Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I'm not suggesting correlation = causation (which is an overused dickarse retort used by dickarses).

How can I be when I admitted to being sympathetic to other reasons for our slump in form? I was suggesting that it wasn't helpful and completely uneccessary. I was also suggesting that it isn't the way that others have done it.

If you want to be a bellend go down some pointless rabbit hole to try and trip me up on specific instances of 'damage' that it caused then good luck to you. In fact, hang on. Do you remember the 44th minute against the Dragons where we f**ked ourselves in the arse? That's the specific, measurable instance I was talking about that can only be solely and directly attributable to Gutho.

#SemanticWagon

I've never heard that word before. Dickarse. Did you just make it up?

chiefy1

I don't pay that much attention to media. Gutherson is our highest profile player off contract. General nrl fans do not know who Papali'i, Marata are. Mahoney and RCG although bigger names still do not have the profile of the King. And neither are club captains. He is in the media a lot due to being a club captain of PARRA. The club most fans want to read about.
Ha ???

King-Gutho94

So O'Brien would pinch his best mates (BA) best mate (Gutho)?
Not likely Id suggest unless BA is getting his best mate (O'B) to put pressure on Eels Management to up their offer for his other best mate (Gutho).
I think newcastle are eyeing off Drinkwater from the cowboys.

Central coast lad who can play in the halves and fullback depending on what they want to do with ponga.

Also drinkwater has a combination with Clifford from time at cowboys

I think newcastle are eyeing off Drinkwater from the cowboys.

Central coast lad who can play in the halves and fullback depending on what they want to do with ponga.

Also drinkwater has a combination with Clifford from time at cowboys
And I did hear a rumour that he wants out from the Cows, so there you go.

Gazzamatta

Excellent player is Drinkwater.
I read an article that since our former consultant coach has returned to Newy 2 days per week he is working with AO'B to revamp Newys attack. It will be interesting to watch the results.

Noise

I read an article that since our former consultant coach has returned to Newy 2 days per week he is working with AO'B to revamp Newys attack. It will be interesting to watch the results.
Excellent player?? He's bog average. He's 24, only played 51 first grade games with a win percentage of 29%.

King-Gutho94

If releasing marata early meant the difference between keeping papali'i by upgrading him next year and satisfied financially or losing him to tigers in 2023 would you do it.

I am personally in the marata has a contract camp and keep him. Just like the other big clubs have done but its a tough one as papali'i is a must keep and the signs are pointed to him leaving as well

TheRam

Unknot your knickers mate.

What you've got here is pure supposition fuelled by a handful of basically harmless quotes from Ayoub, and literally no input from the bloke you're judging at all.

And you're doing that all on the basis of what you've read in the mainstream media.

Or the quotes I have read directly from his manager who is an extension of him and his paid representative.

TheRam

Nope. The Gutho contract situation has been damaging on two ocassions. There is no refuting this and no possible argument that can support the idea that Gutho is just a poor misunderstood man of the people trying to "play good footy".

@TheRam could do with unknoting his knickers and I am sure that @hindy111 could assist, but I reckon you need to get your head out of the sand, Sandwagon.

I like the knot in my knickers thank you very much. It gives me great pleasure and comfort, like a well worn old and reliable friend. It just wouldn't be the same without it and I would probably need to attend a lot more Bones on Bones meetings without it.

And besides it keeps me open for business.

TheRam

Agreed. He needs a good mentor that can take him to the next level of consistency. If he goes to Newy, I hope that Joey can help him find that consistency, because the boy has a lot of skill and quick. I love watching him play.

My first thought was of compassion - let him go home.

Then I was like, like hold on, they're based out of QLD this year !

No....

If we where rebuilding then yes. If he was on big dollars yes.

But we are in with a genuine title shot. He would most likely be one around 250k range. We would need closer to 400k to replace him.
For the same reason Panthers didn’t release Burton and look how that turned out.

Unless we could maybe land Tariq Sims for a year on similar cost then perhaps I'd be interested.