Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Glenneel

Do we now (in hindsight) regret letting a very good 80 minute hooker go in Peats last year? I know at the time that I thought it was a good move to be able to play for points, but it may look a bad move in hindsight, especially now knowing the true Foran story.

P.S. I really do hate making hindsight posts.

P.P.S. I would struggle with an 80 minute hooker myself. About 79 minutes too long for me ;)
Peats could play for 80 but was starting to get injury prone. Didn't he have 2 broken necks with us?

Stevie

BA didn't sign these new forwards to play for Wenty so I am assuming all will be starting (barring injuries). Edwards could be trained to be backup hooker while regular off, they are usually only missing for 10-15 mins anyway and don't think we would lose anything with him playing there. A very skilful forward who can also kick if I remember correctly.

Don't think we would lose much shifting Edwards into hooker? Mate, its rude to smoke meth and not offer it to the rest of us.

Glenneel

I think we have a lot of good forwards. I don't know how many great ones we've got (possibly none). But that may be all we need.
If we have a great backline (maybe missing a decent half) do we need a great forward pack? We now have good forwards with variety and offloading skills with 2 big bodies who will make ground against most clubs and tackle effectively. Yes good to have a great pack but our pack now is solid and creative (we had no creative props last year) and we finished with 30 points (before deduction) amid all the disruptions. Surely with a less disruptive 2017 will be an even more successful year.

Joshuatheeel

BA uses his hookers to lead the defensive line, that's why he has two in his top 17.

BA believes defensive comes first, he will always go for the better defensive player over the better attacking player.

Glenneel

Don't think we would lose much shifting Edwards into hooker? Mate, its rude to smoke meth and not offer it to the rest of us.
What you think Edwards is such an inept player that for 10-15 mins the team will fall into a heap? Who is smoking meth now?

Stevie

Regardless of how good yur backline is, they lay the platform in the first few tackles of go forward.

Forwards win matches, backs determine by how much.

Stevie

What you think Edwards is such an inept player that for 10-15 mins the team will fall into a heap? Who is smoking meth now?

So you want to take possibly our most dynamic runner of the footy from the forward pack who doesn't play a full 80 anyway and stick him into hooker for 15 minutes to pass the ball to others so DeGois can have a rest?

Genius.

Glenneel

So you want to take possibly our most dynamic runner of the footy from the forward pack who doesn't play a full 80 anyway and stick him into hooker for 15 minutes to pass the ball to others so DeGois can have a rest?

Genius.
Thankyou for that comment, never thought I was one but will accept it.
So you want KPritchard on the bench, a player that plays probably 20 mins max, and has little impact and poor game management. I would rather NOT waste a bench spot and use Edwards who plays 40-50 mins and is a dynamic runner and has good game management. Edwards along with another 3 good forwards would have more impact than a second hooker, don't you think???

Joshuatheeel

So you want KPritchard on the bench, a player that plays probably 20 mins max, and has little impact and poor game management. I would rather NOT waste a bench spot and use Edwards who plays 40-50 mins and is a dynamic runner and has good game management. Edwards along with another 3 good forwards would have more impact than a second hooker, don't you think???

You are assuming the second hooker is in the side solely for his attack.

Maybe he is in the side to come on in the last 20-25 minutes, when the game is in the balance, to add some energy to our defence and line speed.

Stevie

A couple of points in response to your dribble.
*At what point did I suggest Kaysa to play?
*You actually believe Kaysa has little impact?
*Can you give some examples of Kenny Edwards great "game management"? That's a new one to me.

Stevie

Whatever happened to Stagger? Haven't seen him on here for ages, he always seemed to have the scoops.

Snoochies

Is Robson a certainty for Wenty or is there a chance BA would actually consider him in the halves or even on the bench as a utility? I know most have pencilled in Norman and Gutherson but does Robbo have any chance or is he purely backup?

Stevie

Is Robson a certainty for Wenty or is there a chance BA would actually consider him in the halves or even on the bench as a utility? I know most have pencilled in Norman and Gutherson but does Robbo have any chance or is he purely backup?

I highly doubt a bench spot, but I reckon he could seriously be considered for hooker at times during the year.