Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

TheRam

They are also aiming to play the ball in the middle on tackle five. It’s not an accident ffs

Mate are you seriously comparing what they do with the ball and how they execute their set of six to ours?

For starters they don't have dead men or zombies standing around doing nothing during play like we do. Makes all the difference in the freakin world mate. And tackle 5 isn't tackle 4 and they only do that when there is very little other option and they are going to use either side of the field for a grubber into the in goal or attacking bomb on the goal line when in the red zone.

They are all about relentless attack and would never have a regular tactic on the 4th that just slows it all down and settles the play which helps the defence reset. That is just plain stupid and negative footy. They are definitely not a negative footy team.

I reckon our defence has regressed - we were pretty good last year, but our problem was putting points on the board.

Our defence is worse this year - teams are going straight up our guts with energy, then spinning the balll wide, for massive gains.

I know we are down on troops, but we simply need to be better.

Development club with no tpas. What do you expect?
Derp. You think that finding a Sugar Daddy who can sling cash around in untraceable mysterious ways is easy ?

The Dolphins’ inability to secure third party deals is reportedly hindering Wayne Bennett’s attempts to land a big-name signing.

The Storm and Penrith game at end of season masked a lot of terrible flaws.
Yeah late season games against gun sides mask the ordinary performances against nuffies. We absolutely lack consistent focus from week to week and even over 80 minutes. And it might well be the coach’s fault (I think it’s an obvious leadership issue, which is part of his responsibility) but to say it’s a problem with the game plan is just baseless. Our game plan matches our team’s strengths and weaknesses, 100%. If you don’t want to give him credit you can put it down to Ennis or Carr or whatever.

We have a lot of powerful, lazy forwards who don’t suit the modern game all playing together. So we need to maximise possession. That should always be our priority. High risk passes when we’ve got a big lead or are playing against the Tigers are absolute poison for our team. They need to keep their heads in the game and grind for the full 80. This is how we will win games and even rack up some big scores.

Mate that first paragraph was obviously sarcasm and also no clubs entire squad is top notch or that impressive past the top 20 odd at best.

The Roosters and Storms top 20 if that is about it and even the Panthers too. But it is the systems that they all train and play in and the standards that the coaching staff set and that all the players up to the 30th know and can execute well enough if and once called upon depending on their roll and what is expected of them. They don't over complicate it for those types of players and give them a few goals to reach and do very well.

Look at the Storm against the Sharks on the weekend. They had half there regular pack missing and yet they still beat another supposed contender.

Nelson Asofa-Solomona
Harry Grant
Brandon Smith
Felise Kaufusi
Trent Loiero
Josh King

Interchange

Tyran Wishart
Tepai Moeroa
Chris Lewis
Alec MacDonald

Now can you imagine the excuses we would have if we were missing that many quality players from our regular starting forwards? But the systems and standards that Bellamy sets allows for every next player up to exhibit and perform at a level that allows the play makers to still carry out what they do and win even the biggest and hardest games against the highest quality opponents without excuses.

Hell he is even carrying that lump Moeroa ffs and still finding ways to make him productive. But I suppose you think Moeroa is better then our top 18-30 players too even though we dumped him and he was languishing in Rugby and then in limbo until Bellamy took him in and reset him to do a specific set of tasks and perform as certain roll that he can handle and be beneficial to the team.

Great coaching breaks down every players game to bits and gets them to perform what they can do to the best of their abilities. Our players are still lost when it counts and fall out of structure way to often. That is a coaching thing not a player thing, unless you are for example someone like James Roberts that has mental issues and demons, but those sorts of players are rarer and only certain styles of coaches can get the best out of them and generally only for a short period of time before the lose focus again and go missing.

But for the most part Good to great coaches just need a high calibre spine and some hard nosed forwards up front to be a semi contender and and a couple of speedsters and or flashy players and you have a genuine premiership contender. Look at the Sharks as exhibit A as far as getting their spine in order and forwards right, they have become a genuine top 6-4 team as long as they are healthy and in a couple of years as they get better and bed everything down and add a player or to they will be a genuine title contender too.

