Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

T.S Quint

Our biggest risks was Jnr and Rcg. Both start the season aged 30. And have 3 more seasons

Agree with this.
I thought it would have been best if we didn’t re-sign Junior unless he would take less money. Unfortunately we signed him for a long contract with a pay increase. Still a chance it will work out ok, but from what I saw this season it has already screwed us.

I disagree TS, I think we need to take a risk. Doing the same as what we have been has got us only so far, if we keep playing it safe nothing will change. Whether or not Paps is the right risk, I don’t know. Personally he seems the type to not take short cuts. His character is first class.

I dare say any club including ours would do their due diligence and stringent medicals to assure that their potential signing would be a decent investment.

T.S Quint

It would all come down to what he would cost.

True.
He is already under contract, so has a nominal value to work from. He could demand decent money from a struggling club who actually does need to take a huge risk.

Or the Storm might just decide to hold onto him. Or he might decide he doesn’t want to leave the Storm. Stranger things have happened.

King-Gutho94

Nick Cotric would boost our outside backs considerably. His role should be simple become the Brian To'o of our side just cart the ball out of our end like he used too at the start of his career at Canberra.

The bloke played for Australia & NSW he can play not sure what's happened in the past 3 years could be a lack of confidence but moving to the Dogs seemed to be worst thing to happen he hasn't been the same since that move.

He is still young enough to to get back to form of the early part of his career.

King-Gutho94

Why are we so insistent on moving Guth?? He was still our best player last year and when he wasn’t on the field we were defensively totally embarrassing. Paps might improve our attack but he’s pretty average defensively especially compared to Guth.
14 tries in like 120 mins we conceded when Gutho was off.

Those 2 games especially against the Sharks and Titans that 10-15 min period he was off due to a BS HIA call from the bunker and a sinbin cost us in those tight games.

Cloeel

Agree with this.
I thought it would have been best if we didn’t re-sign Junior unless he would take less money. Unfortunately we signed him for a long contract with a pay increase. Still a chance it will work out ok, but from what I saw this season it has already screwed us.

Junior was at peak of his powers during last contract renewal. There was zero chance of him taking unders.

Yeah i dare say had the dolphins been throwing the kitchen sink at Junior now, as opposed to 12 months ago, we might of said, cool here is a soap dish to take with you, bye. .... although i also assume the dolphins would have only offered a laundry tub after juniors 2023 ...... hopefully he can get his shit back together. Maybe the boxing will help with fitness and fire in the belly

If we wanted to Offload Junior now I think we would get a reasonable amount back. I don't believe he is on 950k. Maybe 800-850k. I think the Bulldogs would be desperate for a guy like Junior. They wouldn't pay full freight but I am sure clubs will offer him close to 700 or atleast 650k. Would we be prepared to chip in 150k? If only 100k chip I would probably do it. I'd then make Grieg a starter and promote Betham to the bench.

yy_cheng

If we wanted to Offload Junior now I think we would get a reasonable amount back. I don't believe he is on 950k. Maybe 800-850k. I think the Bulldogs would be desperate for a guy like Junior. They wouldn't pay full freight but I am sure clubs will offer him close to 700 or atleast 650k. Would we be prepared to chip in 150k? If only 100k chip I would probably do it. I'd then make Grieg a starter and promote Betham to the bench.
I'd like to see Betham really hit the gym and become really hard. I reckon he reminds me of Fui.

Just make him hard like Fui or Olam and let his intent and speed rip through.

TheRam

Good luck to MA. By the way Nick Lenaz is about to sign for Manly.

I reckon it’s between us and the Dragons in relation to Papenhuyzen assuming the rumour is true. If we miss out we could go after Sloan as he wants to play fullback or Lomax because he is on big coin and wants to play there too. I still reckon he is a centre and not a fullback.

I know the club rate Apa Twidle and he should be ready by the time Gutherson’s contract is up. That’s the only reason why we possibly won’t sign a young fullback and I understand their thinking. All these thoughts of moving Gutherson from his position is silly talk in my opinion especially moving him to centre. He has too much to give as a fullback with his ball playing and defence.

Isn't Apa Twidle one of the players that @Stagger eel put in the 'Not Convinced' category?

But you say the club rate him. OK then, but wow. I mean Stagger isn't a dumb dumb like Pou who flogs himself mercilessly over plod. So it's very interesting and without knowing anything about this young player, I almost would side with Stagger then the club who have gotten it so terribly wrong more times then not on the players that they rate over the years and then they just disappear or never quite get there. How old is the kid and is he of decent size and speed? What are his strengths and weaknesses? Anyone?

Will be interesting to see what develops.

Isn't Apa Twidle one of the players that @Stagger eel put in the 'Not Convinced' category?

But you say the club rate him. OK then, but wow. I mean Stagger isn't a dumb dumb like Pou who flogs himself mercilessly over plod. So it's very interesting and without knowing anything about this young player, I almost would side with Stagger then the club who have gotten it so terribly wrong more times then not on the players that they rate over the years and then they just disappear or never quite get there. How old is the kid and is he of decent size and speed? What are his strengths and weaknesses? Anyone?

Will be interesting to see what develops.
His strength, has tackle breaking ability and plays similar to Tedesco. Plus his attitude is excellent and is always one of the fittest for his age.

TheRam

I disagree. I think him being named an immortal was tokenistic. Brett Kenny, Ray Price and Peter Sterling all deserved it more than him. I’d argue at origin level that Gene Miles was every bit as good as him.

I also remember when he once said that ‘Rugby League did nothing for me’ or words to that effect during the Super League War and let’s not forget his 10 second political career.

Mal was a great player but in my opinion he should not have been named an immortal.

Apologies in advance, Pete. I appreciate he is a mate and you’re a loyal bloke but he is overrated in my humble opinion.

What Pete wrote was a great little anecdote of a meet up with an old mate, but the Immortal stuff, Avenger you are 100% right. Not only is the guy not as good as the plays you have mentioned and deserve it way more, but the guy was a absolute selfish joke and embarrassment to himself and the game during the SL war and all his footy and media mates want to simply forget and erase history as it happened, while all those loyal and great players get ignored.

Well I suppose as long as there are still old coots like us around that lived through those days, we will always know and remember exactly who players like Mal really are and exactly how good or great they were on the football field. Mal wasn't a particularly fancy, or skilful or super fast player. But what he was was a bulldozer of a player and a tough nut in an exceptionally gifted team. From where I sit he was a great player, but not quite in the Immortal class sphere of players. Just a rung below and add his off field clangers, I would never have rewarded him with games most esteemed and illustrious honor.

And as for his insight, wisdom and TV presence when on FOX League panel shows? Well lets say I would rather go wash my balls. The charisma of a walnut and I'm being kind.