Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Sterlo aren’t a retention/recruitment guy, that’s a f**ken stupid idea. Everyone knows what juniors / players to recruit. Additionally having good scouts/networks helps. A lot is just balancing budgets! We already do a pretty good job in that area!

Sterlo is probably better at giving a “written” game report each week to BA (similar to what Brown was doing for Bellamy the year he was unemployed), along with some spine coaching.
Sterlo couldn't coach a choko vine over a country dunny!

A push from powerful Parramatta figures for retired Channel 9 broadcaster and Eels legend Peter Sterling to take on a part-time role in recruitment and retention. He’d provide much better value than having two bean counters — chairman Sean McElduff and CEO Jim Sarantinos — on a committee desperate for footy expertise and an ability to recognise the value of players.

There are moves to bring Peter Sterling to the Eels.
Source please.

King-Gutho94

It will be interesting where Gutho's career and legacy goes now he is virtually playing here for the remainder of his peak.

Can he lead us to promised land and elevate himself into one of Parramatta's greatest players since the 1980s.

Certainly has lost a bit of love with his carry on especially with contracts since he won the provan summons medal as the popular player of the game in 2017.

Joshuatheeel

TBH I am not to fuss how the negotiations with our players play out, it’s more the media that turn it into a show case, along with the managers!

Mainly because the eels are one of the most supported sporting clubs in Australia and we sell papers…

As long as the player puts in on the field and set a good example for other players/fans, I reckon that is good enough.

We don’t know Gutho’s personal circumstances (I say this for a reason as some players are supporting families, sick family members etc etc etc) but we know when he puts on the blue and gold he gives 100% …..

emjaycee

It will be interesting where Gutho's career and legacy goes now he is virtually playing here for the remainder of his peak.

Can he lead us to promised land and elevate himself into one of Parramatta's greatest players since the 1980s.

Certainly has lost a bit of love with his carry on especially with contracts since he won the provan summons medal as the popular player of the game in 2017.
When is the last time we had 2 spine players who were with us for more than 7 years and constants in our FG team?
Moses and Gutho will both be with us during their peak years and if we manage to lock in Mahoney for another 2 years (23 & 24) he will also be more than 7 years in FG.

I reckon that's how you build a successful squad.

DaveMc

TBH I am not to fuss how the negotiations with our players play out, it’s more the media that turn it into a show case, along with the managers!

Mainly because the eels are one of the most supported sporting clubs in Australia and we sell papers…

As long as the player puts in on the field and set a good example for other players/fans, I reckon that is good enough.

We don’t know Gutho’s personal circumstances (I say this for a reason as some players are supporting families, sick family members etc etc etc) but we know when he puts on the blue and gold he gives 100% …..
Gutherson leads us to a premiership and he’s considered easily our most important player since Ray Price. The bloke will never need to buy himself another beer for the rest of his life. Let’s just hope he can deliver it.

When is the last time we had 2 spine players who were with us for more than 7 years and constants in our FG team?
Moses and Gutho will both be with us during their peak years and if we manage to lock in Mahoney for another 2 years (23 & 24) he will also be more than 7 years in FG.

I reckon that's how you build a successful squad.
That, and peptides.

eels_fan

So what’s the plan if we lose Mahoney ?

we currently have no one waiting in the wings, there is no one of note in the market other than Brandon Smith who would command more $$ than Mahoney, and Api who it appears will stay at Penrith now Kikau is going and freed up money.

do we decide we will no longer have a rep quality 9 moving forward and go with a solid/reliable but not great hooker (similar to back in the Keating days) and use the funds we’re saving on a 9 to invest in other positions?

King-Gutho94

So what’s the plan if we lose Mahoney ?

we currently have no one waiting in the wings, there is no one of note in the market other than Brandon Smith who would command more $$ than Mahoney, and Api who it appears will stay at Penrith now Kikau is going and freed up money.

do we decide we will no longer have a rep quality 9 moving forward and go with a solid/reliable but not great hooker (similar to back in the Keating days) and use the funds we’re saving on a 9 to invest in other positions?
Apprantley we have signed some young dummy half from penrith named Brandan Hands who is 21.

Was stuck behind Api & mitch kenny