Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

King-Gutho94

Parra missed the Finals, but it is a weak comp? Are you confused.
Penrith lost 6 games all year and 5 of those losses were to teams that didn't make finals.

You have Penrith then daylight.

Brisbane then daylight.

Some Teams that made the finals got there off soft draws.

Sharks, Raiders especially.

Knights has a softish back end of the draw beat Melbourne and Souths at home but other then that they mainly beat up on the bottom 4 sides in there winning run. With a lot of home games to finish.

It's a weak top 8 - Storm are a shadow this year of the past seasons look at when they have lost games the margins.

Bellamy sides normally are lucky to have more then 1 game a year where they a 13+ defeat let alone 6 in a season.

Roosters fell into the 8 off a month of decent footy the rest of the year they were pure rubbish for the roster they have.

The Predictor

I
Let’s see how good they go against Panthers next week.
It doesn’t matter, at the end of the day our boys have been fiddling the diddle for the last 3 weeks whilst, the elite are still competing!!!

No offence Stevie, I don’t mind your posts but ur post is exactly what is wrong with this club, fans , culture we should only be concerned with our back yard and not throw darts at clubs who are light ahead of us, it was a fkn disastrous season due to the club’s pathetic culture and lack of authority, as a fan i keep relieving a never ending nightmare, I won’t be forking out another cent.

I was also there for the JF today, and that is one of the worst second halves I have seen in a very long time, this shit is ingrained into this whole club

The Predictor

O
Penrith lost 6 games all year and 5 of those losses were to teams that didn't make finals.

You have Penrith then daylight.

Brisbane then daylight.

Some Teams that made the finals got there off soft draws.

Sharks, Raiders especially.

Knights has a softish back end of the draw beat Melbourne and Souths at home but other then that they mainly beat up on the bottom 4 sides in there winning run. With a lot of home games to finish.

It's a weak top 8 - Storm are a shadow this year of the past seasons look at when they have lost games the margins.

Bellamy sides normally are lucky to have more then 1 game a year where they a 13+ defeat let alone 6 in a season.

Roosters fell into the 8 of a month of decent footy the rest of the year they were pure rubbish for the roster they have.
Once again, we were far worse, the Roosters didn’t wave the white flag with absolute gusto

I

It doesn’t matter, at the end of the day our boys have been fiddling the diddle for the last 3 weeks whilst, the elite are still competing!!!

No offence Stevie, I don’t mind your posts but ur post is exactly what is wrong with this club, fans , culture we should only be concerned with our back yard and not throw darts at clubs who are light ahead of us, it was a fkn disastrous season due to the club’s pathetic culture and lack of authority, as a fan i keep relieving a never ending nightmare, I won’t be forking out another cent.

I was also there for the JF today, and that is one of the worst second halves I have seen in a very long time, this shit is ingrained into this whole club

Agree. That 2nd half was dreadfull. Barely completed a set.Gave away penalties. Constant errors. Garbage 2nd half.

Stevie

I

Hey buddy, I like your posts too!
To be clear it’s was not a loaded comment mate. Simply that I believe Penrith are so far ahead (regardless if they win the comp or not) than anyone.
I not sure that my posts “are what’s wrong with the club”. Not totally sure why you’re aiming up on me from that comment.
Im just a long suffering fan like most of us clinging to the hope we take a few big steps forward, without confidence.

The Predictor

Hey buddy, I like your posts too!
To be clear it’s was not a loaded comment mate. Simply that I believe Penrith are so far ahead (regardless if they win the comp or not) than anyone.
I not sure that my posts “are what’s wrong with the club”. Not totally sure why you’re aiming up on me from that comment.
Im just a long suffering fan like most of us clinging to the hope we take a few big steps forward, without confidence.
Sorry, if it came across as personal, that was not my intention, like many of us, I’ve had enough

JokerEel

Agree. That 2nd half was dreadfull. Barely completed a set.Gave away penalties. Constant errors. Garbage 2nd half.

Look how the Roosters Flegg side controlled the ruck they wrestled like their first grade side. Which shows their structure comes from first grade down..

We did the right thing in re-signing Moses. Finding a top shelf 7 is difficult or they take a long time to develop into one.

Look at the Broncos and Warriors. Both have immense nurseries to choose from yet are relying on 33 year old halfbacks to guide them into their first grand final in years.

Moses just turned 29!

King-Gutho94

We did the right thing in re-signing Moses. Finding a top shelf 7 is difficult or they take a long time to develop into one.

Look at the Broncos and Warriors. Both have immense nurseries to choose from yet are relying on 33 year old halfbacks to guide them into their first grand final in years.

Moses just turned 29!
Agree

Moses could play for another 6/7 years at an Elite level.

Cooper Cronk played to he was 36 and was still at his peak when he retired.

DCE I reckon is getting better and he is 35.

And look at the 2 other examples you have mentioned in Reynolds and Johnson.

Incorrect

Was listening to the ABC Grandstand crew do their season summary for the Eels yesterday and I think they nailed it. We underachieved, but probably not by all that much given our shite recruitment in response to who we lost....

I think we're in for more of the same in 2024 unless we can unearth some absolute flyers ready to step up in the 3/4 line... let's face it, we're going to need to bring in a few from outside the club if we're fair dinkum. But not sure there's much available.

The power game needs a look at too. We need to evolve asap. Everyone knows what we're about. As soon as teams stepped it up and matched us up front we were clueless....

Without some difference makers in the 3/4 line as a matter of urgency, I can see us battling for 8-10th ....

My prediction for next year will be no higher placed than we were this season - unless we buy a strike (and defensively capable) centre, a proper 3rd choice middle (maybe to take over as 2nd from an ageing Paulo and/or RCG), and an x factor bench player (for the ruck/halves).

Or a new coach... and we're not going to recruit any of that!