Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Stevie

Guys a couple of points. 5/8's have to defend similar numbers I reckon than a fullback although a fullback is flat out most of the time.
Hayne has successfully defended at centre in the world cup and at 5/8 he would be positioned similarly out wide and that world cup he demolished them in attack. At 5/8 I have no doubt he would be outstanding in defence with plenty in attack to upset teams.

ash411

Guys a couple of points. 5/8's have to defend similar numbers I reckon than a fullback although a fullback is flat out most of the time.
Hayne has successfully defended at centre in the world cup and at 5/8 he would be positioned similarly out wide and that world cup he demolished them in attack. At 5/8 I have no doubt he would be outstanding in defence with plenty in attack to upset teams.
The thing I do like about a Hayne/Norman halves combo, is we'd have a ball running half (Hayne) and a kicking half (Norms), both of whom can do the other if needed.

I'm starting to come around on this Hayne at 5/8th thing...

Stevie

The thing I do like about a Hayne/Norman halves combo, is we'd have a ball running half (Hayne) and a kicking half (Norms), both of whom can do the other if needed.

I'm starting to come around on this Hayne at 5/8th thing...

Mate remember when we had those awful teams a few years ago and Hayne would often kick us out of trouble. He also can kick some of the biggest ugliest bombs I have seen in good position. I think with an off season there he would be great.

ash411

Mate remember when we had those awful teams a few years ago and Hayne would often kick us out of trouble. He also can kick some of the biggest ugliest bombs I have seen in good position. I think with an off season there he would be great.
agreed, although I'm talking kicks inside the 20, like what we saw on Friday night, That's where Norms would come in..

Man I would love to see some Hayne goal line drop outs again though.. they were awesome to watch.

Kornstar

agreed, although I'm talking kicks inside the 20, like what we saw on Friday night, That's where Norms would come in..

Man I would love to see some Hayne goal line drop outs again though.. they were awesome to watch.

Give me Kelly's any day, they're much cheaper...........

That's not Bigfella's point though. People questioning whether he can play 5/8th was his point, not the value of his contract compared to others.
Obviously Hayne could play in the halves. He could play front row if he needed to. The question is whether a team would get full value out of him in the halves.

Where's the evidence that he will be poor in defence? Opinion? That's fine if it's your opinion but you can't state it as fact!
I don't think he would be poor in defence, but the extra workload would surely detract from his attacking output. He was never known as a high involvement player anyway.

phantom eel

Where's the evidence that he will be poor in defence? Opinion? That's fine if it's your opinion but you can't state it as fact!
He has been unsuccessful in the handful of club games where he played centre or five eighth, and his attack suffered. There were only a handful of games wgere he was selected out of position for a reason!

In relation to Stevie's point about World Cup, it's a bit different defending in the centres with world class players alongside 1-17 absorbimg the hits. In club footy for 80mins coaches will run their big boppas out wide to target Hayne and diminish his energy for attack - just like last time we experimented with him in the front line. With two years of not having tackled anyone Hayne would be a poor value signing, imo.

If you want proof Korny, just research and re-watch those past games - the ones your rose-coloured Hayne glasses have had you forget!

eel01s

If BA wants Hayne, then I am happy to have him back for next year and beyond. However he should be on nowhere near the money Foran was on ($1.2m under the cap).

No more than $800k IMO, with the balance of Foran's money for a decent prop.

I like the idea of front loading some contracts for the remainder of this years Foran contact ($300k).

oldmancraigy

I don't really understand... if Hayne does come back, why wouldn't we just play him at fullback?

1. Hayne
2. French
3. Jennings
4. Gutherson
5. Radradra
6. Norman
7. Robson/ Takairangi

French seems to be doing fine on the wing at the moment, I can't see any reason to fiddle around with a 2 time Dally M winner and the position they have greatest ability to impact a game from in order to give the spot to a 6 gamer....

Takairangi would be just fine off the bench as an impact player. Superb cover in place of injury (can play in the halves, forwards, or centres, able to shuffle Gutho to the wing and French to FB etc - covers the whole backline) - and in the event of nobody being hurt, Taka can easily play a wide running 2nd rower role, or a meterage through the middle role. Legitimate starter if we lose someone for a few weeks/ season.

You blokes talking about Hayne somewhere other than Fullback must be related to Loz and Sticky. Don't pick him at FB for NSW, we don't want to win a series....
You pick him at FB, he can attack on both edges, Robson is a solid tackler, cheap, reliable. No frills, but how many frills do we need with Norman/ Hayne/ Semi - let alone the rest of the backline. And Takairangi can get on and force the issue if needs be, bench Robson or slide him to hooker.

Stevie

If BA wants Hayne, then I am happy to have him back for next year and beyond. However he should be on nowhere near the money Foran was on ($1.2m under the cap).