Sure the players aren't concentrating for the full game and not executing the game plan the coach has set out, but it his job to make sure that they do. The players we have are way better then the Tigers for example and yet we allowed them to dictate terms. No one gave the Tiger a chance before the game for a reason. Our roster blows their away.

Coaching is the difference when that happens as often as it does with our team.
So what was their excuse for losing to us?

Gazzamatta

Merkins are shocked because they underrated the Tigers. That’s all. Poor form doesn’t last forever, and we definitely took them lightly. I thought we’d win but I wasn’t confident enough not to put $20 on Wests. They were paying great odds, and anything can happen on the day.

We lost by one point ffs. Get over it.
I was over it once he kicked the field goal Poo. What about you? Its Parramatta mate. Its what we do. Sadly I think we are going worse than last season which is concerning.

TheRam

Merkins are shocked because they underrated the Tigers. That’s all. Poor form doesn’t last forever, and we definitely took them lightly. I thought we’d win but I wasn’t confident enough not to put $20 on Wests. They were paying great odds, and anything can happen on the day.

We lost by one point ffs. Get over it.

We didn't really take them lightly mate. We dominated them all over the park yet lost the game. We just played poorly when executing death blow plays and not knowing how to put them away with patience and methodical persistence. The spine failed more so then the other players even if the other players were the ones taking the wrong runs or options. It comes down to the spine(leaders) to make sure that the rest follow direction and game plans. But ultimately it all falls on the coaching to get the spine players so well prepared that what we saw yesterday does not happen ever, especially against wooden spoon contenders.

Have I reminded you enough times today that we weren't playing another contender here, but a wooden spoon contender and the competition is hardly all that even with the top 4-6 teams being light years better then the bottom 4 teams?

Get a reality check mate. We should have put 40+ on them and instead lost. No freakin excuses. We are not genuine contenders after allowing that to happen. No sorry, yes we will play way better then yesterday again this season for sure and we will make some decent noise here and there but as for winning the GF? You can forget it. This coach has reached his limit for what he can do with this squad. Now we are just repeating and going around in circles as far as genuine improvements go and eventually we will start to circle the drain to the point of being drained empty and not being any sort of contender at all.

The coach needs to go sooner rather then later, but that won't happen, so we will probably be a little weaker next year and depending on what happens for the following year in regards to recruitment and retention, we may be even a non semi finalist team after that.

For starters they don't have dead men or zombies standing around doing nothing during play like we do.
Agreed, they have a smaller, faster pack that is better suited to the current rules. I expect the rebuild of our pack to focus on these type of player. But ultimately both teams settle to the middle on tackle four. If you’ve got criticisms of why our slower, lazier forwards don’t work as hard off the ball during tackles zero to three that’s a separate issue. I was only responding to your claim that settling on tackle four is poor coaching. You’re conflating two different things because you’re a simpleton looking for a scapegoat.

Derp. You think that finding a Sugar Daddy who can sling cash around in untraceable mysterious ways is easy ?

The Dolphins’ inability to secure third party deals is reportedly hindering Wayne Bennett’s attempts to land a big-name signing.

If anything is truly in the DNA of a club it’s that sort of thing. That and whinging fans.

These TPAs aren’t provided by sponsors looking for a marketing boost, they are provided by business-owning fans looking to help the club secure players.

TheRam

And yet only two teams have scored more than we have. Go figure.

We have a power game ffs. It works well as long as your opposition don't measure up blow for blow and Moses boot masks over a hell of a lot of short comings with ball in hand. But as we have seen so often it isn't enough when the opposition are also playing tough and executing well. Then we tend to fold with a win being the exception.

Lets also not forget how poor we can be defensively too.

