Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I’m sorry but if we lose Moses or Brown after losing Mahoney and paying overs for Guth it’s a f**k up of epic proportions. They have the ability to be one of the best halves combos in the entire comp. Pou Will Dribble shit and tell us we can’t keep them just because.

Losing Mahoney was bad but I can cop it if we keep our halves but if we lose one or either of them the drought will continue for years on end without even looking like getting close. Guth was easily the most replaceable out of our spine I don’t care how hard he tries or how many jerseys or merch he sells.

IFR33K

I’m sorry but if we lose Moses or Brown after losing Mahoney and paying overs for Guth it’s a f**k up of epic proportions. They have the ability to be one of the best halves combos in the entire comp. Pou Will Dribble shit and tell us we can’t keep them just because.

Losing Mahoney was bad but I can cop it if we keep our halves but if we lose one or either of them the drought will continue for years on end without even looking like getting close. Guth was easily the most replaceable out of our spine I don’t care how hard he tries or how many jerseys or merch he sells.

totally agree with what you’re saying. I’m not sure we could afford to lose moses either. He offers the team so much, and our attack revolves around his kicking game. His long kicking game is the best in the comp and his bombs are second to none. Think about how many points we’ll lose, or territory we’ll give away without Moses. His defense has improved out of sight and he’s matured as a half.

I didn’t start the convo I just commented on it, I also seriously doubt Moses will be going anywhere. He’s turned into an elite half at Parra.

We have him while he is 27, 28, 29.....

After that he may begin to decline. He does have great speed now but that will slowly go. Id say he will still have another 3 great years left however. But I feel the next 3 will be his peak years. Maybe 4 then chances are he will have probably played his best footy.

‘24 is an option year for him i think. He may decide to not take up his option and re negotiate.

Didn't he sign for 900k ?
How much would top half get right now? My guess is between 900-1.2 The better clubs would get them a little cheaper.
I don't think we would need to be coming up with heaps more money to keep him. Maybe another 100-150k perhaps.

But sure who knows what happens. We may sign Dylan long term and a guy like JA or someone from under 20s pops up and we decide we don't want to lose them and will cost 1/3rd of Moses.

IFR33K

We have him while he is 27, 28, 29.....

After that he may begin to decline. He does have great speed now but that will slowly go. Id say he will still have another 3 great years left however. But I feel the next 3 will be his peak years. Maybe 4 then chances are he will have probably played his best footy.

well that’s my point. I’m not sure how long he’s signed for, but how can we make a call now? He may improve or even decline.

TheRam

O'Neil, and the retention team, have ceilings on what they're willing to pay - see Mahoney's situation as an example.

They may decide that we'd be better off giving the keys to the team to Dantoray Lui, and bolstering our pack, for example, rather than throwing big money at Mitchell.

As I said - it's all speculative.

But never say never...

And how is that working for Souths ffs. Walker can't even throw a decent pass now without his mate besides him.

Unless you have a better option, you NEVER let quality halves go. Period. Everyone else goes before Moses in my book of footy recruitment and retention.