No more than $800k IMO, with the balance of Foran's money for a decent prop.

I like the idea of front loading some contracts for the remainder of this years Foran contact ($300k).

Agreed.

With a backline line like...
1 Gutherson (Kicker)
2 Semi
3 Jennings
4 Taka
5 French
6 Hayne
7 Norms
I think we have a backline good enough to being the top 2 teams of the comp.
I do agree though I would like to have another good prop and potentially another good backup centre.

Stevie

I don't really understand... if Hayne does come back, why wouldn't we just play him at fullback?

1. Hayne
2. French
3. Jennings
4. Gutherson
5. Radradra
6. Norman
7. Robson/ Takairangi

French seems to be doing fine on the wing at the moment, I can't see any reason to fiddle around with a 2 time Dally M winner and the position they have greatest ability to impact a game from in order to give the spot to a 6 gamer....

Takairangi would be just fine off the bench as an impact player. Superb cover in place of injury (can play in the halves, forwards, or centres, able to shuffle Gutho to the wing and French to FB etc - covers the whole backline) - and in the event of nobody being hurt, Taka can easily play a wide running 2nd rower role, or a meterage through the middle role. Legitimate starter if we lose someone for a few weeks/ season.

You blokes talking about Hayne somewhere other than Fullback must be related to Loz and Sticky. Don't pick him at FB for NSW, we don't want to win a series....
You pick him at FB, he can attack on both edges, Robson is a solid tackler, cheap, reliable. No frills, but how many frills do we need with Norman/ Hayne/ Semi - let alone the rest of the backline. And Takairangi can get on and force the issue if needs be, bench Robson or slide him to hooker.

Mate Robson has said he is retiring at the end of the year publically.

Joshuatheeel

I prefer Hayne at fullback. His strength is he running game and ability to break tackles. Him and Semi at the back ensures we will start most sets in a good position.

Playing in the halves means he has too make more tackles then he needs to, why would we want that ? Wouldn't we prefer him returning kicks rather then making tackles?

Also in the halves he has to organise the side and set up "plays" for the team. Yeah he can still run the ball at times but he wouldn't have as many opportunities, while defending / organising would potentially lesson his running game.

Wouldn't we prefer our halves to be used to put Hayne into the position to run the ball, put him one on one with the opposition rather then him trying to do this as a half for other players in the team ?

At fullback we can still use his kicking / passing game.

Stevie

I think the main argument for him at 5/8 Joshua is that we do not disrupt our current backline and not have to go out and buy a new half meaning he fits into the team better. If he is at one then likely Taka takes up a bench spot plus we still likely need a 5/8 or 7 and a prop.

Joshuatheeel

I think the main argument for him at 5/8 Joshua is that we do not disrupt our current backline and not have to go out and buy a new half meaning he fits into the team better. If he is at one then likely Taka takes up a bench spot plus we still likely need a 5/8 or 7 and a prop.

Really it probably just means choosing between Gutherson / French for a wing spot. And there is a fair chance a backline player will be injured. While Taka could move to the bench as you mention.

I would just pick the best players in their best position.

I would go looking for a "cheapie" half that is good enough for a top 17 spot ( not back up). I don't think it would disrupt our side to much, gee how many injuries has our backline / halves had this year ?

If Hayne was to return this year you would probably put him at fullback with French and Gordon on the wing seeing that Semi is basically gone for the rest of the year with injury. French probably isn't ready yet for fullback anyway.

Robson is more than capable of playing 7 for the rest of the year which is why we bought him anyway. Assuming he plays well I would have no issue in giving him another year as a back up hooker/half. He has always been better than Kelly and Dargan is still eligible for the 20's

Kornstar

He has been unsuccessful in the handful of club games where he played centre or five eighth, and his attack suffered. There were only a handful of games wgere he was selected out of position for a reason!

In relation to Stevie's point about World Cup, it's a bit different defending in the centres with world class players alongside 1-17 absorbimg the hits. In club footy for 80mins coaches will run their big boppas out wide to target Hayne and diminish his energy for attack - just like last time we experimented with him in the front line. With two years of not having tackled anyone Hayne would be a poor value signing, imo.

If you want proof Korny, just research and re-watch those past games - the ones your rose-coloured Hayne glasses have had you forget!

I have watched those games and I still fail to see any proof.

Like I said, your opinion is fine but when you state something as fact that isn't true of course people will argue.

http://m.nrl.com/telstrapremiership...clubid/9/playerid/468/seasonid/5/default.aspx

Im not sure if this helps you?

Kornstar

FYI, I'm not advocating for Hayne to play 5/8th, where he plays is the coaches decision.

I would probably start him at fullback for familiarity and where he was the Dally M winner in his most recent season.

There is no doubt though (and he conceded it when he was playing) that fullback will not be where he finishes his career, if he chooses to come back that is.