What if it was your son?
Would be pissed off with him, as that is not how I taught him how to treat women!!
What if it was your son?
So you've witnessed domestic violence first hand and then saw the perpetrator get away with it due to having better legal representation?Having seen first hand how legitimate claims can be overturned when you have money to pay for better than decent lawyers despite the evidence suggesting otherwise just helps to continue the cycle of abuse.
Given his size and ugly head I'd say the intimidation of it would be much worse than the actual dousing. But the intimidation charge has been dropped so what goes on? Did he do it in a smartarse, niggling way rather than aggressively?
As long as its not Canadian Club stubbies.Do you reckon Kenny drinks Rasberry Vodka Cruisers?
If it was at boiling temperature wouldn't it have been a gas?Would it have been a joke if that liquid had of been at boiling temperature?
It's still only a liquid after all....
Given his size and ugly head I'd say the intimidation of it would be much worse than the actual dousing. But the intimidation charge has been dropped so what goes on? Did he do it in a smartarse, niggling way rather than aggressively?
If it was at boiling temperature wouldn't it have been a gas?
especially when no conviction was even recordedhen why is a 6 game suspension seen as fair?
You mean like all our lives?Chances are if sacked and gets a normal job his life may spiral downhill.
I dont think its been overblown or trivialised .... the law says its assult if you squirt water on someoneThat's a good point.
That's what I don't understand - the intimidation factor was dropped, and she doesn't fear for her safety.
Couple that with the magistrate saying it was small scale, and what are we left with?
Maybe I am misunderstanding, but either the whole saga was overblown, or the magistrate has trivialised the issue by declaring it wasn't that big an issue.
Kenny definitely needs help, and the issue is no laughing matter - but it does sound like it's a small fish case.
And no doubt it was done in an aggressive manner and whether the charge was dropped or not, it'd be a safe bet there was intimidation
And because of that I reckon any other player who debuted before the NRL implemented its head injury damage control would have carte blanche to take legal action.McManus suffered at least some of the damage well before the current concussion protocols came into place.
I dont think its been overblown or trivialised .... the law says its assult if you squirt water on someone
And no doubt it was done in an aggressive manner and whether the charge was dropped or not, it'd be a safe bet there was intimidation
we also dont know why he was so pissed off in the first place .... and we can all say what we think is right n wrong, but fact is none of us know what really happened .... but needless to say it seems some unfortunate shit went down, his missus was unhappy about it at the time and cops were involved, they have probably got over it a little now and hence no avo and dropping of the second charge .... i also think the fact he decided to plead guilty to the charge and seems very apologetic is working in his favour
That's a good point.
That's what I don't understand - the intimidation factor was dropped, and she doesn't fear for her safety.
Couple that with the magistrate saying it was small scale, and what are we left with?
Maybe I am misunderstanding, but either the whole saga was overblown, or the magistrate has trivialised the issue by declaring it wasn't that big an issue.
Kenny definitely needs help, and the issue is no laughing matter - but it does sound like it's a small fish case.
Id have serious doubts cops would have been called if it was all in fun or an accident .... but yeah i dont really knowI don't think we can assume that tbh
Because it will make an example of him. Not sacking him sets a different type of example, and players need to learn that if they can't behave themselves on the piss then they need to stop drinking. Or they will have to get a real job and watch their life spiral downwards just like the rest of us.Kenny did the wrong thing and needs some time away from the game to get himself right, but sacking him would be the worst thing for him and his family. How will that help anyone??
At least get his RSA. Pouring alcohol on somebody in bed isn't very responsible.Maybe a drinks handling class.
For the intimidation charge to stick, the young lady would need to have been prepared to give sworn evidence on her state of mind. She may, or may not, have felt quite intimidated at the time of event in December, but as she states that she does not feel intimidated now.....there was little chance that charge would proceed.
There's certainly a big difference between throwing a drink on your partner as part of a practical joke when they fall asleep sunbaking or in some other non-aggressive circumstance, and doing so in the middle of heated row.....particularly when you are twice the size of your partner. It certainly wouldn't have made her feel safer at the time.
It's a tough call for all involved. The NRL can't do nothing....an offense has been admitted to (even though it is clearly not the same as pushing or punching the victim).....you can imagine what would happen if they go super easy here and then next week some other dickhead knocks 7 bells out of his wife.
how do you pour a drink on someone aggressively?And no doubt it was done in an aggressive manner
Id have serious doubts cops would have been called if it was all in fun or an accident .... but yeah i dont really know
I reckon i'd be scared of the merkin if he was upset with me