Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

McManus suffered at least some of the damage well before the current concussion protocols came into place. A disclaimer would be unlikely to be effective unless the NRL could show that they had taken, and consistently applied, all reasonable steps to prevent long-term injury from serial concussions. And even then......I'm not sure it would help.
You may be right about the timing for McManus (god knows he was showing signs of concussion when he played Origin) and yeah disclaimer alone can't work. I'm just saying that really the only reason a player should be able to sue for injury is if they are forced, coerced or misinformed into playing with a known preexisting or under healed injury, and given the high profileness, dollar values and long term ramifications for individuals and sport I am amazed that it would still happen

What Kenny did was absolutely stupid and deserves to be suspended. But whomever says he needs to be sacked is a dope. He needs help and rehabilitation. I reckon the nrl will give him 10 weeks.

How will sacking him benefit his family? The bloke still needs to pay bills and support his ex partner and kids with $$. Sacking is not the answer. Sacking him will make the situation even worse for his family.

Snoochies

He's been stood down to stop the backlash of if they didn't. They'll let the situation die down and quietly bring him back into the team and people would have forgotten. Had they not stepped him down then the media have their ammunition to have a field day. No one will care in a couple of weeks and he'll be cramping up soon enough. Time to pour some water on the fire.

Kenny did the wrong thing and needs some time away from the game to get himself right, but sacking him would be the worst thing for him and his family. How will that help anyone??

By the way Greg, I am not condoning anything, and it appears you have some experince of these incidents, perhaps at a higher scale.

I don't want to see or expect young men being treated completely differently if they happen to play football, the over the top responses is equally as as bad as ignoring what the magistrate said.

I think he has been treated differently because of his status as a footballer. In moreso that it's a case that probably shouldn't have gone as far as it did. He has had an AVO put in place. What he did as the magistrate has suggested is highly demeaning.

Look, sacking the bloke is excessive. He certainly, as the magistrate has suggested, needs direction and counselling. It's not easy when you have grown up with it but it shouldn't justify what has happened either. A suspension is warranted IMO and I do feel that six games is about right - but given that many others have escaped any sort of suspension I fully understand that being deemed as excessive as well.

Just because it's "only a glass of alcohol" shouldn't mean that it should be written off as a joke.

Joshuatheeel

Perhaps someon should read up the judgement and see what the magistrate has said. To paraphrase, it was at the complete lower end if the scale and the person involved needs to have some support and counselling and assistance to get on with life

And that still doesn't make it right! It's still a proven domestic violence charge against a woman. And I am sure the situation wasn't as simple as KE just pouring water over his ex.

I know if it was my daughter I wouldn't be feeling any better knowing the judge said "it was of the lower end of the scale ....."

Joshuatheeel

I think he has been treated differently because of his status as a footballer. In moreso that it's a case that probably shouldn't have gone as far as it did. He has had an AVO put in place. What he did as the magistrate has suggested is highly demeaning.

Not so sure, I know of a similar situation when the police are pushing pretty hard with the AVO / charges.

lingard

Given circumstances I reckon lengthy suspension (6-8 weeks) plus he has to attend some sort of management class.

Then again given timing (right after Semi) plus past indiscretions, could find himself at Centrelink for awhile

Maybe a drinks handling class.

Stevie

On a side note, does anyone think Avaava could be a great wide running back rower? He whacks in defence and is a very good runner of the ball.

Not to be inflammatory, but:

* if the magistrate said it's at the "lower end date of the scale"
* the charges of intimidation dismissed

Then why is a 6 game suspension seen as fair?

I don't condone domestic violence against anyone.

However, if his ex-partner said she doesn't fear for her safety, and the incident is on the record as being described as small scale, then I, personally, cannot see why a big punishment like a 6 game ban should stand.

Imo, the punishment Edwards should serve should be seeking counselling; if it takes 6 weeks, then so be it - but the length of time it will take to re-educate him and rehabilitate him should not be an arbitrary number.

I reckon Hasson might be a bit of a surprise packet this season. He was averaging close to 10mtrs per run in 2015 beside a terrible pack.
Last season was basically injury plagued. He has bulked up noticeably. Anyone have any feedback on how training and what BA thinks of him.

Look, sacking the bloke is excessive. He certainly, as the magistrate has suggested, needs direction and counselling. It's not easy when you have grown up with it but it shouldn't justify what has happened either. A suspension is warranted IMO and I do feel that six games is about right - but given that many others have escaped any sort of suspension I fully understand that being deemed as excessive as well.

Just because it's "only a glass of alcohol" shouldn't mean that it should be written off as a joke.
The AVO was not put in place ...

An application for an apprehended violence order was also dismissed after Ms Campbell indicated she had no fears for her safety and did not require it.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...domestic-violence-charge-20170226-gult5q.html

lingard

And that still doesn't make it right! It's still a proven domestic violence charge against a woman. And I am sure the situation wasn't as simple as KE just pouring water over his ex.

I know if it was my daughter I wouldn't be feeling any better knowing the judge said "it was of the lower end of the scale ....."

What if it was your son?

I'd be pretty pissed as a fan if Kenny sits out more than a couple.....he threw a drink on someone, it's not like he whacked her ffs. Yeah it's not the done thing, but seriously...

If the situations were reversed absolutely nothing would come of it.
Given his size and ugly head I'd say the intimidation of it would be much worse than the actual dousing. But the intimidation charge has been dropped so what goes on? Did he do it in a smartarse, niggling way rather than aggressively?

That's a good point.

That's what I don't understand - the intimidation factor was dropped, and she doesn't fear for her safety.

Couple that with the magistrate saying it was small scale, and what are we left with?

Maybe I am misunderstanding, but either the whole saga was overblown, or the magistrate has trivialised the issue by declaring it wasn't that big an issue.

Kenny definitely needs help, and the issue is no laughing matter - but it does sound like it's a small fish case.