I was over it once he kicked the field goal Poo. What about you? Its Parramatta mate. Its what we do. Sadly I think we are going worse than last season which is concerning.
I’m surprised at our lack of respect for the ball, but the win over Melbourne leads me to think we are just waiting for the finals. Not really the way to get there but to be fair we are still winning games.

TheRam

You’ll find tight games are generally fifty fifty. The best teams just don’t tend to find themselves in tight games against the minnows, which is why it doesn’t matter whether they can ice the game. They’ve won it long before the 79th minute.

You’ll note our two games against top four sides were decided on the death and we won one and lost one. Melbourne’s one game that went down to the wire they couldn’t ‘ice’ the game. It doesn’t mean they need a f**king scapegoat. That’s for deadshits who don’t understand randomness. Not everything needs to be part of a narrative ffs

The underlining narrative is we lose against sh*t teams and good teams and when it really counts all those fifty fifty's go to the other teams to progress and us to enjoy mad Monday more times then any other team in the last 35 years.

Wake up you are dreaming while the rest of us are experiencing a living nightmare. I suppose I am envious of you for having such deluded outlook and your insatiable love of a plodder. More power to you poo, you really are full of sh*t, but it works for you.

Pou The King Poo Plodder. The man who doesn't own a plug but should.

We didn't really take them lightly mate. We dominated them all over the park yet lost the game. We just played poorly when executing death blow plays and not knowing how to put them away with patience and methodical persistence. The spine failed more so then the other players even if the other players were the ones taking the wrong runs or options. It comes down to the spine(leaders) to make sure that the rest follow direction and game plans. But ultimately it all falls on the coaching to get the spine players so well prepared that what we saw yesterday does not happen ever, especially against wooden spoon contenders.

Have I reminded you enough times today that we weren't playing another contender here, but a wooden spoon contender and the competition is hardly all that even with the top 4-6 teams being light years better then the bottom 4 teams?

Get a reality check mate. We should have put 40+ on them and instead lost. No freakin excuses. We are not genuine contenders after allowing that to happen. No sorry, yes we will play way better then yesterday again this season for sure and we will make some decent noise here and there but as for winning the GF? You can forget it. This coach has reached his limit for what he can do with this squad. Now we are just repeating and going around in circles as far as genuine improvements go and eventually we will start to circle the drain to the point of being drained empty and not being any sort of contender at all.

The coach needs to go sooner rather then later, but that won't happen, so we will probably be a little weaker next year and depending on what happens for the following year in regards to recruitment and retention, we may be even a non semi finalist team after that.
I guess we’ll see come finals time. Not before.

TheRam

Another cracking NRL statement to appease the masses. He may as well have said “Everyone knew if we played better than they did, and kept playing better then we’ll win.”

No they knew that we can fold if they stayed in our face and we did even though we dominated them. We panicked. As simple as that. Well coached teams don't fall apart like that against mediocre opposition.

The underlining narrative is we lose against sh*t teams and good teams and when it really counts all those fifty fifty's go to the other teams to progress and us to enjoy mad Monday more times then any other team in the last 35 years.

Wake up you are dreaming while the rest of us are experiencing a living nightmare. I suppose I am envious of you for having such deluded outlook and your insatiable love of a plodder. More power to you poo, you really are full of sh*t, but it works for you.

Pou The King Poo Plodder. The man who doesn't own a plug but should.
I agree we’re not a great team, which is why we lose to them in the finals. The difference is you think we should expect to be a great team whereas I don’t. The reality of not even being close on the ladder since 2005 proves me right. You think making a grand final from eighth spot or sneaking into the top four with a differential of +100 proves we have a great team? You’re in f**king Disneyland. We deserve to be underdogs in all these big clashes. We are the Tigers but with more stability. Signing a premiership winning coach won’t change anything.

What are we paying to miss the finals? I reckon you should put a lazy $5 on it.
I’ll be backing our opponents every week down the final stretch. But also I think we’ll finish anywhere from 3rd to 6th. If we miss the finals it must be because Arthur can’t coach and finally stopped being lucky.