Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

The Eel

Those wanting RCG as captain do they have such short memories of his manager playing out discussions in the media basically telling Parra "thanks but no thanks we have an offer elsewhere"?

Gutho will set up a try or 2 in round 1 and you'll all forget this happened and you can whinge about something else.
Yeah, I get that, but it doesn't altrr the fact that this pussy footing around for 2 contracts in a row is annoying and boring. He can walk if he likes. I don't care anymore. He is obviously not too worried abput "playing for BA"

Unknot your knickers mate.

What you've got here is pure supposition fuelled by a handful of basically harmless quotes from Ayoub, and literally no input from the bloke you're judging at all.

And you're doing that all on the basis of what you've read in the mainstream media.
Nope. The Gutho contract situation has been damaging on two ocassions. There is no refuting this and no possible argument that can support the idea that Gutho is just a poor misunderstood man of the people trying to "play good footy".

@TheRam could do with unknoting his knickers and I am sure that @hindy111 could assist, but I reckon you need to get your head out of the sand, Sandwagon.

Delboy

There’s one conclusion in this shit fight, the media knobs seem to get their information from fan blogs and player managers. Doesn’t seem like 15/20 years ago when the clubs would actually talk to them.

So, the only thing to believe is when the club comes out with confirmation.

Having said that, Gutho has really misread the room, and his reputation slides a bit every day, with no thanks to slimy Sam .

Gazzamatta

So O'Brien would pinch his best mates (BA) best mate (Gutho)?
Not likely Id suggest unless BA is getting his best mate (O'B) to put pressure on Eels Management to up their offer for his other best mate (Gutho).

Eelogical

Nope. The Gutho contract situation has been damaging on two ocassions. There is no refuting this and no possible argument that can support the idea that Gutho is just a poor misunderstood man of the people trying to "play good footy".

@TheRam could do with unknoting his knickers and I am sure that @hindy111 could assist, but I reckon you need to get your head out of the sand, Sandwagon.
Hindy is the man for the job. Have you seen his handywork with electrical cables?

Bandwagon

Where's the damage?

Seriously, be specific. Elsewise you leave me the task of refuting that which you've failed to assert, which seems rather pointless.

Oh, and I've not made claim to "Gutho is just a poor misunderstood man of the people trying to "play good footy"."

In fact I'm fairly certain Gutho wants what's best for Gutho, that's not at question, what I'm questioning is that in doing so it's creating any real problem beyond the clubs ability to sign him on the conditions the club believes is best for the club. And I'm questioning the sensationalism being attached to the negotiations as being the reality of the negotiations.

Where's the damage?

Seriously, be specific. Elsewise you leave me the task of refuting that which you've failed to assert, which seems rather pointless.

Oh, and I've not made claim to "Gutho is just a poor misunderstood man of the people trying to "play good footy"."

In fact I'm fairly certain Gutho wants what's best for Gutho, that's not at question, what I'm questioning is that in doing so it's creating any real problem beyond the clubs ability to sign him on the conditions the club believes is best for the club. And I'm questioning the sensationalism being attached to the negotiations as being the reality of the negotiations.
How did we perform during the period where his last contract negotiation was inexplicably leaked?

Do I really have to be specific when it comes to the obvious? You're a smart guy - don't accuse me of failing to assert when you are failing to engage your noggin.

You could argue that there were other factors at play during that period and I'd be sympathetic to that, but it was completely avoidable and regrettably unfortunate. If Gutho didn't know that his manager was going to go on the offensive and create media that we didn't need then he is a deadshit. If he did then he is a merkin.

He did it during the previous contract negotiation as well. No problems with players looking out for themselves. We all do that. Would prefer to see it kept in house and not leaked to the media, as has been the case with most other contracts.

RCG and his manager played a similar game but fortunately that was during the off season.

Bandwagon

How did we perform during the period where his last contract negotiation was inexplicably leaked?

Do I really have to be specific when it comes to the obvious? You're a smart guy - don't accuse me of failing to assert when you are failing to engage your noggin.

You could argue that there were other factors at play during that period and I'd be sympathetic to that, but it was completely avoidable and regrettably unfortunate. If Gutho didn't know that his manager was going to go on the offensive and create media that we didn't need then he is a deadshit. If he did then he is a merkin.

