Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

TheRam

We are prioritising the kick on tackle five. That means "Places everybody!" and so Nrown settles to a specific point across the field.

So even further to your point and how dumb this is it that we in essence have basically decided then to play real attacking and enterprising footy with the ball for only 4 tackles during games, is that what you are saying? With the 4th being a settler not much chance of anything directly leading to points and you are allowing the defence to reset and the 6th being a kick/bomb most times giving them back the ball means we play attacking dangerous footy with only 4 tackles of our set of 6 tackles. Sure sometimes we get a positive result from the kicks with all the variables that can come from kicks but mostly we have a settler and kick them the ball in 2 of the 6 tackles in each set. No wonder we so often seem impatient and frantic, most other top teams use all 5 or 6 tackles to really put you under pressure and break your arse with many varied tactics that rarely involve a predictable and wasteful 4th tackle that only advantages your opponent.

emjaycee

Oh so what you are saying is that our coach has overachieved and may even be a super coach. Can't wait till we get some quality players then. We'll probably run out of fingers and toes to count the trophies.

Mate seriously. The the reason you don't rate these guys as highly as you should is because most are underachieving with the way we play. The coaching is rank. Fancy not being able to get in a position to kick a field goal like yesterday and our number 7 complaining about it after the game. How many times do you think Bellamy would tolerate such a basic thing to go awry , especially against a wooden spoon contender?

That is a symptom of the coaches stamp on the team. That last ten minutes of the game should have been practiced and trained for a thousand times for even the 30th player in our squad to be on the same page and know how to work towards the goals and kick the thing.

But we should never have been in that position in the first place with so many bombed try chances that we stuffed up through bad execution and at least 2 by our captain on the left hand side in the first half.

It has nothing to do with the quality of players we have. Watch them mate, it is the execution and confusion that they are so often exhibiting when other teams are rushing them and then they start falling to pieces. They so often don't know what to do about it. That comes down to training those scenarios at as near to games style conditions all the time and even harder and then no matter what the opposition throw at you you can and do deal with it.

Why do you hear that Bellamy's teams train the hardest all the time. The 20th anniversary premiership chooks players on the weekend said that they remember that year they had elevated their training to such a point that they trained harder then the games so when in game no matter what the other teams threw at them they found it less exhausting then their training sessions and could handle it. But even further some of our tactics or decisions during games is mind blowing and not even about fatigue but just wrong and stupid. That again comes down to the coaching and if he can't get them to play smarter then he isn't the man for the job because obviously our spines isn't crap so why can't we play smarter and more purpose in attack and as a unit in defense.

Anyway I think I have seen enough of our team this season and yes there still is a slight chance we may win the premiership if we have a full compliment of players and everything falls into place for us like a Brabury type of win, but realistically I can't see this team with this coach winning 3 or 4 playoff games and the big one while he is in charge.
Ok, I am not in the mood to get into a slanging match or back and forth versions of "War and Peace" discussing this, however I will say a couple of things...

Nowhere have I ever said that our coach has overachieved or is a super coach so no, that is not what I was saying. In fact, I think BA has definitely reached his apex and unless he gets different assistants and can focus on using whatever man management skills he has, then I fear we will not achieve much more than we have for the last couple of seasons.

Mate, you introduced the word "awesome" into the conversation in regard to our squad, not me. I questioned you on whether the whole squad is really "awesome" or whether we have a limited number of strong players (16 or 17 from a squad of 35). Don't now claim that I don't rate our players as highly as I should. FFS, are you telling me you think Kaufusi is an awesome player even though he drops the ball cold at least once per game? What about Opacic, is he an awesome centre in the mold of someone like Staggs or Manu? Is Lane so awesome that he can be lazy at times throughout a game and let in easy tries?

I am not sure why not just you but many posters on here think that this is such a binary issue.
Do you think it might be possible that the players don't always execute the coaches game plan to the letter? Might it be possible that the coaches game plan is sometimes shit and sometimes good enough? What about the possiblity that individual players have momentary lapses in concentration and make mistakes?

I could go on but there isn't really a point is there? I mean the playing squad is awesome and the coach is crap right?

