Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Incorrect

Yeah why not. He was caught but I would be suprised if other players hadn't boosted themself and not been caught.
Someone will sign him. A real talent.
Yes but there's been plenty of smoke around this guy when he was coming through the juniors.... Was he only "talented" because of the gear?

I'd be steering clear. He looks more suited to WWE now anyway...

You don’t want him at our club because of principles ?

You are reading this wrong. The tigers have the option to enforce the contract. It’s their business decision.
Read what wrong?? Seriously lol.

Everyone on here fapped over not matching a shit club like the Tigers offer. we lowballed him and then everyone said what shrewd management lol. Now we are all happy to offer him Tigers dollars?? I’d love him to stay but I’d rather we keep our halves more.

We could of gotten him for low 500’s if we didn’t try and lowball him in the first place.

“LuCkY wE aReN’t TiGeR’s”

Should we give them back Matto too? He pressured them to break his contract early and get out.
They could of kept him, they were within their rights. They decided it would be better to let him go, but Papa hasn’t even arrived there yet and he’s deciding not wanting to go. So he will now get his Tigers money and get to stay at a stronger club . Pretty f**ked all round if you ask me. I’d love him to stay but I’d love to keep Brown and Moses even more. Does paying Papa Tigers dollars put that at risk???

Everyone on here fapped over not matching a shit club like the Tigers offer. we lowballed him and then everyone said what shrewd management lol. Now we are all happy to offer him Tigers dollars?? I’d love him to stay but I’d rather we keep our halves more.

We could of gotten him for low 500’s if we didn’t try and lowball him in the first place.

Others might wish to tell me if I have got this arse up, but it seems to me that you want us to lose him so you have ammunition against the club next year. Gee it's almost you are gloating that we lost a player and want it to eventuate. Weird.

King-Gutho94

Stop sounding like Pou mate thats what he said when we didnt offer tigers money to papa.

They could of kept him, they were within their rights. They decided it would be better to let him go, but Papa hasn’t even arrived there yet and he’s deciding not wanting to go. So he will now get his Tigers money and get to stay at a stronger club . Pretty f**ked all round if you ask me. I’d love him to stay but I’d love to keep Brown and Moses even more. Does paying Papa Tigers dollars put that at risk???

I'd imagine we would balance our cap with money allocated for positions.

Most likely group as

The backs 2-5
The Spine
Middle forwards
Edge forwards
3 or 4 genuine back ups outside 17

Most likely we can only afford a cheap hooker. That's sometimes how it goes as spine is expensive.

Middles pretty stacked and not a lot of room if any for next 3yrs bar back ups

We would have money for the edge to spend 100%

We would have money for our backs to spend

Not retaining Moses or Brown will probably mean we target a better hooker and bench players. I doubt it effects Ice.

yy_cheng

They should introduce a transfer fee which goes under the payer's cap to make it harder for players to wiggle out.

So like 30% on the 1st year. So if Paps is getting $600k at Tiges next year and we want him.

So if we sign him, we have to pay $180k to the Tigers which goes under our 2023 cap on top of what we pay paps.

Paps can take less up to the 30% so say we pay him $420k first year (but $600k under our cap) and then $600k for subsequent years. Of course Paps might want $450k for the first year, so we are then paying out $620k which will be against our cap.

A bit like the reverse of when a club doesnt want a player and pays for his salary (Waqas, RCG) and it goes under the cap of the club that doesnt want them. in this case panfers

oldmancraigy

Wa

who knows it?it up - how do you know he hasn't changed his mind and wants to stay for low 500s?

Perhaps he has realised he has a nice combination with Mitch, and footy is more fun when you are winning

Or maybe an "independent" party offered him 50-60k in a paper bag to stay....

Cloeel

Tigers chairman spoke about papali'i this morning.

Didn't really add much other then they expect Papa to join next year.

Papalii needs to go. He signed the contract.

At the time of negotiations we made the educated decision not to sign him for the money he was demanding. Why should that change now?

Papalii has been great. When Papalii leaves I'm sure a more cost affective option will take his place and do a fine job for a fraction of the cost.

King-Gutho94

At the time of negotiations we made the educated decision not to sign him for the money he was demanding. Why should that change now?

Papalii has been great. When Papalii leaves I'm sure a more cost affective option will take his place and do a fine job for a fraction of the cost.
Yeah if he stays great.

But at the end of the day Papa knew what he was walking into. Its not the like tigers had a gun to his head you must sign for us 2023 in bloody November 2021. 18 months before the season starts.

Its why that rule is absolutely ridiculous.