He did it during the previous contract negotiation as well. No problems with players looking out for themselves. We all do that. Would prefer to see it kept in house and not leaked to the media, as has been the case with most other contracts.

RCG and his manager played a similar game but fortunately that was during the off season.

Hmm, I think it's fairly well accepted that contract negations can be a distraction for players and that can lead to a drop in performance, that though is a generalisation, and has no dependence upon the means by which negotiations are handled, that'd be more an individual thing.

Having said that you're basically arguing correlation = causation in the first instance, which I find rather weak, and in the second instance you're being a tad selective.

By which I mean in his previous negotiations it was reported that the club lowballed him at the beginning of the season and he chose to reject that to prove his worth. A worth it seems that despite the bruhaha both parties seemed to find agreeance on.

So again, where's the damage directly attributable to Gutho's side of negotiations? It f**king isn't f**king there f**king!

Hmm, I think it's fairly well accepted that contract negations can be a distraction for players and that can lead to a drop in performance, that though is a generalisation, and has no dependence upon the means by which negotiations are handled, that'd be more an individual thing.

Having said that you're basically arguing correlation = causation in the first instance, which I find rather weak, and in the second instance you're being a tad selective.

By which I mean in his previous negotiations it was reported that the club lowballed him at the beginning of the season and he chose to reject that to prove his worth. A worth it seems that despite the bruhaha both parties seemed to find agreeance on.

So again, where's the damage directly attributable to Gutho's side of negotiations? It f**king isn't f**king there f**king!
I'm not suggesting correlation = causation (which is an overused dickarse retort used by dickarses).

How can I be when I admitted to being sympathetic to other reasons for our slump in form? I was suggesting that it wasn't helpful and completely uneccessary. I was also suggesting that it isn't the way that others have done it.

If you want to be a bellend go down some pointless rabbit hole to try and trip me up on specific instances of 'damage' that it caused then good luck to you. In fact, hang on. Do you remember the 44th minute against the Dragons where we f**ked ourselves in the arse? That's the specific, measurable instance I was talking about that can only be solely and directly attributable to Gutho.

#SemanticWagon

Bandwagon

I'm not suggesting correlation = causation (which is an overused dickarse retort used by dickarses).

How can I be when I admitted to being sympathetic to other reasons for our slump in form? I was suggesting that it wasn't helpful and completely uneccessary. I was also suggesting that it isn't the way that others have done it.

If you want to be a bellend go down some pointless rabbit hole to try and trip me up on specific instances of 'damage' that it caused then good luck to you. In fact, hang on. Do you remember the 44th minute against the Dragons where we f**ked ourselves in the arse? That's the specific, measurable instance I was talking about that can only be solely and directly attributable to Gutho.

#SemanticWagon

The point is the claims of "damage" are f**king wishy washy as hell, and if you are unable to define them in a reasonably specific manner, what makes you so f**king certain they even exist?

I'm not about attempting to trip you up in some gotcha little moment, I'm questioning your assertion and providing the means by which I question it.

That to me is a very reasonable, because if you really can't point to anything specific it becomes an argument based on opinion or "feels", which is fine, but let's not pretend it's factual, or beyond refute as you put it.

The point is the claims of "damage" are f**king wishy washy as hell, and if you are unable to define them in a reasonably specific manner, what makes you so f**king certain they even exist?

I'm not about attempting to trip you up in some gotcha little moment, I'm questioning your assertion and providing the means by which I question it.

That to me is a very reasonable, because if you really can't point to anything specific it becomes an argument based on opinion or "feels", which is fine, but let's not pretend it's factual, or beyond refute as you put it.
You are right. Our form slump and his form slump could have just been a coincidence. I don't have hard evidence to suggest otherwise, just my Gary Gutfeel which rarely lets me down.

There’s one conclusion in this shit fight, the media knobs seem to get their information from fan blogs and player managers. Doesn’t seem like 15/20 years ago when the clubs would actually talk to them.

So, the only thing to believe is when the club comes out with confirmation.

Having said that, Gutho has really misread the room, and his reputation slides a bit every day, with no thanks to slimy Sam .

I don't pay that much attention to media. Gutherson is our highest profile player off contract. General nrl fans do not know who Papali'i, Marata are. Mahoney and RCG although bigger names still do not have the profile of the King. And neither are club captains. He is in the media a lot due to being a club captain of PARRA. The club most fans want to read about.