Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Hopgood will start off the bench i reckon before working his way into the starting team next year.

There is also Rodwell but I see him being more 18th man. Playing lots of games but not in our best 17.

Forwards departing

Stone,Kafusi,Papali'i,Marata. N.Brown is also possible.Id imagine if he does we would end up with 250-300k to spend. That gets a top 17 player.

We probably have signed one genuine nrl option in Hopgood. How ready are Grieg and Ogden?
I reckon the young kid Matale might be priortised and fast tracked into NRL.

Cloeel

I think Papali'i like myself expected the Tigers to start improving this season. They had some solid players coming and I expected them to be going better.
I'd imagine if Papali'i does go and Korisau they'll make some noise.
A spine with Korisau,Lauria,Hastings,Douhei is quite strong.
Stefano has missed most the season and will be huge with Papali'i. Wouldn't suprise if made finals. But at sametime Papali'i might be thinking this clubs going nowhere. It's a shambles.
I disagree. I don't think they are far off and could be better then the Bulldogs build.

I doubt Papalii looked that deeply into mate.

It was all about the $$$ hence why he is being so flakey now that the reality is setting in.

King-Gutho94

I think Papali'i like myself expected the Tigers to start improving this season. They had some solid players coming and I expected them to be going better.
Stefano has missed most the season and will be huge with Papali'i. Wouldn't suprise if made finals. But at sametime Papali'i might be thinking this clubs going nowhere. It's a shambles.
I disagree. I don't think they are far off and could be better then the Bulldogs build.
I dont think so.

Dogs will be better and finish higher they have more top end elite talent.

The tigers need to cut Brooks loose until that happens they are carrying 1.2 million on the cap of his deadweight.

Hastings is already being pushed aside already.

Will Api be as strong next year hanging around a bunch of losers. Especially as he already won 2 comps will he be motivated once the going gets tough.

Also Tim Sheens is 72 next year and hasn't coached in the NRL for 10 years and i think got sacked twice in Super League for poor results. Not a great ringing endorsement. Plus i think the reason Sheens is there for 2 years is to rebuild so Benji can take over a finals roster.

Others might wish to tell me if I have got this arse up, but it seems to me that you want us to lose him so you have ammunition against the club next year. Gee it's almost you are gloating that we lost a player and want it to eventuate. Weird.
Seriously I think you have comprehension issues. You still haven’t answered the question are you happy to gave him here on Tigers dollars?? You were happy we didn’t match their offer now we are about to offer the same money you are also happy about it??? The club can never do any wrong in your eyes “EvAR”

Of course I’d be happy for him to stay you Tit, but does it put our cap out whack??

Anyone know what happened to Morretti. Not listed as injured but barely played since mid season. Some people rated him. Seems to of had a disrupted and poor season.

I still think Hands could become a decent utility. Yates seems flat out getting into the NSW cup squad.

Seriously I think you have comprehension issues. You still haven’t answered the question are you happy to gave him here on Tigers dollars?? You were happy we didn’t match their offer now we are about to offer the same money you are also happy about it??? The club can never do any wrong in your eyes “EvAR”

Of course I’d be happy for him to stay you Tit, but does it put our cap out whack??
He's the form edge backrower in the comp apart from Lane. What are Tiger dollars ? How much is too much ?

Anyone know what happened to Morretti. Not listed as injured but barely played since mid season. Some people rated him. Seems to of had a disrupted and poor season.

I still think Hands could become a decent utility. Yates seems flat out getting into the NSW cup squad.
NSW cup never list injuries.

I dont think so.

Dogs will be better and finish higher they have more top end elite talent.

The tigers need to cut Brooks loose until that happens they are carrying 1.2 million on the cap of his deadweight.

Hastings is already being pushed aside already.

Will Api be as strong next year hanging around a bunch of losers. Especially as he already won 2 comps will he be motivated once the going gets tough.

Also Tim Sheens is 72 next year and hasn't coached in the NRL for 10 years and i think got sacked twice in Super League for poor results. Not a great ringing endorsement. Plus i think the reason Sheens is there for 2 years is to rebuild so Benji can take over a finals roster.

Dogs gain Mahoney and Kikau. They lose Vaughn and JMK. Two of their better players this season.
Who has the better spine?

Laurie vs Averilo
Douhei vs Burton
Hastings vs Flannagan
Korisau vs Mahoney

Dogs have a fair backline but it's far from elite bar JAC who is having an outstanding season.
The packs solid with KIKAU and TPJ. Who else?
Jackson's an old man. Sutton's just ok. Fariner Mariner is good but hardly a star.

Tigers with Papali'i and Stefano added to the pack will be pretty tough. Tigers need another forward and a quality back and will be a decent side

yy_cheng

And with Sheens and Benji at the helm. I think they will come good

He's the form edge backrower in the comp apart from Lane. What are Tiger dollars ? How much is too much ?
He was the form back rower of the comp last year when we low balled him. I reckon he’s worth 600k on the open market. But I’d he worth 600k to us?? Because that’s what we’ll have to pay him.

Tiger Dollars are a shit club tax, we used to pay it why are we paying it now?? And why are you happy for the club too???

yy_cheng

There is also Rodwell but I see him being more 18th man. Playing lots of games but not in our best 17.

Forwards departing

Stone,Kafusi,Papali'i,Marata. N.Brown is also possible.Id imagine if he does we would end up with 250-300k to spend. That gets a top 17 player.

We probably have signed one genuine nrl option in Hopgood. How ready are Grieg and Ogden?
Anyone watch enough NSW cup?

