Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

TheRam

If we want pure speed and and old fashioned style type of winger, then Alofiana Khan-Pereira is unsigned for next year and available. He is NRL read and playing real well for the Titans right now. If we can sign a couple of decent front rowers then I would definitely have a crack at him.

If we can't nab the front rowers we need then I would be looking at someone like his fellow wing partner type in Phillip Sami. A real metre eater. But he isn't off contract till 2024.

I can't believe that the Titans haven't already locked Khan-Pereira up. If Glacier moved quickly, you never know, we could sneak in and nab him under the Titans very noses. But then again, who am I kidding.

If we want pure speed and and old fashioned style type of winger, then Alofiana Khan-Pereira is unsigned for next year and available. He is NRL read and playing real well for the Titans right now. If we can sign a couple of decent front rowers then I would definitely have a crack at him.

If we can't nab the front rowers we need then I would be looking at someone like his fellow wing partner type in Phillip Sami. A real metre eater. But he isn't off contract till 2024.

I can't believe that the Titans haven't already locked Khan-Pereira up. If Glacier moved quickly, you never know, we could sneak in and nab him under the Titans very noses. But then again, who am I kidding.
How can we still just have 27 in our top 30??? It’s absolutely ridiculous especially when some of them are park footballers. We lose tomorrow night this season is done and we need to be planning for 2024.

Chipmunk

I just cant imagine a life where Parra could win 3 premierships in a decade again let alone 4.

Those who were around the in 80s should feel fortunate they got to witness one of the great teams.

I was born in 1994 so I have seen squat just 3 heartbreaking losses in a GF. And a couple of frustrating prelim losses in 05 & 07.

I am just thankful I wasn't old enough to watch 98 disaster. So that never existed for me.

I will happily take one premiership in my lifetime. Just one surely its not hard to ask for.
2001 and 2005 were really the Premierships that got away. 2009 and 2022 we were well underdog in both encounters and unlikely to ever get the victory over a more experienced grand final opponents. 1998 we were unlikely to have won the GF had we made it, and it would've ended much like 2009 and 2022.

I reckon 99 was our best chance, that side had quality all over the park. With some gun juniors. We had enough chances to win 5 games that night. Billy Harrigan was not our friend with that night a BS strip call that lead to a try and they also went in off a forward pass.

How do we go from that Golden Age in the '80s, to now???

Some of our decisions boggle me, fair dinkum.
I’d say the Golden Age was just dumb luck based on having the best demographics and the biggest pokie den. The stars aligned and we were briefly the richest club in the game. Since then demographics have changed (see the rise of Penrith) plus the rise of professionalism has meant that pokies and match day revenue are no longer the biggest sources of income for NRL clubs. We were caught off guard with a constitution that ensured we didn’t get the best people making the biggest decisions. 2016 was a godsend for us but we’ve had a lot of catching up to do.

How can we still just have 27 in our top 30??? It’s absolutely ridiculous especially when some of them are park footballers. We lose tomorrow night this season is done and we need to be planning for 2024.
With a 17th team there’s not enough first graders to go around, and so every club has some park footballers in their top 30.

I’d say the Golden Age was just dumb luck based on having the best demographics and the biggest pokie den. The stars aligned and we were briefly the richest club in the game. Since then demographics have changed (see the rise of Penrith) plus the rise of professionalism has meant that pokies and match day revenue are no longer the biggest sources of income for NRL clubs. We were caught off guard with a constitution that ensured we didn’t get the best people making the biggest decisions. 2016 was a godsend for us but we’ve had a lot of catching up to do.

Agree. It's much more an even playing field since the 2000s. And I reckon right now we are seeing a shift that is making it even harder. As a club not many are left that tolerate bullshit from players and being complete professional.
Warriors,Dogs and even the Tigers are sorting their shit out. I reckon a few did only 3 or 4 yrs ago. We as a club only become stable since 2017.

It's a lot harder to compete now when every other club has caught on. I would be suprised if we see sides who are appalling for 5-6yrs periods moving forward. It's easy to laugh at the Tigers but to be fair to them as a side they've not been as bad as results suggest.
They had every chance to win against Parra,Dogs,Knights,Manly. I feel all those games where flip of coins and it wouldn’t of taken much for them to have been 4 wins there. They also hung with Melbourne ok.

It was only the Brisbane loss that was actually embarrassing. There is still time for them to show they are moving forward. They'll start winning shortly I feel.

In the 80s you had to many teams with weaknesses. In the current NRL most aides don't have many players you can out and out target. There is a few but they can be hidden by a smart coach. Plus everyone now is a dedicated athlete on diets etc. They aren't smoking at halftime and eating a pie ffs.

Hard to argue, mate.

It's a little disappointing.