Of course you do. It is a misrepresentation of my position.I still like my summary better....
Na. @hineyrulz does Im sure.Got his sddy?
Having your posts back to the Kearney era, Incorrect absolutely nailed your eternal default setting.Of course you do. It is a misrepresentation of my position.
Agree. It's much more an even playing field since the 2000s. And I reckon right now we are seeing a shift that is making it even harder. As a club not many are left that tolerate bullshit from players and being complete professional.
Warriors,Dogs and even the Tigers are sorting their shit out. I reckon a few did only 3 or 4 yrs ago. We as a club only become stable since 2017.
It's a lot harder to compete now when every other club has caught on. I would be suprised if we see sides who are appalling for 5-6yrs periods moving forward. It's easy to laugh at the Tigers but to be fair to them as a side they've not been as bad as results suggest.
They had every chance to win against Parra,Dogs,Knights,Manly. I feel all those games where flip of coins and it wouldn’t of taken much for them to have been 4 wins there. They also hung with Melbourne ok.
It was only the Brisbane loss that was actually embarrassing. There is still time for them to show they are moving forward. They'll start winning shortly I feel.
I just advise against criticising things you don't know about. It doesn't mean I think everything the club does is right. Every club makes decisions based on known risks and incomplete information. To criticise any given decision is like putting shit on someone for not picking a perfect round in the tipping comp.Having your posts back to the Kearney era, Incorrect absolutely nailed your eternal default setting.
Yep that’s fair and I think Emu is definitely worth persisting with, but I wouldn’t be breaking the bank for him. It’s probably just my memory but I don’t remember Junior being that slow and gassed in defence.Granted...
However, take Junior Barlow as a like for like... When he first came in to grade, he was a big body but none of the workrate or tackle effectiveness that he has today. And that's why Pou told us all it was no big deal when Junior farked off to Canberra - ergo, he was a lazy defender, Yad Yada Yada
Here is our chance to make this guy our own. He's 23 years old. Maka is 30, Ogden is 26... Wiremu, In the next 3 years, he'll cost you tries, he'll be lazy at times, but it's up to our coaching staff to harness his talent.
Edit - acknowledge though that Maka and Ogden may have outplayed him yesterday...
He is a keeper (Emu)As much as I’m liking what Emu is bringing in attack, he is so slow in defence and absolutely struggles to fill holes around the ruck. I didn’t realise how much until watching him live.
Still, he’s developing nicely but I wouldn’t be rushing out and extending him on decent coin.
To be honest, I actually thought Maka and Ogden outplayed him last night.
On a somewhat modest contract, for sure. Until he can show that he’s up to the defensive workload of first grade for more than 10 minutes at a time, I would be cautious on the amount.H
He is a keeper (Emu)
Paulo isn't slow. He has phenomenal agility for his size. His work rate is very low but it's worth it for his ability to create opportunities. Greig's attack (per run) is quite good but not really worth the lack of contribution on the defensive side of the ball.Yep that’s fair and I think Emu is definitely worth persisting with, but I wouldn’t be breaking the bank for him. It’s probably just my memory but I don’t remember Junior being that slow and gassed in defence.
Agree completely. Ideally, a bloke like him based on improved outputs to date, we should have at least offered him a 2 year extension at same money with some room to move up with bonuses to sweeten the deal....Yep that’s fair and I think Emu is definitely worth persisting with, but I wouldn’t be breaking the bank for him. It’s probably just my memory but I don’t remember Junior being that slow and gassed in defence.
Yep that’s the way I see it. However he is young so it’s something he can work on. I just wouldn’t be paying too much for an extension based purely on his potential yet.Paulo isn't slow. He has phenomenal agility for his size. His work rate is very low but it's worth it for his ability to create opportunities. Greig's attack (per run) is quite good but not really worth the lack of contribution on the defensive side of the ball.
Emu wouldn’t be on much more than minimum. If he’s happy to take that again for another two years then I’m all for it.Agree completely. Ideally, a bloke like him based on improved outputs to date, we should have at least offered him a 2 year extension at same money with some room to move up with bonuses to sweeten the deal....
Really? I didn’t notice him making that many tackles. Big effort from the big fella if true. Perhaps I should shut my mouth.Although I just noticed Greig made 34 tackles in 44 minutes against the Knights. Great effort if true, but surely it's a typo. His previous best efforts were 10 tackles in 14 minutes against Penrith, and 18 in 33 vs Chooks.
He might be worth $200k.Emu wouldn’t be on much more than minimum. If he’s happy to take that again for another two years then I’m all for it.
Yeah that’s probably the top end of what I’d be offering for an extension.He might be worth $200k.
Should've seen the post I had to delete after discovering that factoid.Really? I didn’t notice him making that many tackles. Big effort from the big fella if true. Perhaps I should shut my mouth.
I think, on his body shape and NRL outputs alone, he's worthy of an offer better than minimum wage. If I'm being fair dinkum, he is best placed to serve our team better than Makatoa or Ogden in the next 3 years at probably similar money, and that'd be F-all if we signed him now...Emu wouldn’t be on much more than minimum. If he’s happy to take that again for another two years then I’m all for it.
Depends how much interest there is in him. NRL clubs have entire recruitment staffs to pore over stats and video of these merkins. There would be reps from every NRL club attending reserve grade games too. None of these merkins fly under the radar. It comes down to value, and each club's appetite for risk. The players' current (and former) clubs have the advantage in correctly valuing each player because they have all his metrics (sprint times, bench press, etc.) plus they know what his attitude is like. But a player doesn't care if another club offers more than he's worth. It's not his problem.and that'd be F-all if we signed him now...
So stats can be missleading. He was fantastic.Although I just noticed Greig made 34 tackles in 44 minutes against the Knights. Great effort if true, but surely it's a typo. His previous best efforts were 10 tackles in 14 minutes against Penrith, and 18 in 33 vs Chooks.