Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

TheRam

Manly has been a simmering civil war for about 5 years now and it looks like the Penns have finally won the war and the Fulton genocide is complete. Time will tell who was right but I think that now there is some stability at Manly (in that one side has finally "won"), they may start to rebuild.

Yep, Flanagan is a great start.

TheRam

Avarillo isn't small and until last weekend I didnt think he was quick but he has a turn of pace which was surprising..

OK he is on the small to medium side. He certainly isn't big. On their site they have him at 183cm and 92kg's, but look at him hardly a big boy. He would not have the power of a big framed player.In fact I know he hasn't, because I have seen enough of him play. I have never seen him power through with any real success doing hit up plays like say Penisini does and I doubt you ever will. He is a greyhound not a Rottweiler.

JokerEel

OK he is on the small to medium side. He certainly isn't big. On their site they have him at 183cm and 92kg's, but look at him hardly a big boy. He would not have the power of a big framed player.In fact I know he hasn't, because I have seen enough of him play. I have never seen him power through with any real success doing hit up plays like say Penisini does and I doubt you ever will. He is a greyhound not a Rottweiler.

He is probably better than what we have in the other center position at the moment. He wouldnt demand too much either.

TheRam

As I indicated previously, I suspect the club is waiting to see if anyone comes on board before 30 June, otherwise if not, they will renegotiate Moses 2023 contract to be part of the new contract, where we front load the shit out of his 2023 money with our remaining salary cap.

And like I said a few days ago, you can only frontload by about $50-100K max from year to year. The NRL don't allow for massive frontloads or backloads anymore. What we can do and will receive though is a big whack of what we don't spend this year can go onto the salary cap for next year. All clubs get that same benefit if they don't spend all of their allotted cap from year to year.

TheRam

Getting worse. But at the sametime I am unsure he is as good as others thought. He is a slug.
At the right price id take him on. But unsure if he is worth more then 450k.

Probably even less. The guy is a turnip. No footy sense at all. Thinks he is Matt Gidley. Needs to learn when to hold them and when to fold them at the very least.

TheRam

I would still take him and slot him into our backline.

1. Gutho
2. Sivo
3. Penisini
4. Lomax
5. Russel
6. Brown
7. Moses

Probably a better option than having one of Waqa, Bailey or Haze in there.

Sure, be we need to be striving to do better then that, unless you can get a lot of crap out of his game. Also he hasn't got explosive speed and you can't coach that. I want us to find some freakin speed ffs!

We were always paying full freight, of whatever amount we negotiated with him. If the Panthers’ payout has ended it doesn’t mean we are suddenly paying more. We are paying whatever we agreed to pay him this year.
Mate if you go back a few pages you will see that you scoffed at the suggested amount of $500k plus per season for this thief. You stated that there is no way the contract per year was that much, suggesting Penrith wouldn’t be that stupid to pay that amount. Now there is evidence that it actually is and maybe even as much as $600k per season not matter what the f**king agreement is between the clubs.

Rather than admitting you were wrong in understating his salary you are arguing semantics to safe face.

Fall on your sword, FFS.

It can happen to the best of us.

Probably even less. The guy is a turnip. No footy sense at all. Thinks he is Matt Gidley. Needs to learn when to hold them and when to fold them at the very least.

You're correct again Ram. A real turnip. Now let's go and get someone with pace. I watched a young and inexperienced Bulldgos side score 2 x length of field tries with no hard working grunt in the middle. Just two passes from the scrum wide and thanks for coming.

Our coach seems to think you need to slowly work your way down field then attack. It seems rookie coach Ciraldo has a few other ideas on how to attack. YOU CANT COACH SPEED

TheRam

It’s safe to say if Moses gets injured that Jake goes straight in. That’s why he is getting 80mins a week in cup, to be prepared for when he is needed. May not be the popular choice, but it’s 100% what will happen

We know that mate, but what we are saying is the Dogs need a half and we need a centre so this is the time to negotiate in our favour. We win nothing anyway if Moses goes down. So we gain a real speedster in our backline now if we can play our cards right.

Gould loves doing sh*t like this. The only stumbling block is Potato Head and Glacier, otherwise I reckon it would be a done deal. Both players would see merit in it too. JA gets to play NRL now under a bright coach that may actually improve his game and Averillo will be joining a club that sees him in their future NRL plans and has a genuine chance of making the finals this year. Win, win.

TheRam

Waqa in the top five paid centres? But don’t these sources and journalists know Pou’s extrapolations and theories trump all sources and facts that have been reported several times?

@Poupou Escobar you dingbat! Read them and weep. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA....

According to rugby league sources with knowledge of contract value, it’s believed the top-five-paid centres in 2022 were Joseph Manu, Kotoni Staggs, Waqa Blake, Stephen Crichton and Zac Lomax.

JokerEel

@Poupou Escobar you dingbat! Read them and weep. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA....

According to rugby league sources with knowledge of contract value, it’s believed the top-five-paid centres in 2022 were Joseph Manu, Kotoni Staggs, Waqa Blake, Stephen Crichton and Zac Lomax.

I wonder if they used Zero tackle for thier info as I do!

1682994810591.png

TheRam

Ok well YY you never fail to come up with ideas outside the box. Moving Dylan is a way of keeping Sanders, agree. Guth to finish his career at centre maybe more likely?

Gutho at centre is a waste and a slow tragedy, especially in 2 years time. If that were to ever happen, we have well and truly fallen off the perch as a club. Gutho at centre while other teams have Averillo types. Think about it? Hahahaha...Funny man.

JokerEel

Gutho at centre is a waste and a slow tragedy, especially in 2 years time. If that were to ever happen, we have well and truly fallen off the perch as a club. Gutho at centre while other teams have Averillo types. Think about it? Hahahaha...Funny man.

I doubt Gutho is going to be moved anywhere for the foreseeable future...

Maybe to the UK in 3-4 years...