Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

TheRam

How many times have they made the semis and played well since 2013..

Mate like I said they aren't a development club like us or as big a clubs as us all round and yet they still have pissed all over us in winning GF's in almost every decade except the last with their last being 2011.

Not bad for a small club like them at all. The only reason they have dropped back a peg was bad management when they went broke and started the infighting and the penny pinching of the last decade or so. But still they never have dropped off to the point of ever winning a wooden spoon and are generally in contention for the semis and even GF.

Helps a lot when you have great great footy brains associated with your club that know a thing or two about recruitment and retention like Bob and Scott Fulton who have always valued size and speed. I can't ever remember them having a slow or pedestrian backline or a small pack like we have had over the years. Their pack at the moment isn't performing not due to size but experience and lacking a quality dummy half. If they keep this group together and add a quality 9 and one or two old hard heads, they will be a force again.

Happy MEel

Well no. People aren't expecting him to play like Thurston. What would be good is if he came on and did not force a re-shuffle and us having to move one of the competition's form halves out of position because he only knows how to play in the halves (at a fairly basic basic level IMO).
This 👆

TheRam

f**k. What about me? Am I also a failure?

I think he is trolling, he couldn't possibly fair dinkum.

I think he is secretly hoping that we are failures in life. It's his MO remember, he lives in plodder loser world.

I could list all my holdings and interests, but I don't think that would be appropriate and wise, not to mention wanky and boastful. Lets just say I'm good and deserve a break to smell the roses.

Well no. People aren't expecting him to play like Thurston. What would be good is if he came on and did not force a re-shuffle and us having to move one of the competition's form halves out of position because he only knows how to play in the halves (at a fairly basic basic level IMO).
You've taken his selection for that one game out of context and are ignoring alternatives available to the coach that week.

That week he wanted cover for an injury in the backs and chose Jake.

His options were Opacic or Carty. Other options would be rookies Perham, Naiduki or Rankin. I know that many have said that it should have been Carty, but he had shown since then that defending at centre is not his forte. Picking anyone probably means a reshuffle so I don't get why everyone is so amped.

They had Blake as cover for wing. Russell as cover for FB, Brown as cover for Centre and Jake as cover for 6/7. Gutho as cover for 6.

Last year Will Smith was on the bench 17 times as cover. Dunster was used twice when he was unavailable (broken hand).

1649643885935.png

TheRam

Who are these people, and why did we let them run the club?

Who are you talking about here who hired the wrong people? You and me? The coach? The CEO? The owners? Why do the Storm, Roosters and Sea Eagles hire the right people? Why is Souths good at hiring people now but weren't throughout the 80s and 90s and 00s?

Piss off stirer.

Go back over time and read a million or so posts on the subject and work it out for yourself.

You obviously are a failure in life as evidenced by the way you post. You need to try a little harder mate, for your families sake. Do you need a loan? I give great rates.

I could list all my holdings and interests, but I don't think that would be appropriate and wise, not to mention wanky and boastful.
You have already achieved wanky. Congratulations.

I think he takes a while to wind up but top end speed seems ok.

Its all about the acceleration. I saw a Parra forward chase Papenhuzen down. Forget who. But over 25mtrs and initial 5mtr take off is by far the most important. This is how you can create space and line breaks. PJ Marsh wasn't quick over 100mtrs but gee he was dynamic.

Most good hookers that run the bal take off quick with low top speed.

That happened once for 40mins and an injury. The following week he stayed on the bench.

TheRam

I think everyone on here (except me of course) is probably INCEL.

That is because you consider yourself to be a TruFemcel.

But after a couple of ciders and around 02:00 am I reckon you are only a Femcel and worth a good leg over sweetie. 🥳🐷🍆

With HIAs now it's a bit silly not to have one guy who can cover 1-7. It used to be rare to lose a guy in those positions during the game. With HIAs now its common.

I still feel the NRL should bring in a 5 man bench nowdays. Same amount of interchanges.