Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Moses is equally the best kicker in the comp. We have the best go forward in the comp and you reckon that we need Brown to run a dead and predictable 4th tackle hitup, especially even more stupid when we are attacking in the red zone, so as Moses can get a good kick away and so that our supposedly dumb players can all stay on side? Jeez they must be stupid compared to everyone else in the comp that doesn't need that settler to get it right.

And yet none of the other top flight teams deem it necessary to do such a predictable and wasteful tackle that only puts a handbrake on your set, but instead use their lock as a extra ball player(link option) that compresses the defense and then he shoots it out to halves and players all in motion and on the attack out wide where they have created space and one on one situations and can really stretch the defense. Jeez, if you are even remotely right and that is actually true, then our coaches are morons.
Plenty of teams do the same thing on fourth tackle. You can shift the ball earlier in the count. We do.

emjaycee

Jesus you are such a mediocre plodder. Your post are consistently the most negative on this site. Give it a rest mate, we are better then what you constantly keep saying we are.

The squad we have assembled is awesome and can and should be equal to the top sides. The only real problem is our coaching staffs ability to get the best out of them and maybe our ability as a club to keep the squad together long enough to win a premiership.
To be honest Ram, I don't think our squad is as 'awesome' as you claim.
Sure, it is strong but in reality, once you get beyond the top 16 or 17, it weakens off considerably.
For example, we have 16 backs listed on our website (incl. development players) and of those, only 5 or 6 would be walk up starts in any of the clubs below us on the ladder (and probably none of the 3 teams above us although Sharks might want Moses or Brown).
- Gutherson
- Moses
- Sivo
- Blake
- Brown
- Penisini (maybe)
The other 10 backs in our squad are mostly fringe first graders (or you can call them depth) and yet we need to use at least one of them every week - more when we have injuries like we do at present.

We are not that much stronger in the forwards. Of the 19 listed (incl. development players), only 9 are recognised first graders.
- Paulo
- RCG
- Mahoney
- Lane
- Matterson
- Papali'i
- Niukore
- Nrown
- Kaufusi
2 or 3 of these might make the top 17 of Melbourne, the Roosters or Penrith but the others wouldn't.
There are 2 or 3 others that have significant first grade experience but have weaknesses (or limitations) in Cartwright, Rein and Stone and then there are 7 who have little or no FG experience and would/should/could only be called upon in desperate times.

8 of the 9 forwards I listed above played this afternoon (one in the backs FFS) and we lost to the Tigers.

So yes, we have a strong top 16 that when healthy and everyone is available is probably up there with the better clubs in the NRL, but it is rare these days to have everyone available all of the time. In fact, we have had no more than 12 of our top 16 players available for selection each week this season.

Noise

Sure, it is strong but in reality, once you get beyond the top 16 or 17, it weakens off considerably.
For example, we have 16 backs listed on our website (incl. development players) and of those, only 5 or 6 would be walk up starts in any of the clubs below us on the ladder (and probably none of the 3 teams above us although Sharks might want Moses or Brown).
- Gutherson
- Moses
- Sivo
- Blake
- Brown
- Penisini (maybe)
The other 10 backs in our squad are mostly fringe first graders (or you can call them depth) and yet we need to use at least one of them every week - more when we have injuries like we do at present.

We are not that much stronger in the forwards. Of the 19 listed (incl. development players), only 9 are recognised first graders.
- Paulo
- RCG
- Mahoney
- Lane
- Matterson
- Papali'i
- Niukore
- Nrown
- Kaufusi
2 or 3 of these might make the top 17 of Melbourne, the Roosters or Penrith but the others wouldn't.
There are 2 or 3 others that have significant first grade experience but have weaknesses (or limitations) in Cartwright, Rein and Stone and then there are 7 who have little or no FG experience and would/should/could only be called upon in desperate times.

8 of the 9 forwards I listed above played this afternoon (one in the backs FFS) and we lost to the Tigers.

So yes, we have a strong top 16 that when healthy and everyone is available is probably up there with the better clubs in the NRL, but it is rare these days to have everyone available all of the time. In fact, we have had no more than 12 of our top 16 players available for selection each week this season.
The weakening of squads outside the top 16-17 could be said for all clubs. Having 2 merkins on the bench such as Perham and Rein is f**king stupidity.

It’s the squad, it can’t be the coach and his staff. FFS!! Totally outcoached by a bloke on death row lol. Makes you wonder what Madge could do with this squad.

Glenneel

View attachment 60408

I don't expect it to be all that hard to keep Moses at our club since he is paid fairly well already.

As for player options, Tom Starling has a player option for 2024. I would be canning Hodgson's contract no matter how well or badly he goes and go all out for Starling instead. He is now playing for a sh*t club, we should be able to offer him somewhere close to what the Raiders have him on but with the added incentive of playing for a strong finals team.

These are the sorts of things the best run clubs do and can convince quality players that are in a bad system or weak club to ditch them and come and play for the stronger one.

