Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Well.....he didn't have to 'retire' to help us out this year. Without knowing what is in his deed of release it's impossible to say.
He retired because he was busted, he would be still be playing if he could. This retire to help us out BS is laughable. He was here for money no other reason.

I reckon he'd still be needling up dragging shit along sitting on the sidelines most of the time, chewing up a big wad of our cap

He was happy to get his money via the retirement insurance ... and we were just as happy to try and use him to satisfy dipshit todd's demands ... in the end the whole thing was rushed and came unstuck ... watmough probably should have taken more time to ensure it would all work out ... but our club was keen to sort its mess out quick, and the nrl wanted to try and back up their bullshit "powerhouse" talk ... in the end i would say watmough was screwed over a bit trying to fit the salary cap penalty timetable ... i think our club needs to show a bit of loyalty now ... cos if it drags out we are at risk of looking like a pack of merkins to agents and players

Watmough's body screwed him over, no one else has.

To expect to be paid for an option year you can't take up because your body is rooted is a bit rich IMO. Especially when he has already got paid all this season and next without stepping onto the field.

I get the argument about not taking up the 2018 option cos you arent physically up to it .... but the reality is, if he hadnt rushed the retirement at the time, they probably would have thought a bit harder and seen that 2018 money being lost and in all likelihood he may have hung in their, playing injured a little but mostly sitting on the sidelines chewing up cap

The whole thing has done us a massive favour from a footy point of view ... i think we need to realise that

Media reports have us stopped paying him for 2017 in an attempt to play hardball over the disputed 2018 .... not a good look imo

He's been busted for years and still gave everything he had. The only reason he retired was because he was promised he'd still get paid. And everyone who works hard and is good at something valuable gets paid well for it. Watmough has about a dozen kids to three or four different women. He needs all the cash he can get. You'd do no different to secure what you believed was yours.

Like you I hope we don't have to pay him but you should be able to see his point of view. He retired to help us out and now looks like missing out on a year's salary he intended to pick up. We know he can play injured - in his last half dozen games for us he ran for over 680 metres.

Shame that Watmerkin didn't get pinged for 2nd strike cocaine as well.

Ray Donovan would never have let it get this far. Learn from this Bernie FFS.

I heard on the radio that the Sharks want to sign Barba for 350K less than what he was on. Well played, Sharkies.

He's been busted for years and still gave everything he had. The only reason he retired was because he was promised he'd still get paid. And everyone who works hard and is good at something valuable gets paid well for it. Watmough has about a dozen kids to three or four different women. He needs all the cash he can get. You'd do no different to secure what you believed was yours.

Like you I hope we don't have to pay him but you should be able to see his point of view. He retired to help us out and now looks like missing out on a year's salary he intended to pick up. We know he can play injured - in his last half dozen games for us he ran for over 680 metres.
He's retired because his body is finished, if he was the great competitor you claim and the leader we needed he would be on the field if he could. He only came here for the money and his behaviour since his injury has shown that's all he was about. But go on and tell us what a great buy he was :joy:

Ponga would not fit into our team, he wont play FB as French has a mortgage on that according to BA.

Gutho is our No 6 at this stage with a possibility of Hunt coming in.

Seriously, where would he play not to mention the money he would command.

He just doesn't fit for mine.

And we offered him $$ over a period longer than his likely useful playing life.

I'll say it again. Unless you know what is in his deed of release, then you don't know what he has been agreed in the past. We don't know what (if any) terms in the agreement were conditional on insurance pay outs, and what provision there is in the deed for what happens in the case of insurance being rejected.

He's retired because his body is finished, if he was the great competitor you claim and the leader we needed he would be on the field if he could. He only came here for the money and his behaviour since his injury has shown that's all he was about. But go on and tell us what a great buy he was :joy:
Plenty of leaders are all about the money. It's not their motivation that makes them leaders, it's their personality traits. NRL players are mercenaries. Why should their leaders be any different? You need to get the romantic ideas out of your head. You think the Australian captain isn't motivated by money?

He's not out in the field because we needed him off our salary cap. He agreed to it because he would still get paid.

Dibs

If he comes back to training they should spike his water bottle, or just give him some peptides then anonymously call asada