Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

IFR33K

It’s safe to say if Moses gets injured that Jake goes straight in. That’s why he is getting 80mins a week in cup, to be prepared for when he is needed. May not be the popular choice, but it’s 100% what will happen

Yeah we understand he’ll go in, if just debatable whether or not he’s capable of being an nrl halfback

Waqa in the top five paid centres? But don’t these sources and journalists know Pou’s extrapolations and theories trump all sources and facts that have been reported several times?

You really are obsessed with Pou, aren't you mate? He has added plenty to this forum.

Yeah we understand he’ll go in, if just debatable whether or not he’s capable of being an nrl halfback
Well Manly bought (will buy ?) Flanagan as an Origin fill in. They never seriously considered him to be anything other than a backup. But if DCE breaks something they know that Kyle will not miss too many tackles, get T5 kick away and hold his own. In the meantime he’ll be playing for Blacktown. Do any teams have a NRL quality half ready to step up ?

Nathan Brown (bald guy) said on the TCT pod last week that Ethan Sanders will be hard to keep, simply because we signed our two 6 & 7 until their mid thirties.

So you have an OK player like Kyle or Jake and pay them enough to keep them away from UK, hope you have a junior always ready to play or have a utility. Not easy.

yy_cheng

Well Manly bought (will buy ?) Flanagan as an Origin fill in. They never seriously considered him to be anything other than a backup. But if DCE breaks something they know that Kyle will not miss too many tackles, get T5 kick away and hold his own. In the meantime he’ll be playing for Blacktown. Do any teams have a NRL quality half ready to step up ?

Nathan Brown (bald guy) said on the TCT pod last week that Ethan Sanders will be hard to keep, simply because we signed our two 6 & 7 until their mid thirties.

So you have an OK player like Kyle or Jake and pay them enough to keep them away from UK, hope you have a junior always ready to play or have a utility. Not easy.
Dyl to 1, Sanders to 6 and Guth to 9 in 2 years time

Legal Eel

But but but he hasn’t played origin and the Panthers wouldn’t be stupid enough to pay that much.

The fact has always been that now we are paying full freight and realise the guy is a thief and we got a shit deal.
I think we can safely assume that Waqa's money and the current cap space alone will approach about a million - add any savings on Hodgson (even if he exercises his option I understand it's not as much) and we probably have enough to target the following who may be surplus at their current clubs:

1) Kayal Iro/Connor Treacy/Stonestreet - one of these, given that the sharks have Katoa, Mulitalo, Ramien and Talakai in their positions;

2) One of Averillo/Skelton - given that Crichton, Perham, Addo-Carr, Kiraz, Xerri, Alamoti are blocking the way;

3) A bench prop - I would love Twal but that won't be possible, so I like the idea of Blacker or Trey Mooney, given that both are behind rep props at their current clubs and can't even make the bench

I know people will moan that "they have to want to come here", but much as Gronk has said about Sanders above, if your path is blocked, you go where the opportunities are.

yy_cheng

Ok well YY you never fail to come up with ideas outside the box. Moving Dylan is a way of keeping Sanders, agree. Guth to finish his career at centre maybe more likely?
if we have a half that is decent and he probably will play NSW cup for a year or 2 before 1st grade and we dont have any notable backup 1.

As guth slows down, guth should move. However, Mitch might put his hand up and want the 1.

Tbh, I reckon Guth should move to 9 (his running from dummy half, defense and kicking will be used well there) and maybe MA goes to 14 in 2 years time.

And Dyl to 1 is the x-factor we probably are looking for

yy_cheng

was just listening to guth and they were talking about who will be marking Dave Fafita?

I am asuming Carty and Moses. But maybe we should have Matto there this game instead.

Soren Lorenson

Waqa in the top five paid centres? But don’t these sources and journalists know Pou’s extrapolations and theories trump all sources and facts that have been reported several times?
This is propaganda to try to swing the narrative to Wighton being overpaid and thus removing the heat from Souths getting a bargain/analing Canberra. I hope Ricky stays away from the papers or else his head might fall off.

King-Gutho94

Change the game plan for a different opponent?? Absolute madness!!

“We just need to play our footy”
BA is well known for changing up tactics for Magic Round.

We have had Peni Terepo start at hooker in 2019 and dump mahoney to the bench.

Unleashed Jake Arthur in 2021 where he played a great debut scored a try and poor old BA was crying. The warriors had no idea what was going on.

Last year we decided to not front load the effort as we were down by 19 at halftime.

Exciting to see what BA has in store for us this week.

IFR33K

Ones putrid and the other is average. Please don’t compare the two.