TheRam

Man it's like Groundhog Day following this club... I was driving with my 2 teenage sons yesterday before the game. They don't really follow league at all but they know that their old man is an Eels tragic and that the Tigers are shit.... So when they asked me who Parra were playing yesterday Arvo, I said Tigers and they go, "well that's going to be a thrashing, Parra should win by 40".... And I just said, I take nothing for granted with this team. Nothing surprises me anymore. By 6pm my instincts were proven correct....

Look, we are struggling with injuries and that is hurting us no doubt. But a contender beats the Tigers every day of the week. Pretenders don't....

Yep, it's going to be another painful end of season finish, filled with endless excuses once again.

But the most common denominator is the coach and his inability to get this team steely eyed and hardened, you know with a swagger in attack and a brick wall in defense that other teams fear and loath playing against.

I heard Brooks in an after game interview say words to the effect that they knew Parra were a team that if you put pressure on them and keep coming at them they can fold.

He wasn't wrong.

Gazzamatta

Yep, it's going to be another painful end of season finish, filled with endless excuses once again.

But the most common denominator is the coach and his inability to get this team steely eyed and hardened, you know with a swagger in attack and a brick wall in defense that other teams fear and loath playing against.

I heard Brooks in an after game interview say words to the effect that they knew Parra were a team that if you put pressure on them and keep coming at them they can fold.

He wasn't wrong.
Ouch! Did Brooks really say that? Thats one hell of a statement from a bashed up club like The Tigpies. Come to think of it, their game plan was not too dissimilar to how The Drags beat us up last year. So even The Tigpies know our Achilles Heel. And BA goes up against another Bestie, Bellamy Wannabe Clone next week. Interesting times.

84 Baby

Ok, I am not in the mood to get into a slanging match or back and forth versions of "War and Peace" discussing this, however I will say a couple of things...

Nowhere have I ever said that our coach has overachieved or is a super coach so no, that is not what I was saying. In fact, I think BA has definitely reached his apex and unless he gets different assistants and can focus on using whatever man management skills he has, then I fear we will not achieve much more than we have for the last couple of seasons.

Mate, you introduced the word "awesome" into the conversation in regard to our squad, not me. I questioned you on whether the whole squad is really "awesome" or whether we have a limited number of strong players (16 or 17 from a squad of 35). Don't now claim that I don't rate our players as highly as I should. FFS, are you telling me you think Kaufusi is an awesome player even though he drops the ball cold at least once per game? What about Opacic, is he an awesome centre in the mold of someone like Staggs or Manu? Is Lane so awesome that he can be lazy at times throughout a game and let in easy tries?

I am not sure why not just you but many posters on here think that this is such a binary issue.
Do you think it might be possible that the players don't always execute the coaches game plan to the letter? Might it be possible that the coaches game plan is sometimes shit and sometimes good enough? What about the possiblity that individual players have momentary lapses in concentration and make mistakes?

I could go on but there isn't really a point is there? I mean the playing squad is awesome and the coach is crap right?
I think the answer to your questions are yes. Or maybe no.

TheRam

With so many injuries there aren’t any better options. Greig is a plodder in defence and Cartwright is unreliable.

Yeah keep them excuses coming mate. It's obvious that defending this clubs failures is your fulltime job.

Mate before the game most experts, Greg Alexander and the whole panel included said that the Tigers could not ambush Parra in this game and yet the somehow did. No one in their right mind would have thought that the Tigers could out play us and yet they did. Not because of the injuries and the players we had out. I mean what, Alexander and the others can't read a team sheet?

No because we are a dumb and useless bunch of imbeciles that have no fu*ken idea, which starts at the top from the coach down. That game yesterday was an absolute shocker and embarrassment. We were playing at home in front of a sellout avalanche home crowd advantage and dominated everywhere but the scoreboard.

Freakin pathetic and to make excuses at this point for this team and the limited coach that is in charge of it is ridiculous and frankly plain stupid.

84 Baby

He wasn't wrong.
Another cracking NRL statement to appease the masses. He may as well have said “Everyone knew if we played better than they did, and kept playing better then we’ll win.”

