Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I don't know about birthdates and S G Ball, but I reckon he needs another year down there to build his frame. There is a huge difference physically between him and Flegg forwards.

Oh, I totally agree.

I think in terms of skill, and his ability to read the game, he's looking great.

But I believe he only just turned 17, so he needs a few years to bulk up.

I need to find some other joy when watch games, otherwise I just wouldn't bother with the game at all the way the Eels are playing. I look for silver linings mate. There is not much else we can do when you follow our club and Potato Head is at the helm. The club lives and breaths mediocrity. They wouldn't know success if it bit them on the arse.

How do we go from that Golden Age in the '80s, to now???

Some of our decisions boggle me, fair dinkum.

TheRam

So I heard on the radio before we are after a prop and BA said we ain't gonna just sign anyone. It has to be for this year and 2 years after that. Paraphrasing.
My concern is we obviously low balled Klemmer and Taupau and couldn't get them. So now we are probably after someone who is somewhat disgruntled at their current club. I don't think we can dangle the carrot to come and play for a title. We may not even make the 8 the way we are going.
I wouldn't be against signing 1 of the following bit feel we need an established seasoned prop/lock to cover for RCG absence and Paulo impending Origin absence.
Guler
Blake Lawrie
Trey Mooney
Eddie Blacker
Simpkins from Wests
Daniel Suluka Fifita
A good hooker running around with some NRL experience is Tyson Smoothy as well.
I would also be looking at the Feagai brother currently in reserves as a winger option as he's not bad at all and in truth better than what we have.
Definitely be making enquiries on Kayal Iro as well. Stay in reserve grade or walk into Parra 1st grade....

By the time Glacier makes his move, the fulltime siren of the Grand Final will be heard in the background as the new player is signing the contract.

Legal Eel

I havent seen your response to my question... if Hodgson isnt in our best 17 as you state, and BA doesnt think Hands can play 80 mins consistently, who in our best 17 is your second dummy half?
I agree with hindy111 that there has been inadequate planning and development by the coach and management since Reed departed - I actually wanted Jayden Berrell from qld in late 2021!

I would honestly have Jayden Yates off the bench

not ideal but he is a solid player and he may rise to the level as Hands has done

we haven’t prepared anyone else - the thing is we don’t know if Yates can handle it, but it is obvious to all but a select few that Hodgson no longer can

By the time Glacier makes his move, the fulltime siren of the Grand Final will be heard in the background as the new player is signing the contract.

To think we had money last year spare and we where penny pinching when it was out best chance of getting to a grand final in 12yrs. Trying to get a cheap deal and missed the boat.
Rabbits

TheRam

I do think thought that when a player leaves his current club for massive unders to a new club and that new club is already full of elite talent then there should definitely be suspicion and an investigation. Souths should be audited and probed with a blow torch and a pair of pliers.

Sure that would help. Good luck. Do you think Rusty knows how to set up an account or two in Liechtenstein?

TheRam

How do we go from that Golden Age in the '80s, to now???

Some of our decisions boggle me, fair dinkum.

Exactly. We were the bees knees of the competition back then. Loved by all and or envied by the rest.

What a nightmare. As a kid growing up in the 70's and 80's I thought the world of this club and felt sorry on occasion for fans of other clubs that didn't have the riches on and off the field that we did. I would often think to myself, thank God I randomly(Dumb luck really) fell in love with how Pricey played and then the Eels following that. I thought that the good days would never end and that this club would always be a super club and a jewel for the ARL back then.

Oh how wrong was I and how things turned out. I remember a work colleague of mine say to me back when we just won the 1986 Grand Final and Pricey and the Crow both announced their retirement. He looked at me and said Parra won't win another Grand Final for at least 10 years and I laughed at him, in his face actually and said you're crazy and have no freakin idea. This club is the best club in the world. They will always be winning Grand Finals. It's in our Blood!

Wow, fast forward to now and look where we are. Bunkus. We have been disgraceful collecting nothing but spoons. My young self would have never thought this possible and my old self is now a broken fan that will never, ever feel that this club will reach those halcyon days again. I will always feel that the stumble will come no matter how well we are traveling. Failure is in our blood now and even though on several occasions we have had the blood of success in our hands, we never stick the needle in for the transfusion of success to finally begin.

King-Gutho94

Exactly. We were the bees knees of the competition back then. Loved by all and or envied by the rest.

What a nightmare. As a kid growing up in the 70's and 80's I thought the world of this club and felt sorry on occasion for fans of other clubs that didn't have the riches on and off the field that we did. I would often think to myself, thank God I randomly(Dumb luck really) fell in love with how Pricey played and then the Eels following that. I thought that the good days would never end and that this club would always be a super club and a jewel for the ARL back then.

