Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

No they knew that we can fold if they stayed in our face and we did even though we dominated them. We panicked. As simple as that. Well coached teams don't fall apart like that against mediocre opposition.
You reckon Bellamy has never lost a game to a weak team?

I’ll be backing our opponents every week down the final stretch. But also I think we’ll finish anywhere from 3rd to 6th. If we miss the finals it must be because Arthur can’t coach and finally stopped being lucky.
No it will be because of our world famous soft underbelly.

est. 1987

eels_fan

Seems our defensive resolve has dropped considerably. No so much in our red zone where I feel we are still decent (albeit impacted by a multitude of injuries in our backline). We appear however to be constantly found out for numbers on spreads even deep in the opposition half, and through the middle. I’d say our ineffective tackle/drops off are up considerably

the good thing is we know these same players can be much better in that area so it can be resolved.

our 2 losses have both come in the final 30 seconds of each match, so I’m not overly concerned, just frustrated that we really should be 6/6

TheRam

So what was their excuse for losing to us?

No excuses. They expected to win and they didn't on that occasion. But they don't make excuses. Next time if they are healthy they probably win. Teams that repeatedly make GF's and win some, don't look for excuses when they fall short in games they fix it and then move forward and actually improve and win.

That is what well coached teams do.

TheRam

Agreed, they have a smaller, faster pack that is better suited to the current rules. I expect the rebuild of our pack to focus on these type of player. But ultimately both teams settle to the middle on tackle four. If you’ve got criticisms of why our slower, lazier forwards don’t work as hard off the ball during tackles zero to three that’s a separate issue. I was only responding to your claim that settling on tackle four is poor coaching. You’re conflating two different things because you’re a simpleton looking for a scapegoat.

We don't lose games because our forwards are to lazy or slow mate. We lose because we don't know what we are doing in attack at times and our defense is sus at times. If our forwards are powerful and awesome enough to dominate and make the yardage that that do in games, what all of a sudden they are gassed and can't run a few metres in the red zone and play a part in our attacking structures?

Blow that out of your clacker mate. Look at the size of the Storm when fully fit. Hardly small. We are lost and devoid of ideas when confronted with a solid defense in the red zone. It is as simple as that and the 4th tackle option we have is only making it worse not better.

My scapegoat it the coach. He has been at the helm for more then enough seasons now to have fixed this and yet same old same old. How long do you persist without seeing any real improvement to our attack and defensive structures? Eventually we will see a disillusioned squad that will lose faith and start to flounder and some will be looking for the exits and try their luck somewhere else like we have seen way to many times before.

After a while of not having genuine success, a club starts to smell and considered a no go zone for premierships. The bears had this and now I fear we have this smell about us too.

84 Baby

No they knew that we can fold if they stayed in our face and we did even though we dominated them. We panicked. As simple as that. Well coached teams don't fall apart like that against mediocre opposition.
Find and replace “we” with “any losing team ever in the history of the sport”.
It’s a sport where controlled aggression is a massive factor in who wins.
They weren’t even more aggressive, as you said we dominated. They were more disciplined.
And we folded so hard that we scored the last 2 tries.
Rugba leeg - a simple sport, played by simple people, analysed by simple people.

lucablight

You’ll find tight games are generally fifty fifty. The best teams just don’t tend to find themselves in tight games against the minnows, which is why it doesn’t matter whether they can ice the game. They’ve won it long before the 79th minute.

You’ll note our two games against top four sides were decided on the death and we won one and lost one. Melbourne’s one game that went down to the wire they couldn’t ‘ice’ the game. It doesn’t mean they need a f**king scapegoat. That’s for deadshits who don’t understand randomness. Not everything needs to be part of a narrative ffs
Every NRL match $1.90 both teams head to head confirmed.

Do you even have a spare $100?
I’ll put it on the credit card. By which I mean I’ll use my GEM Visa card with 27% interest to buy something from the Good Guys for $500 so I can sell it to Cash Converters for a hundred. But I’m pretty confident we’re going to win so none of that will matter.

Every NRL match $1.90 both teams head to head confirmed.
I was talking about games decided by a converted try or less rather than games between two evenly matched teams. Even money games aren’t always close because luck is a factor in every game. The better team doesn’t win every time, they just win more often.