They were playing us another top 4-6 team not wooden spoon contenders and they were very unlucky. When we learn to ice way more of those style of games against the best teams then I would be more forgiving and put it down to sh*t happens, but we haven't shown consistently that we are a big game, tight game, winning team against the best.
You’ll find tight games are generally fifty fifty. The best teams just don’t tend to find themselves in tight games against the minnows, which is why it doesn’t matter whether they can ice the game. They’ve won it long before the 79th minute.

You’ll note our two games against top four sides were decided on the death and we won one and lost one. Melbourne’s one game that went down to the wire they couldn’t ‘ice’ the game. It doesn’t mean they need a f**king scapegoat. That’s for deadshits who don’t understand randomness. Not everything needs to be part of a narrative ffs

So even further to your point and how dumb this is it that we in essence have basically decided then to play real attacking and enterprising footy with the ball for only 4 tackles during games, is that what you are saying? With the 4th being a settler not much chance of anything directly leading to points and you are allowing the defence to reset and the 6th being a kick/bomb most times giving them back the ball means we play attacking dangerous footy with only 4 tackles of our set of 6 tackles. Sure sometimes we get a positive result from the kicks with all the variables that can come from kicks but mostly we have a settler and kick them the ball in 2 of the 6 tackles in each set. No wonder we so often seem impatient and frantic, most other top teams use all 5 or 6 tackles to really put you under pressure and break your arse with many varied tactics that rarely involve a predictable and wasteful 4th tackle that only advantages your opponent.
And yet only two teams have scored more than we have. Go figure.

Ouch! Did Brooks really say that? Thats one hell of a statement from a bashed up club like The Tigpies. Come to think of it, their game plan was not too dissimilar to how The Drags beat us up last year. So even The Tigpies know our Achilles Heel. And BA goes up against another Bestie, Bellamy Wannabe Clone next week. Interesting times.
If only Bellamy had noticed our weakness he could’ve been undefeated this year.

Yeah keep them excuses coming mate. It's obvious that defending this clubs failures is your fulltime job.

Mate before the game most experts, Greg Alexander and the whole panel included said that the Tigers could not ambush Parra in this game and yet the somehow did. No one in their right mind would have thought that the Tigers could out play us and yet they did. Not because of the injuries and the players we had out. I mean what, Alexander and the others can't read a team sheet?

No because we are a dumb and useless bunch of imbeciles that have no fu*ken idea, which starts at the top from the coach down. That game yesterday was an absolute shocker and embarrassment. We were playing at home in front of a sellout avalanche home crowd advantage and dominated everywhere but the scoreboard.

Freakin pathetic and to make excuses at this point for this team and the limited coach that is in charge of it is ridiculous and frankly plain stupid.
Merkins are shocked because they underrated the Tigers. That’s all. Poor form doesn’t last forever, and we definitely took them lightly. I thought we’d win but I wasn’t confident enough not to put $20 on Wests. They were paying great odds, and anything can happen on the day.

We lost by one point ffs. Get over it.

The point is I measure our team by what the better ones do and they rarely are so predictable and wasteful of their tackles.

Watch the top 2 or 3 teams mate and how they have very few settlers when attacking in the red zone and just as rarely you don't see so many dead men and zombies in the frame.

Development club with no tpas. What do you expect?

Oh so what you are saying is that our coach has overachieved and may even be a super coach. Can't wait till we get some quality players then. We'll probably run out of fingers and toes to count the trophies.

Mate seriously. The the reason you don't rate these guys as highly as you should is because most are underachieving with the way we play. The coaching is rank. Fancy not being able to get in a position to kick a field goal like yesterday and our number 7 complaining about it after the game. How many times do you think Bellamy would tolerate such a basic thing to go awry , especially against a wooden spoon contender?

That is a symptom of the coaches stamp on the team. That last ten minutes of the game should have been practiced and trained for a thousand times for even the 30th player in our squad to be on the same page and know how to work towards the goals and kick the thing.

But we should never have been in that position in the first place with so many bombed try chances that we stuffed up through bad execution and at least 2 by our captain on the left hand side in the first half.