I understand Eli is an edge, what about Cini as an edge? He looks like a big lump of a kid

He was the form back rower of the comp last year when we low balled him. I reckon he’s worth 600k on the open market. But I’d he worth 600k to us?? Because that’s what we’ll have to pay him.

Tiger Dollars are a shit club tax, we used to pay it why are we paying it now?? And why are you happy for the club too???
You're back on punishing the club because of what you read in the papers. Do you want him at the club or not ? All of a sudden you are worried about balancing the cap ? We would have to be the most conservative cap managers in the comp. What makes you think now that we all of a sudden will get it wrong ?

TheRam

Nearly every side uses 16 players. The 17th man gets less then 10 mins often. I am fine with the f a ct we have a very strong starting pack and try and get extra minutes from them.

This is a major reason why I think we won't win the GF. RCG and Paulo need less minutes. Sure they can do extra time then they themselves would prefer, but over a long season and now what 3 seasons of this type of long minutes from them it is catching up. We are yo-yoing more then usual because of it. With N. Brown now losing form and out of the team it has only exasperated it. We desperately needed to sign another decent quality middle forward before the deadline and we blew it. Look at what Lodge has done for the Roosters. We could only now look on with envy as to what a player like him would have done for our player rotation and maintaining the rage.

Our team lives and dies on the ferocity and momentum that our two big boppers create. If either of them is down a little the team then suffers for it and we start to play way to laterally and without real purpose not to mention we lose the ruck. Lets hope somehow we can rest these guys during games more then we currently have and if we are real lucky maybe even give them a game off before the finals, but I doubt that will be an option considering our ladder predicament.

Watch from around 3.50 mark.

Read what wrong?? Seriously lol.

Everyone on here fapped over not matching a shit club like the Tigers offer. we lowballed him and then everyone said what shrewd management lol. Now we are all happy to offer him Tigers dollars?? I’d love him to stay but I’d rather we keep our halves more.

We could of gotten him for low 500’s if we didn’t try and lowball him in the first place.

“LuCkY wE aReN’t TiGeR’s”
I think he’s worth more more than when he signed with the Tigers. Back then he hadn’t shown enough for long enough. It was risky paying him like a proven star. Look at Mahoney and Niukore. The Bulldogs and Warriors likely paid too much.

That said, f**k him.

Joshuatheeel

Forwards departing

We have the knights dude too, probably a fair chance of being an edge option.

84 Baby

Maybe maybe not. I think that many young players(people) think it is cool to ignore history, old people, music older then they are and think that being a footy nerd isn't cool.

Problem with all of that, it is making them lesser people and actually can be detrimental to their careers. They want to seem weird and edgy so no one can define them. Being put in a box as a footy head would be like death to their street cred and how they want girls to perceive them. It's all about how your peers view you and especially the chicks, man!

No kid today wants to be seen as plain and transparent. There needs to be mystery and layers to a complex, magnetic character and mind. With Dylan we can see some of this type of intent in that interview he did with Jake Duke the other day where he on numerous occasions kept telling us that he was a bit weird and that his mates think that he is a bit weird and that he just isn't your average bear. So when Jake finally quizzed him on why he thinks he is weird? Dylan had no real answer other then he liked some space, which is hardly surprising or weird considering he grew up in a rural area of NZ. Oh and that he did some key cutting course for six months. Yeah a real out of the box edgy avant-garde individual our Dylan is. Jeez so hard to work out. What will he do next. If I was a woman I'd have a wide-on the size of the NZ Sounds and be just as wet.

Sorry to be so facetious, but I have had it with all the bogus nonsense so many young people say and do. They are as predictable as we were. It is called rebelling and trying to standout to impress your mates and peers, but especially the girls. But this don't label me dude bullsh*t has gone to another level and sorry, but I've got news for this latest generation, labels is what we all do and gen Z is labeled as boring wannabes that are as dumb as rocks by this old man.

The point is though that many youths today will go out of their way to not conform to our older ideas, traditions and behaviours for fear of being labeled and that is an anathema to their cool existence. Dylan is no different and as an example, probably needs to be made to watch every game otherwise he will ignore a part of his football education and development until he gets a little more mature and realises there is much to gain by doing so, but that will be precious time lost that players like Cleary haven't.

He and others at our club need the mentor-buddy system in place. It can only be a positive for our club.
shaun-of-the-dead-simon-pegg.gif

You're back on punishing the club because of what you read in the papers. Do you want him at the club or not ? All of a sudden you are worried about balancing the cap ? We would have to be the most conservative cap managers in the comp. What makes you think now that we all of a sudden will get it wrong ?
Must defend club no matter what……….

Keep walking down both sides of that street gronky….. 🤓🥸🤓🥸

We can’t get him for less, he has to be payed on what he was signed with by the Tigers or I doubt the NRL would allow it.
Untrue. All we need to pay him is what he agreed to sign for. All the Tigers need to pay is whatever payout they agree on to let him go, which in this case you’d think would be zero. It’s not like he’s underperforming and they want him off the books.

I think he’s worth more more than when he signed with the Tigers. Back then he hadn’t shown enough for long enough. It was risky partying him like a proven star. Look at Mahoney and Niukore. The Bulldogs and Warriors likely paid too much.

That said, f**k him.
He’s an elite back rower, no question. But his form hasn’t been the same as last year. That said it’s still pretty awesome.

TheRam

Should we ??

I hope we have a good hot go at signing him for 2024. He is a talent and we don't have anyone at present at our club with that much power, explosiveness and speed, speed, speed.