Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Like when we replaced Smith with Taylor?
Yes, see my post above that I edited. I get your loyalty mate. It's a great virtue and I reckon you'd be a cracking mate to have but every coach besides Bellamy is subject to the law of diminishing returns. Even Wayne Bennett was on the nose at Newcastle.

BA has done a great job but the team is clunky and the one thing that all premierships teams have had except the Tigers in 2005 is great defence. BA has never been able to achieve that. I'd say that the only reason why this year we have a positive for and against is the obvious effect that Barrett has had on our attack. We do not have a problem in scoring tries. It's our defence that lets us down and BA should be accountable and whoever the defence coach is.

Gazzamatta

Same. He could get a lift to training with Gutho. We know what a tightarse Des is, if he gets to carpool with Gutho, that might be enough to get him over the line....

Let's face it, in all seriousness, we've pretty tried every route there is in the last 30 years when it comes to coaches. Premiership winners with questionable bonafides (Stuart and Hagan), seasoned campaigners (Smith), ex club stalwarts also with questionable bonafides (Hilditch and Cronin) and a couple of rookies (Kearney and Arthur). Varying degrees of success but ultimately all failed to deliver what we most want. I think we're back to trying a top grade coach with a successful track record. Come on down Des....
Peter Wallace would be one Id consider. Loved the way he played. Tough as teak and hes been part of a successful system for a while. Worth a punt I reckon. Might bring a few with him as well. We need a new voice and he could be it if the club decides change is required.

It is however he still appears stale. Our inconsistency validates it. He should do the honourable thing and come to an agreement with the club if he doesn’t makes the semis this season.

Oh, I agree with you there.

I was just saying that extending him after taking us to a Grabd Final was reasonable.

But it's time for change.

Incorrect

Would we take these two?

f**k Weidler's an idiot.

"Su'a is looking around. He has denied it but that's what's happening. Jack Bird is ringing around to other clubs but rang me to say he'll be a Dragon. But there's something going on".

WTF? Just because you say it's so, doesn't make it true... Who do you think you are Danny - Pou??

IFR33K

f**k Weidler's an idiot.

"Su'a is looking around. He has denied it but that's what's happening. Jack Bird is ringing around to other clubs but rang me to say he'll be a Dragon. But there's something going on".

WTF? Just because you say it's so, doesn't make it true... Who do you think you are Danny - Pou??

*gronk

f**k Weidler's an idiot.

I assume he is claiming to have inside info supporting his position, no different to you merkins.

Gazzamatta

Jack Bird I don't rate that high. Pass. Not a position we need.
St George supporters behind us at Suncorp. To put it mildly they f'n hate Bird. Small sample size I know but Ill add they were the worst behaved supporters of all teams playing on the Sunday. I actually sat next to some Brave Chooks supporters. They were good fun even though their team was lapped. They wernt fans of Robinson or Radley. Lol.