Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

T.S Quint

Surely they are questioning their decisions. Will be a while until they know if they have made the right choice.

I reckon them signing with their respective clubs has nothing to do with who the coach is/was.

I’d say money was the motivating factor for them (or a return home for Marata). The chances of them going back on their decisions is pretty slim.

Incorrect

I reckon them signing with their respective clubs has nothing to do with who the coach is/was.

I’d say money was the motivating factor for them (or a return home for Marata). The chances of them going back on their decisions is pretty slim.
Agreed. I imagine if Parra were to somehow magically match the same terms, conditions and $$'s as the deals they had for 2023 and beyond, they'd be happy to exercise any get out clause and stay but the reality is, if the dollars aren't the same, they're not entertaining any thoughts of trying to stay at Parra...

King-Gutho94

At the end of the day they all made their choice. No one forced them to make a decision in November 2021 for season 2023.

They could have waited 6 months and made a decision then and seen what the landscape was.

What did they expect when going to a shit club. You are going to see some turmoil.

The most surprising one was Papali'i actually he come from an basketcase of a club so he would know what its like to play for one so i was shocked he would go back to another one in the tigers 2 years later.

Tigers offered him a deal he simply couldn't refuse.

At the end of the day they all made their choice. No one forced them to make a decision in November 2021 for season 2023.

They could have waited 6 months and made a decision then and seen what the landscape was.

What did they expect when going to a shit club. You are going to see some turmoil.

The most surprising one was Papali'i actually he come from an basketcase of a club so he would know what its like to play for one so i was shocked he would go back to another one in the tigers 2 years later.

You don’t sign with a rival in the first week of November unless the offer is too good to be true.

Gazzamatta

Api, Ice next year. Douhi returning. Brooks probably gone. Ciraldo coming on board and bringing a few Panther Cubs with him. Sheens developing in his role. Improvement coming. Hang in Tigpies fans.

eels_fan

IS MOSES READY TO LEAD EELS TO HOLY GRAIL?

The other best rumour doing the rounds this week was linking Mitchell Moses to a possible switch to the Bulldogs, that is if Brad Fittler was to take over as coach.

It’s obviously loosely based on the fact Freddy and Moses have a great relationship going back to their time together with Lebanon.

Though the odds of it happening are probably about a million to one given Freddy has given no indication he wants to take on a head coaching position after Origin.

But currently the TAB has a much safer bet with the Eels paying $8 to win this year’s premiership.

And this is the other big story that will unfold over the coming months, because while Parramatta has shown it can beat Melbourne and Penrith in the regular season, they now need to prove it when it matters most.

Which is why it’s now Moses’ time to deliver.

At 27, he is now ranked just behind Nathan Cleary in the next line of outstanding playmakers, up with the likes of Jahrome Hughes, Daly Cherry-Evans and Adam Reynolds on a week-to-week basis.

But history always judges No 7s on what they do at the back-end of seasons, not the start.

yy_cheng

Not really, alot of them take the money to provide for their families.

Yes you've mentioned this. But what you need to consider is a lot of people wouldn't. Reason being if they are on great money already. Lets say Moses is on 900k at Parra. 1 mill isn't a huge upgrade. 100k after TAX MAY MEAN 60K.
When he is going to pocket perhaps 600k or 660k or over 3 yrs. 1.8 mill or 1.98 mill. Either is a huge amount regardless.
Much different to a guy who earn 75k a year and offered 120k.
Especially if you are happy and have made a lot already which Moses has. He has been on a large amount of money since he was 19. By 21 he has been on over 750k I would assume or more.

Yes you've mentioned this. But what you need to consider is a lot of people wouldn't. Reason being if they are on great money already. Lets say Moses is on 900k at Parra. 1 mill isn't a huge upgrade. 100k after TAX MAY MEAN 60K.
When he is going to pocket perhaps 600k or 660k or over 3 yrs. 1.8 mill or 1.98 mill. Either is a huge amount regardless.
Especially if you are happy and have made a lot already which Moses has. He has been on a large amount of money since he was 19. By 21 he has been on over 750k I would assume or more.

True.

But as the saying goes - "greed is good."

And I think the more money one makes, the more money one wishes to make....

yy_cheng

It is better to take the money now. You might get injured tomorrow.

In regards to tax, buy a bucket load of investment properties and negative gear to get your tax down

How a good accountant

True.

But as the saying goes - "greed is good."

And I think the more money one makes, the more money one wishes to make....

I know plenty of friends who turn down bette praying jobs cause they can live they lifestyle they like with what earn and are happy. I'm unsure why everyone think that all individuals will just change for extra money. I know heaps of sparkys who could get an extra 20k a year but don't.

It is better to take the money now. You might get injured tomorrow.

In regards to tax, buy a bucket load of investment properties and negative gear to get your tax down

How a good accountant

Sure. My point is if we offered him 900k and the Warriors offered 1 mill for same length of time. Why do people think that everyone would go? Actually I reckon 70% of players would prefer 900k at Parra then 1 mill at a shit club.

yy_cheng

I know plenty of friends who turn down bette praying jobs cause they can live they lifestyle they like with what earn and are happy. I'm unsure why everyone think that all individuals will just change for extra money. I know heaps of sparkys who could get an extra 20k a year but don't.
That's different I reckon. A footy players career is relatively short.

yy_cheng

Sure. My point is if we offered him 900k and the Warriors offered 1 mill for same length of time. Why do people think that everyone would go? Actually I reckon 70% of players would prefer 900k at Parra then 1 mill at a shit club.
That I agree with

Like matto. If we are just a little short in relations to flipper money. It's better to stay at parra. Wins for mental health. $$ from being a representative

That's different I reckon. A footy players career is relatively short.

Not really. It is all relative. I've mentioned this before. Yes a player on under 250k is going to have to chase the best deal. But guys on over 300k can afford to be a little more flexible due to the fact they are making silly amounts of money already.
I'm not suggesting a thing they will stay for half but 10-15% is certainly possible.