It has nothing to do with the quality of players we have. Watch them mate, it is the execution and confusion that they are so often exhibiting when other teams are rushing them and then they start falling to pieces. They so often don't know what to do about it. That comes down to training those scenarios at as near to games style conditions all the time and even harder and then no matter what the opposition throw at you you can and do deal with it.

Why do you hear that Bellamy's teams train the hardest all the time. The 20th anniversary premiership chooks players on the weekend said that they remember that year they had elevated their training to such a point that they trained harder then the games so when in game no matter what the other teams threw at them they found it less exhausting then their training sessions and could handle it. But even further some of our tactics or decisions during games is mind blowing and not even about fatigue but just wrong and stupid. That again comes down to the coaching and if he can't get them to play smarter then he isn't the man for the job because obviously our spines isn't crap so why can't we play smarter and more purpose in attack and as a unit in defense.

Anyway I think I have seen enough of our team this season and yes there still is a slight chance we may win the premiership if we have a full compliment of players and everything falls into place for us like a Brabury type of win, but realistically I can't see this team with this coach winning 3 or 4 playoff games and the big one while he is in charge.

It will be another one and done......

Another cracking NRL statement to appease the masses. He may as well have said “Everyone knew if we played better than they did, and kept playing better then we’ll win.”
Yep. Information free statements like that are bread and butter to rugby league thinkers.

Untill 2 weeks ago we had gone 14 games without back to back wins.
We have had 4 good games in our last 20 or so games. Two against to Storm and our Semi loss to Penrith along with the win against Saints this season.
The Storm and Penrith game at end of season masked a lot of terrible flaws. We where gash the whole 2nd half of the season bar those performances.
Let's see. I thought we would struggle this season. No reason to change my tune yet

TheRam

Mate that first paragraph was obviously sarcasm and also no clubs entire squad is top notch or that impressive past the top 20 odd at best.

The Roosters and Storms top 20 if that is about it and even the Panthers too. But it is the systems that they all train and play in and the standards that the coaching staff set and that all the players up to the 30th know and can execute well enough if and once called upon depending on their roll and what is expected of them. They don't over complicate it for those types of players and give them a few goals to reach and do very well.

Look at the Storm against the Sharks on the weekend. They had half there regular pack missing and yet they still beat another supposed contender.

Nelson Asofa-Solomona
Harry Grant
Brandon Smith
Felise Kaufusi
Trent Loiero
Josh King

Interchange

Tyran Wishart
Tepai Moeroa
Chris Lewis
Alec MacDonald

Now can you imagine the excuses we would have if we were missing that many quality players from our regular starting forwards? But the systems and standards that Bellamy sets allows for every next player up to exhibit and perform at a level that allows the play makers to still carry out what they do and win even the biggest and hardest games against the highest quality opponents without excuses.

Hell he is even carrying that lump Moeroa ffs and still finding ways to make him productive. But I suppose you think Moeroa is better then our top 18-30 players too even though we dumped him and he was languishing in Rugby and then in limbo until Bellamy took him in and reset him to do a specific set of tasks and perform as certain roll that he can handle and be beneficial to the team.

Great coaching breaks down every players game to bits and gets them to perform what they can do to the best of their abilities. Our players are still lost when it counts and fall out of structure way to often. That is a coaching thing not a player thing, unless you are for example someone like James Roberts that has mental issues and demons, but those sorts of players are rarer and only certain styles of coaches can get the best out of them and generally only for a short period of time before the lose focus again and go missing.

But for the most part Good to great coaches just need a high calibre spine and some hard nosed forwards up front to be a semi contender and and a couple of speedsters and or flashy players and you have a genuine premiership contender. Look at the Sharks as exhibit A as far as getting their spine in order and forwards right, they have become a genuine top 6-4 team as long as they are healthy and in a couple of years as they get better and bed everything down and add a player or to they will be a genuine title contender too.

Sure the players aren't concentrating for the full game and not executing the game plan the coach has set out, but it his job to make sure that they do. The players we have are way better then the Tigers for example and yet we allowed them to dictate terms. No one gave the Tiger a chance before the game for a reason. Our roster blows their away.

Coaching is the difference when that happens as often as it does with our team.