TheRam

You reckon Bellamy has never lost a game to a weak team?

When he has a high quality roaster that many consider a premiership contender that regularly loses or plays really poorly against crappy teams and doesn't make GF's or win premierships at least once every 5 seasons then I may consider your question.

Don’t change the subject merkin. This is about the Tigers game whereas you’re trying to make it about something else. Bellamy’s side is near the top of the table with a huge positive differential just about every year. We haven’t done that in 17 years regardless of the coach, CEO or board.

As for losing to the Tigers yesterday, if our squad was as strong as the Storm or even the Panthers we could’ve taken them lightly and still won. As it is we’ve been complacent since half time of the Titans game and lost two of our last three halves of footy. It’s not good but we aren’t underperforming. We are still in the top four and have scored heaps of points.

Don’t change the subject merkin. This is about the Tigers game whereas you’re trying to make it about something else. Bellamy’s side is near the top of the table with a huge positive differential just about every year. We haven’t done that in 17 years regardless of the coach, CEO or board.

As for losing to the Tigers yesterday, if our squad was as strong as the Storm or even the Panthers we could’ve taken them lightly and still won. As it is we’ve been complacent since half time of the Titans game and lost two of our last three halves of footy. It’s not good but we aren’t underperforming. We are still in the top four and have scored heaps of points.

What the hell do you even do at work? You are on here all day

TheRam

Do you think we’ll be complacent next week?

Complacency was not our problem. Patience and execution were. The trait and thing quality and experienced spines and leadership players should rarely and almost never have happen on their watch, especially against crappy teams. That can only be due to coaching standards or quality in the message is not being heard.

We keep seeing these failure way to often to keep blaming quality representative players that should be able to execute better and more consistently. The coach has reached his used by date and the leadership group whether they know it or not need a change and new voice to take them to the next level. This coach is squeezed dry. He has nothing left to give. 9 seasons of the same average coach is a long time and not really a smart thing to let happen to a club. He isn't a super coach that can keep things constantly fresh and interesting and he keeps his assistants for way to long without seeing great year in, year out improvements . Yes I know that we have a different roster of players now to what we had when he first started, but the roaster now is much the same for around 4-5 years and I bet there are some fairly bored players at training going through the motions.

It happens look at the Cowboys with Neil Henry, even with Thurston in the team, he couldn't get them to the next level, they needed a change and new voice with new stimulating ideas.

Enter Paul Green, not a super coach but a decent one with a fresh new approach and he got them over the hump and a premiership happened. We are in a very similar situation, but I fear we have kept our average coach a season or two to long now and we will probably miss our window.

Typical Parra stuff always that little bit to late to the ball.

Gazzamatta

We don't lose games because our forwards are to lazy or slow mate. We lose because we don't know what we are doing in attack at times and our defense is sus at times. If our forwards are powerful and awesome enough to dominate and make the yardage that that do in games, what all of a sudden they are gassed and can't run a few metres in the red zone and play a part in our attacking structures?

Blow that out of your clacker mate. Look at the size of the Storm when fully fit. Hardly small. We are lost and devoid of ideas when confronted with a solid defense in the red zone. It is as simple as that and the 4th tackle option we have is only making it worse not better.

My scapegoat it the coach. He has been at the helm for more then enough seasons now to have fixed this and yet same old same old. How long do you persist without seeing any real improvement to our attack and defensive structures? Eventually we will see a disillusioned squad that will lose faith and start to flounder and some will be looking for the exits and try their luck somewhere else like we have seen way to many times before.

After a while of not having genuine success, a club starts to smell and considered a no go zone for premierships. The bears had this and now I fear we have this smell about us too.
Strong carries and powerful forwards need to be in conjunction with quick PTBs. Ours are diabolically slow and have been forever. Never urgency to get to their feet other than the odd occasion. The only time we are quick after a tackle is when we are defending and give the opposition an advantage by peeling off the tackled player all at once. Sure thats the rule but watch other teams. Nobody else does it. Its why we have players left on the ground so often. Ffs someone fit it. Please hire Ciraldo.