Oh how wrong was I and how things turned out. I remember a work colleague of mine say to me back when we just won the 1986 Grand Final and Pricey and the Crow both announced their retirement. He looked at me and said Parra won't win another Grand Final for at least 10 years and I laughed at him, in his face actually and said you're crazy and have no freakin idea. This club is the best club in the world. They will always be winning Grand Finals. It's in our Blood!

Wow, fast forward to now and look where we are. Bunkus. We have been disgraceful collecting nothing but spoons. My young self would have never thought this possible and my old self is now a broken fan that will never, ever feel that this club will reach those halcyon days again. I will always feel that the stumble will come no matter how well we are traveling. Failure is in our blood now and even though on several occasions we have had the blood of success in our hands, we never stick the needle in for the transfusion of success to finally begin.
I just cant imagine a life where Parra could win 3 premierships in a decade again let alone 4.

Those who were around the in 80s should feel fortunate they got to witness one of the great teams.

I was born in 1994 so I have seen squat just 3 heartbreaking losses in a GF. And a couple of frustrating prelim losses in 05 & 07.

I am just thankful I wasn't old enough to watch 98 disaster. So that never existed for me.

I will happily take one premiership in my lifetime. Just one surely its not hard to ask for.

I just cant imagine a life where Parra could win 3 premierships in a decade again let alone 4.

Those who were around the in 80s should feel fortunate they got to witness one of the great teams.

I was born in 1994 so I have seen squat just 3 heartbreaking losses in a GF. And a couple of frustrating prelim losses in 05 & 07.

I am just thankful I wasn't old enough to watch 98 disaster. So that never existed for me.

I will happily take one premiership in my lifetime. Just one surely its not hard to ask for.
I’ve come to the realisation that we will never win a comp in my lifetime, I was lucky enough to be alive and remember what it was like to be envied. We are still a laughing stock.

I think living in Brisbane gives me a totally different perspective on the team. Most people I speak to thought last season was a total fluke and think Bea Arthur is a total fraud. Not just Donkeys fans and a lot of them are very good judges of RL. How he has gotten this recent extension beggars belief.

TheRam

That 98 one rocked me. I was f**ked for months every time I thought about it which was often during the day and my heart would sink. I think it was then that I realised that I was too invested in this club and decided that we are loses and that not to let it get to me like it used to. Now I get sad sure, but nothing like back then. Now it is just a sadness that you have that we will be shat on no matter what we do and that I can't do anything about it and to just let it play out and cop it. I almost always think we will lose, even when my brain says we will win. Does that make sense? We just don't have that killer instinct as a club. You know, like the Dogs do. Sure they have been sh*t for a little while, but you watch once they get their roster right, Dogs of war. In other words killer instinct.

So when I go off on this forum, I am just letting out my frustration and resentment at our inept management with some fellow Eels lovers, which helps me deal with it. Otherwise I would be bending back the ears of random people on the street and letting out my thoughts and theories onto strangers about the Eels misfortunes and they would eventually net me and take me away haha, take me away haha.

Soren Lorenson

Otherwise I would be bending back the ears of random people on the street and letting out my thoughts and theories onto strangers about the Eels misfortunes and they would eventually net me and take me away haha, take me away haha.
this made me laugh old mate. I always imagine you actually are Ray Price as that is what your avatar was for so long. Getting scooped up in a big net and carted off in a white van :laughing:

King-Gutho94

I’ve come to the realisation that we will never win a comp in my lifetime, I was lucky enough to be alive and remember what it was like to be envied. We are still a laughing stock.

I think living in Brisbane gives me a totally different perspective on the team. Most people I speak to thought last season was a total fluke and think Bea Arthur is a total fraud. Not just Donkeys fans and a lot of them are very good judges of RL. How he has gotten this recent extension beggars belief.
I dont think it was a fluke necessarily we made the GF.

We had been building for 4 years leading into the GF appearance last year admittingly we never looked like the best team in those 4 years.

I think the continuous week 2 exits was starting to become a mental thing that didn't help either.

The best & most consistent we looked i reckon was in first half of 2020 but maybe we were Parra fit and the rest of the comp spent 2 months getting Covid fit.

Last year Melbourne eventually fell off a cliff last year which was long overdue - Sharks & Cowboys fluked there way into the top 4 off a soft draw. Roosters & Souths had bizarre seasons last year there best football was better then ours but were more inconsistent and missed the Top 4.

We probably deserved our GF spot but in hindsight we were never a chance to win the thing.

The year before Penrith were busted and we probably should have won that game in Mackay if not for bad luck from decisions and a fit dummy half. I was more pissed about that game for months then i was after the GF last year.

gaffer

so true those were the days loved giving losers 20 start and taking their money

Gazzamatta

I do feel privileged. Our club needs change.

gaffer

i'm one of the lucky ones that watched them in the glory days and am still waiting