Chipmunk
He's not worth anything to us that starts with a 5 or more.If this is correct, reckon we made a pretty good offer to keep him:
Fair dinkum comparing Alvaro to Papalii...Polar oppositesDaniel Alvaro won our best and fairest 3 years ago.
Maybe paps failed 2u general mathsIf this is correct, reckon we made a pretty good offer to keep him:
We didn't get close, and why would we? The Tigers offer was ridiculous.Appears we came back late in the piece when we realised that a genuine offer had been made. Tha can happen when you try and manage the cap by lowballing extensions. Didn’t work on Stefano and caused probs with Gutho last time.
Seems we didn’t learn much, if you at least put in a decent contract imtitially you would possibly be more successful and not look silly when forced to get close and fail.
And what if we gave our best offer to every off contract player? We would only be able to fit half of them under the cap and have a worse team than if we'd only lost a couple.If we were prepared to offer him that money in the end why didnt we just do it in the first place he probably would have signed straight away without even looking at the market and giving a desperate club like the tigers a chance to pounce with an offer way over our budget that we planned for.
Yeah they love playing for Nathan Brown and Michael Maguire. Obviously motivated by the chance to work with the best coaches ffsMaybe resigning Bushy is having the opposite effect in regards to players staying ???
A side with not many super stars should have a lot of above average players. These are the merkins likely to see an extra $100k a year as a a good deal. The guy on $1.2M will find it easier to knock back that extra $100k than the dude on $500k. Use your Brian ffsYes a week 2 finals side with not many super stars shouldn’t be losing players.
If Papali'i was worth big money surely he also deserves a spot in the Kiwi side on merit?If Ice left us over $150k over 3 years then he’s a dunce. To choose $50k a year over your team mates, playing finals footy and under a coach you know you gel with is a stupid risk.
only play the tigers have is Madge being the NZ coach. Maybe he promised him a starting gig in the test team..
A side with not many super stars should have a lot of above average players? I’m not sure how that follows. Most teams have to shed players because they have strong origin representation or grand final experience. Can you name another team that has had to shed their star players despite not making it past week 2 of the finals?A side with not many super stars should have a lot of above average players. These are the merkins likely to see an extra $100k a year as a a good deal. The guy on $1.2M will find it easier to knock back that extra $100k than the dude on $500k. Use your Brian ffs
Because we have no superstars we have more cap space to devote to the rest of the top 17. Look at some of the reserve graders playing for Manly and the Roosters. Our tenth best player (for example) would be much better than theirs.A side with not many super stars should have a lot of above average players? I’m not sure how that follows.
The two blokes we lost weren't eligible for Origin. They also came to us as nobodies so they would've needed the biggest upgrade for 2023.Most teams have to shed players because they have strong origin representation or grand final experience.
Don't look at it by how far into the finals you went in a given year, because luck is a big factor with such a small sample of games. Look at the three year rolling win rate for the actual quality of a team. We are top five in the NRL, better than 11 other clubs. You better believe we have a good team.Can you name another team that has had to shed their star players despite not making it past week 2 of the finals?
He will know we're actually not desperate, because we have proven it. We are happy to buy cheap and develop the next Niukore/Papali'i/Mahoney if we have to.He’ll know we are desperate to lock them away and no lose anyone else, and will know we now have more $$
And where has that got you?He will know we're actually not desperate, because we have proven it. We are happy to buy cheap and develop the next Niukore/Papali'i/Mahoney if we have to.
He might be driving a new carIf Ice left us over $150k over 3 years then he’s a dunce. To choose $50k a year over your team mates, playing finals footy and under a coach you know you gel with is a stupid risk.
only play the tigers have is Madge being the NZ coach. Maybe he promised him a starting gig in the test team..
He was disappointing last year I thought.Stefano Utoikamanu.......
Pou can, he loves walking down both sides of the street.Yes a week 2 finals side with not many super stars shouldn’t be losing players. We’re either an underachieving week 3 or grand final team that can’t retain our star players or we’re a week 2 finals side that shouldn’t have any trouble. You can’t have it both ways.
Obviously he has no loyalty. I actually don’t want any players like him at the club. We made a very good offer, which is more than fair yet he left for allegedly $150k more over 3 years. What’s that after tax? About $80k?If this is correct, reckon we made a pretty good offer to keep him: