, it seems the RedV faithful and even some on this forum are thinking he is going to be acting as some type of assistant coach. I reckon he will probably work on with a specific part of the team only. Ennis will with work with the dummy halves, and McGregor will probably work with our young outside backs. He was a damn fine centre in his day and Penisini, Dunster, Russell, Loizou, Naiduki and co. could all do with learning some tricks off him. A bit like A Johns helping the halves for the last 2 years.

TheRam

How many wingers get their opportunities from their centre these days? Modern wingers take most of their passes straight from the dummy half. When they do score the passer is a spine player wrapping around the back. The centre is just a decoy. In every game last year Ferguson touched the ball more than Blake: https://mc.championdata.com/nrl/

The lengths some of you merkins will go to to manufacture a scapegoat.

Oh so you're saying our spine players sucked. The same players that are considers to be high quality by the fact that they are all being re-signed and getting upgrades each time they do and have been chased by other clubs. And our forwards are our strength, by your own words.

So that leave only one other option/scapegoat...the coaching right? It just wasn't getting the best out of them. Plain and simple. It is a simple game after all. You can't have it both ways mate when it suits you. The team played with very little imagination or creativity. The players were and are trying their collective clackers out, that can't be disputed.

So the buck stops at the coaching. But of course you will worm your way out with some bogus stat or explanation and think you have covered your arse. But not really. You just did that hole deeper. The coaching has been stupid at times and we have all seen and felt it. Hopefully with a few new faster players in the backline they will help cover up that fact with pure talent and speed or maybe the new ideas of McGreger and Ennis might changer things up a little.

emjaycee

I will be the odd one out and say I thought the club statement about how contract stuff is going a bit odd .... I don't think its terrible or anything, just odd

it basically details how we don't want things to play out in the media etc ..... so what do we do, make a media statement - lol

if you are content with how you are going and not worried about the perception of outsiders with no clue about what is going on, then just keep going about what you are doing

as I said, I think its ok they did it, just a bit weird and unexpected
I reckon it was less in regard to individual players contracts and was more in response to the constant Eels mismanagement comments that have been appearing. Even the follow up article this morning talks about our mismanagement of our cap... doesn't mention Melbourne has 7 first graders off contract at the end of '23 and how they have mismanaged their cap.

#eelsincrisis #clickbaithere

TheRam

No team that ever won a premiership was a 100% chance of winning. You build until you're at your best and then hope for some luck. Whether you jag a comp that year comes down to injuries (including the opposition) and bounce of the ball on the day. Some teams win more premierships than others because at their best they are a higher chance of winning. The Storm might be a 50% premiership chance in their best years. They might still be a 10% chance in their worst years. That's because they have so many resources at their disposal. A Sydney club not based in the inner city might only be a 20% chance of winning at their best and 0% in a rebuilding year. The idea of building to a guaranteed premiership is a falsehood. It's just sliding percentages year after year. You only see premierships (and non-premierships) as inevitable because your human brain wants to see everything as a story, with obvious cause and effect. Try listening to your lizard brain instead. A bunch of things could happen and in the end only one will, based on probability and random chance.
Condescending much. Thanks for the insight with mostly the bleeding obvious.