It needs to start now. The serenading and love action needs to be shown now by our club recruitment committee so he knows we love him and value him to come to the Eels and be part of a strong team in contention for a title.

Players love being made to feel special and if that includes being paid fairly and playing in a side that is a contender then that is even more loving.
After yesterday's match are we a contender or pretender? Poor bench and team having players playing out of position is not a positive for BA and other coaches and our D has been poor all year so far. Unless something positive happens soon we'll again fall short at the pointy end to extend our premiership drought.

Incorrect

After yesterday's match are we a contender or pretender? Poor bench and team having players playing out of position is not a positive for BA and other coaches and our D has been poor all year so far. Unless something positive happens soon we'll again fall short at the pointy end to extend our premiership drought.
Man it's like Groundhog Day following this club... I was driving with my 2 teenage sons yesterday before the game. They don't really follow league at all but they know that their old man is an Eels tragic and that the Tigers are shit.... So when they asked me who Parra were playing yesterday Arvo, I said Tigers and they go, "well that's going to be a thrashing, Parra should win by 40".... And I just said, I take nothing for granted with this team. Nothing surprises me anymore. By 6pm my instincts were proven correct....

Look, we are struggling with injuries and that is hurting us no doubt. But a contender beats the Tigers every day of the week. Pretenders don't....

TheRam

Plenty of teams do the same thing on fourth tackle. You can shift the ball earlier in the count. We do.

The point is I measure our team by what the better ones do and they rarely are so predictable and wasteful of their tackles.

Watch the top 2 or 3 teams mate and how they have very few settlers when attacking in the red zone and just as rarely you don't see so many dead men and zombies in the frame.

The point is I measure our team by what the better ones do and they rarely are so predictable and wasteful of their tackles.

Watch the top 2 or 3 teams mate and how they have very few settlers when attacking in the red zone and just as rarely you don't see so many dead men and zombies in the frame.
We have more settlers than the Wild West ffs!!

With so many injuries there aren’t any better options. Greig is a plodder in defence and Cartwright is unreliable.

TheRam

- Gutherson
- Moses
- Sivo
- Blake
- Brown
- Penisini (maybe)

- Paulo
- RCG
- Mahoney
- Lane
- Matterson
- Papali'i
- Niukore
- Nrown
- Kaufusi

Oh so what you are saying is that our coach has overachieved and may even be a super coach. Can't wait till we get some quality players then. We'll probably run out of fingers and toes to count the trophies.

Mate seriously. The the reason you don't rate these guys as highly as you should is because most are underachieving with the way we play. The coaching is rank. Fancy not being able to get in a position to kick a field goal like yesterday and our number 7 complaining about it after the game. How many times do you think Bellamy would tolerate such a basic thing to go awry , especially against a wooden spoon contender?

That is a symptom of the coaches stamp on the team. That last ten minutes of the game should have been practiced and trained for a thousand times for even the 30th player in our squad to be on the same page and know how to work towards the goals and kick the thing.

But we should never have been in that position in the first place with so many bombed try chances that we stuffed up through bad execution and at least 2 by our captain on the left hand side in the first half.

It has nothing to do with the quality of players we have. Watch them mate, it is the execution and confusion that they are so often exhibiting when other teams are rushing them and then they start falling to pieces. They so often don't know what to do about it. That comes down to training those scenarios at as near to games style conditions all the time and even harder and then no matter what the opposition throw at you you can and do deal with it.

Why do you hear that Bellamy's teams train the hardest all the time. The 20th anniversary premiership chooks players on the weekend said that they remember that year they had elevated their training to such a point that they trained harder then the games so when in game no matter what the other teams threw at them they found it less exhausting then their training sessions and could handle it. But even further some of our tactics or decisions during games is mind blowing and not even about fatigue but just wrong and stupid. That again comes down to the coaching and if he can't get them to play smarter then he isn't the man for the job because obviously our spines isn't crap so why can't we play smarter and more purpose in attack and as a unit in defense.

Anyway I think I have seen enough of our team this season and yes there still is a slight chance we may win the premiership if we have a full compliment of players and everything falls into place for us like a Brabury type of win, but realistically I can't see this team with this coach winning 3 or 4 playoff games and the big one while he is in charge.

The Panthers almost never kick from the sideline.

Fancy not being able to get in a position to kick a field goal like yesterday and our number 7 complaining about it after the game. How many times do you think Bellamy would tolerate such a basic thing to go awry , especially against a wooden spoon contender?
Their winning field goal attempt was charged down by Shaun Lane ffs. Stop talking shit, TheRam.

TheRam

Their winning field goal attempt was charged down by Shaun Lane ffs. Stop talking shit, TheRam.

They were playing us another top 4-6 team not wooden spoon contenders and they were very unlucky. When we learn to ice way more of those style of games against the best teams then I would be more forgiving and put it down to sh*t happens, but we haven't shown consistently that we are a big game, tight game, winning team against the best.