Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Burton also made his decision before the salary cap is confirmed.
Possibly another club with ways to look after players outside the cap. Obviously not in Melbourne’s class though; there is plenty of cash available down there to top up player contracts. They proved it in the years leading up to 2010. They have won three premierships since then. If they’re able to be so successful without cheating why did they cheat in the first place?

While I agree that consistently poor performances are proof that a club is poorly managed, consistent dominance is more likely to indicate cheating than good management. If one club is dominating does that mean the rest are poorly managed? I think it’s unlikely.

I liked this article in the FitzFiles in today's SMH.

“Loyalty to any one sports team is pretty hard to justify, because the players are always changing, the team can move to another city.
You’re actually rooting for the clothes, when you get right down to it. You know what I mean?
You are standing and cheering and yelling for your clothes to beat the clothes from another city.
Fans will be so in love with a player, but if he goes to another team, they boo him. This is the same human being in a different shirt; they hate him now. Boo! Different shirt! Booooo!”
Call it a jersey instead of a shirt and it makes perfect sense. Does this guy even sports?

parra pete

I think he's ripped off some jerry Seinfeld stand up right there
In the article he said he was quoting Jerry Seinfeld!!!!..No rip off involved....
Pretty close to the mark though....makes following an NRL team a bit like playing "super coach"....nothing to do with forming and establishing a winning combination. Premiership euphoria lasts until about a hour after full time siren. Then fans watch and wait until November 1 - at what point their 'dreams' for (wait for it) two seasons ahead are put to the sword. Surely, there has gotta be a BIT of relief for Clubs whose players stay loyal, and not prostitute themselves to the 'highest bidder"...What's the point otherwise??? I don't understand,.,,

parra pete

Good chance to secure 100/1 odds on any NRL team to win the 2023 premiership on betr.com.au...(Maximum $10 bet)...Have $1 on 10 clubs, and be a good chance of turning your $10 into a $100...

parra pete

Good chance to secure 100/1 odds on any NRL team to win the 2023 premiership on betr.com.au...(Maximum $10 bet)...Have $1 on 10 clubs, and be a good chance of turning your $10 into a $100...
same odds available on AFL as well - and up until a coupla days ago, the odds were 100/1 on any horse in Tuesdays Melbourne Cup....

Pazza

Surely, there has gotta be a BIT of relief for Clubs whose players stay loyal, and not prostitute themselves to the 'highest bidder"...What's the point otherwise??? I don't understand,.,,

The players are people and workers with family's and personal interests just like the rest of us. It's not their fault they are basically independent contractors in their industry. Imagine working in an industry where your employment is temporary, based on your performance and only for a limited time of your life. I think people are real hard on players.

In the article he said he was quoting Jerry Seinfeld!!!!..No rip off involved....
Pretty close to the mark though....makes following an NRL team a bit like playing "super coach"....nothing to do with forming and establishing a winning combination. Premiership euphoria lasts until about a hour after full time siren. Then fans watch and wait until November 1 - at what point their 'dreams' for (wait for it) two seasons ahead are put to the sword. Surely, there has gotta be a BIT of relief for Clubs whose players stay loyal, and not prostitute themselves to the 'highest bidder"...What's the point otherwise??? I don't understand,.,,

Sadly, most of us here will have to take your word for it... And we may truly never get the chance to experience that in our lifetimes...

I just don't buy into players dont want to win a title and they all they care about is money.

Plenty of people can earn more money then they are now. A lot are happy to continue what they are comfortable with, knowing they are still getting looked after reasonably and not ripped off.

Yes Footy players have limited careers. So do plenty of tradies as one example or truck's driver or miners based on physical and other conditions like family etc.

If you create a nice culture and happy environment you'll keep guys for 10% less. Of course not all and of course not if you offered 500k and someone else offers 650k. Common sense.

parra pete

I saw my nfl team phili win the SB in 2017, I'm still buzzed.

A parramatta gf win would be that x 1000

For about an hour..before realisation sets in that next season is four months away, and your team is being ripped apart by predators.....

Ideal is to sign both halves up. I think its most likely scenario and I don't see either leaving. Especially not Dlyan.
2023 we have been written off and that's fair enough. But what makes this side is

Guth,Halves, 2 x start props.

All still here. Our other two form players where Lane and Matto also still here.
Yes Papali'i was great. But not like his debut season for us. He missed an extra 20 tackles, average 10 less meters a game and broke 10 less tackles in the season.
Same goes for Marata. I find him good but very inconsistent. And he never gets to that man of the match level like the others.

A lot will depend on their replacements. Mahoneys the key loss but also a guy who misses tackles and had a poor season by his standards. Hodgsons just a huge gamble is all.

I think Hopgood and Murchie will keep the forward stocks rolling. Also the chance one of our young guys explodes in the off season. And I reckon we will add Tapau for 1yr. That's fine. And a guy like Bryce is more then capable of being a good bench option.

I think our biggest needs are backs and a utility.

People talk about Yates and Hands. I mean sure maybe they'll come good but a guy like Kodi Nikorima or Connor Watson at 14 would be ideal.

As far as backs go Sivo was brilliant once returned. Surprised many bagged him. He made a huge difference. Catching bombs compared to his other wing partner one of them. Another big off season and get him more involved is all that's needed.
Peninsi will improve ten fold so not a worry there.

But the other two spots I am not sure about. I like physical backs and ones that play hard. People talk about Russel,Dunster,Simmonson,Blake as options. I feel all are OK but none seem to be damaging runners of the ball or bruisers in defense. Maybe can get away with one in the side. Add two and considering Gutherson lack of speed and power and the balance is off.

The way our backs get dominated at times in physical games is very noticeable. It happened in 3/4 finals games. Made it so hard for our forwards to get to work.

I'll keep my fingers crossed we can move Waqa on and sign someone like LOMAX.
The Dragons have a bit of a problem. To many backs and not enough forwards.

IFR33K

Rheed is going to be a huge loss. Yes he misses a few tackles but that’s due to his size. His tackle efficiency is quite good. He had a pinpoint/deadly passing game.

I’d really like to see a quality 14 added to the squad to give Hodgson a break next season.

Pazza

For about an hour..before realisation sets in that next season is four months away, and your team is being ripped apart by predators.....

Lol

I'd buy the next days paper and get the cover framed and hang it in my house for the rest of my days.

Rheed is going to be a huge loss. Yes he misses a few tackles but that’s due to his size. His tackle efficiency is quite good. He had a pinpoint/deadly passing game.

I’d really like to see a quality 14 added to the squad to give Hodgson a break next season.

Time will tell. After 2021 I was gutted we lost him. I mean he was maybe our best spine player or very close to Moses and Guth.
After 2022 I almost felt sides worked him out a little. And I don't like those long 25mtr passes that Joey blows his nuts over. To much air time and defense just has to much time and hits a flat footed playmaker or outside back or 2nd rower.
I reckon the quick short passes are 10x more effective.

Quick play the balls with a forward in time so the hooker throws a quick pass with little lag time.
That's how you get momentum. As soon as your attack stops moving forward and is flat footed even for half a second the defense these days gains the upper hand