Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I said no leaks out of the Tigers....Caryannis is thick with Clearys and Panthers.
Certainly has slowed up at the moment.... been lots of shuffling to help Benji long term in his role but it's a lot for a player with very little coaching experience regardless of the brains trust around him. Richardson used the media in his past roles very well.

84 Baby

Yep. But it shows the Tigers have made a good step in moving up from the 17th (apparently) best administration in the League. Would love to have him at Parra
Yeah but Jimmy Sarantinos is doing such a great job why would we ever think of replacing him with someone better.

Its not the Parra way.
I believe we approached Richo around the cap drama years and he turned us down. Sometimes you can’t just sign the best people and at that level it’s impossible to say it’s person X’s fault because that person is only one step down from having to blame the entire Eels supporter base. Which to be fair if I were to blame someone for us having the longest drought, they’d be my scapegoat. Although there’s certainly some of that base (Fitzy, Spags and their yes men) that deserves more of the blame

84 Baby

I am assuming that you are being sarcastic with your comment above.
Apart from the fact we haven't won a premiership since Sarantino took over in 2019, where exactly is he not doing a good (or even great) job in your opinion?

Is it in the increase in funds to support the football club (approx. 45%) that he has gotten from the PLC coffers, or the 60% increase in merchandise sales, 40% increase in memberships or 35% increase in gate takings? These are all his measures of success, as is our performance on the field.

In the 5 years he has been in charge we have gone 5th/3rd/6th/4th/10th (80% in the semis) vs the 5 years previously where we went 16th/4th/14th/12th/10th (80% out of the semis). Although the grand prize has eluded us, by anyones measure this is a vast improvement. Remember, only 3 teams have won a GF in this time and only 6 teams, including us have played in one.

I think you need to aim your ire elsewhere mate.
Yeah I had privilege of talking to some people about him. While they may have had some bias, it changed my opinion of him. The only criticism I have of him and other management is that they overanalyse, when sometimes you need to take a risk.

King-Gutho94

Richard Penisini being out the season hurts us in terms of developing a position of what is now traditional weakness
Just saw that what a shame.

Hopefully the young kid mentally gets himself right with his rehab and stays the course knowing there should be better days ahead.

Black Panther

I feel he could have a greater prescence around the game by putting pressure on the NRL a bit more especially in the media to give us more leverage with certain things and dictate the narrative instead of someone else letting the narrative dictate.

We seem like a club that just rolls over the moment NRL shaft us. And happy to just go with the flow.

Blake Solly is always in the media whinging/pushing souths agenda's looking for. Now he carries on like a sook but gee Souths i reckon Souths get more favours then us.

Brian Fletcher is the same for Penrith - He is always using the media to get some sort of leverage from some angle.

The NRL is a dog-eat dog world weather we like it or not. Its a ruthless industry and you need to use the media to your advantage in some scenarios.

Can you imagine if a club like those 2 or the roosters copped a draw like we did last year to start off with about 4 teams off the bye. Throw in the Western Sydney Derby on a Thursday. They would have been screaming from the rooftops about it.

Sarantinos or someone at the club should have been blowing up deluxe even if its parra source for example to the media on how much that cost the club that night that a premium game like Parra v Penrith a GF rematch should never be on a Thursday Night it got 16k when any other timeslot like a Friday or Sunday arvo would get 28k how much did that cost the club in gate takings.

Even though the decision was made its reminding the NRL we wont cop it without a stink moving forward.

The Matto debacle should never have happened i know everyone was emotional after a GF loss but how that got signed off by the club was simply inexcusable. I don't think any other club's management would have accepted that. And why not tell the NRL we need more time then 36 hours after a GF to make a decision he had 6 months to his next match.
What exactly has Fletcher angled for at Penrith? Or more to the point, what favours has he got from the NRL.

Soren Lorenson

What exactly has Fletcher angled for at Penrith? Or more to the point, what favours has he got from the NRL.
Rainbow Cartoon GIF by Daniel Spacek

Here he is, charging in to defend Penruff's honour.