Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

King-Gutho94

Schooled by the opposition coaching staff. Chin snr said in the presser they kept going there knowing we had a 2nd rower defending in the centres etc.
Blind Freddy could see there was a problem. Half time was the opportunity to reset...nope...stupidity again of the highest. Taago would've been laughing his tits off knowing he was making 30+ metres almost every run.
Glaring and obvious amateurism from all the coaching staff.
But BAs a good bloke
Those comments from Cleary are interesting because there have been a couple of times in the past 2 years where the opposition have had a crippled player or a mid-game reshuffle on the edge and we haven't deviated from our game plan on match day.

Is it coaching or the players.

Prime example was Cam Munster had a broken thumb in round 1 last year and we barely ran at him in that 2nd half when he was clearly hampered by it.

Against the chooks last year when Teddy was knocked out they had to move a plodder in Drew Hutchinson whose lateral movement is a slow as a front row forward out into the centres they had move Suaalii to FB and Manu wasnt playing yet we barely targeted him.

A week later Melbourne played the Roosters and isolated Hutchinson about 6 or 7 times and scored 3 or 4 tries down that edge. It was almost a lesson on what we should have done a week earlier.

lingard

*Mark Who

Yeah, he'll do. Let's get him.

If you’re going to play the stats game, it looks like the scramble tidied those line breaks up, cos we were leading at the point Kelma went off. Your turn.
Mate the only place we were ahead was on the scoreboard, we could barely get out of our end. All they had to do was throw the ball 2 passes wide and it was easy metres. The lengths the huggers will go to just defend some of the worst coaching I’ve seen in over 35 years of watching footy. It’s amazing the only people disagreeing with this are happy to cup Bea Arthur’s balls on a daily basis.

Sounds like England cricket team trying to claim a moral victory.
More like keeping it real with the BA pile on crew.

After very loss we get “coaches” on here who all know better than the professionals.

not-happy-jan-deborah-kennedy.gif

King-Gutho94

Anyway i think we will beat Moanly this week back at home at our Fortress not the asbestos shithole they call a fortress at 4 Pines Park.

Manly have had 2 big games where they up for in Vegas and the 1st home game yesterday. And i expect a vegas hangover and let-down will get them next week in front of a packed out Blue & Gold commbank. I think our forwards will lay enough of a platform that will make it harder for there outside backs which is there strength.

lingard

To my knowledge, we have made approaches to each of the below sometime prior to the start of the 2024 pre-season (and since the end of the 2021 season):
- Staggs
- Best
- Lomax
- Sloan
- Kris
- Savage
- Talau
- Tupou
- Kelly

There may also be others, but these are the ones I am aware of and can remember.
And we couldn't even get one of them?

Legal Eel

If you’re going to play the stats game, it looks like the scramble tidied those line breaks up, cos we were leading at the point Kelma went off. Your turn.
So to be clear, you are suggesting that the acceptable defensive formation and strategy on the edge is as follows:

a) concede 20-30 metres on the outside;

b) scramble across;

c) Hope they make a mistake,

I suppose its consistent with our attacking strategy - crash into them and if they miss, we score....if they tackle us, it was just bad luck.

King-Gutho94

More like keeping it real with the BA pile on crew.

After very loss we get “coaches” on here who all know better than the professionals.

not-happy-jan-deborah-kennedy.gif
I would say that's the same for nearly every online fan forum for every sporting team where fans demand the coach be sacked after loss.

Just a bit of steam and frustration from the fanbase.

After 2 rounds we are in this comp up to our eyeballs. I think the performance the other night considering everything that went against us reinforces that.

Doesn't mean the flaws we already know shouldn't be called out to be fixed.

BA isn't perfect no coach is there was a bit of stubbornness in what happened the other night.

As the last 20 mins after Kelma went off there was lucky to be 1 maybe 2 line breaks down that side. So whatever happened was plugged temporarily or it was just coincidence Penrith stopped going there.

The use of Hands had every right to be questioned. We basically played with 15 blokes the other night as Bailey was gone after 2 mins and Hands played the last 3 mins. Its hard enough to beat Penrith with 17 let alone 15.

If Hands isn't going to be used then what he is doing in the 17 like its a complete waste.

So to be clear, you are suggesting that the acceptable defensive formation and strategy on the edge is as follows:

a) concede 20-30 metres on the outside;

b) scramble across;

c) Hope they make a mistake,

I suppose its consistent with our attacking strategy - crash into them and if they miss, we score....if they tackle us, it was just bad luck.
Try again, this time when a team has lost a player and had to reshuffle defensive structures. Plugging holes with a player who does not play in that position full time and trying to make do for 77 minutes.

Honestly, I don't know how to read you. You try really hard to come across as a smart person, but most of the time you disappoint by failing to pick up the most basic premise of the topic, counsellor.

Then, when you come across a person whose opinion differs to yours, you melt and call them a troll. Man up FFS. It's sink or swim in Phillip Street.

LOL, that’s gold.
At one stage they had made 1600m to our 1000m. Keep telling yourself we were in the game our courage and scramble was fantastic but they bombed 3 or 4 tries and still pretty clunky in attack. Moral victory for us!! We need to play Bazball ffs!!

lol at idiots saying ‘but they didnt score from those 5 line breaks’. The line breaks result in a quick play the ball , a very staggered defensive line, more pressure and even more fatigue.
Another reason the last 10 mins when we finally got some ball we were too fatigued to do anything with it.

lol at idiots saying ‘but they didnt score from those 5 line breaks’. The line breaks result in a quick play the ball , a very staggered defensive line, more pressure and even more fatigue.
LOL at the idiots who think that their band-aid solution would have faired any better. Facts are that we were leading when Kelma went off. As much as you try and spin it, we were coping and in front. You can't deny that, so take your arguments to the I hate BA thread and leave it at that. Cos your position is transparent. You're entitled to it of course, but you guys are flogging a dead horse here.

Gotta say that there is a stark contrast bewteen the TCT instant reaction podcast and this forum.

They are ropeable over lost opportunities because of dumb ref decisions and run analysis of Kelma vs using Bryce or others (strengthening a weakness vs weakening a strength). Here, we lost ONLY because we have a shit coach.

Is it LOL at TCT or LOL at you lot ? I think we need a poll.