And it wasn't like Madge was a stoneclad guarantee to be there still he was under pressure this time last year and lucky to avoid the axe.

Optimistic thinking. He is worth 500k.
We may get very lucky and find another diamond in the rough but for everyone one of those you have 2 or 3 Cartwrights.
Our best option now would be seeing who is available for around 500k or a young kid with upside.
Trey Mooney and Topine from Dogs might be good projects.
Worse case we throw Matterson wide. I don't like it cause he is best at 13 in the middle and playing the Yeo style role. But Hopgood is the fotm player in NSW CUP so it's probably most logical.

King-Gutho94

We may get very lucky and find another diamond in the rough but for everyone one of those you have 2 or 3 Cartwrights.
Our best option now would be seeing who is available for around 500k or a young kid with upside.
Worse case we throw Matterson wide. I don't like it cause he is best at 13 in the middle and playing the Yeo style role. But Hopgood is the fotm player in NSW CUP so it's probably most logical.
Hopgood will start off the bench i reckon before working his way into the starting team next year.

I think Papali'i like myself expected the Tigers to start improving this season. They had some solid players coming and I expected them to be going better.
I'd imagine if Papali'i does go and Korisau they'll make some noise.
A spine with Korisau,Lauria,Hastings,Douhei is quite strong.
Stefano has missed most the season and will be huge with Papali'i. Wouldn't suprise if made finals. But at sametime Papali'i might be thinking this clubs going nowhere. It's a shambles.
I disagree. I don't think they are far off and could be better then the Bulldogs build.

TheRam

I reckon Johns is good at teaching specific things like kick techniques but tactics wise be all over the shop and confuse his mentees.
Also I reckon Drown is full of shit. He’s just playing up his aloofness to football. He’d watch a ton of football.

Maybe maybe not. I think that many young players(people) think it is cool to ignore history, old people, music older then they are and think that being a footy nerd isn't cool.

Problem with all of that, it is making them lesser people and actually can be detrimental to their careers. They want to seem weird and edgy so no one can define them. Being put in a box as a footy head would be like death to their street cred and how they want girls to perceive them. It's all about how your peers view you and especially the chicks, man!

No kid today wants to be seen as plain and transparent. There needs to be mystery and layers to a complex, magnetic character and mind. With Dylan we can see some of this type of intent in that interview he did with Jake Duke the other day where he on numerous occasions kept telling us that he was a bit weird and that his mates think that he is a bit weird and that he just isn't your average bear. So when Jake finally quizzed him on why he thinks he is weird? Dylan had no real answer other then he liked some space, which is hardly surprising or weird considering he grew up in a rural area of NZ. Oh and that he did some key cutting course for six months. Yeah a real out of the box edgy avant-garde individual our Dylan is. Jeez so hard to work out. What will he do next. If I was a woman I'd have a wide-on the size of the NZ Sounds and be just as wet.

Sorry to be so facetious, but I have had it with all the bogus nonsense so many young people say and do. They are as predictable as we were. It is called rebelling and trying to standout to impress your mates and peers, but especially the girls. But this don't label me dude bullsh*t has gone to another level and sorry, but I've got news for this latest generation, labels is what we all do and gen Z is labeled as boring wannabes that are as dumb as rocks by this old man.

The point is though that many youths today will go out of their way to not conform to our older ideas, traditions and behaviours for fear of being labeled and that is an anathema to their cool existence. Dylan is no different and as an example, probably needs to be made to watch every game otherwise he will ignore a part of his football education and development until he gets a little more mature and realises there is much to gain by doing so, but that will be precious time lost that players like Cleary haven't.

He and others at our club need the mentor-buddy system in place. It can only be a positive for our club.

Cloeel

You have to be optimistic, just like when we originally signed Papalii - optimism paid off and he has been a bargain for us.

We rely less on optimism when junior pathways and recruitment is strong. We should be backing our decisions not to re-sign someone if it impacts our squad balance and backing ourselves to sign or produce the next Papalii. Not jumping at the opportunity of Papalii backflipping (Weak club mentality).

If a player leaves for more money they leave, that is it. It is now time to bring up the next eligible candidate on the production line and provide them with the responsibility and resources to get the job done. Similar to taking a Chick back because you can't find something better - just work harder and pump more resources into our organisation and the talent will naturally come.

Wa

who knows it?it up - how do you know he hasn't changed his mind and wants to stay for low 500s?

Perhaps he has realised he has a nice combination with Mitch, and footy is more fun when you are winning

Or maybe an "independent" party offered him 50-60k in a paper bag to stay....
We can’t get him for less, he has to be payed on what he was signed with by the Tigers or I doubt the NRL would allow it.