Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

If De Gois and Beardo were sharing a lift, Beardo would probably drop an atomic egg steamer that would bring tears to De Gois' eyes. Then Beardo would probably blame the stench on Todd, even if Todd wasn't in the lift.
This Beardo character sounds like a real merkin.

Soren Lorenson

Have we seen enough from Cam King to give him a new contract ? I say hell yes.

I suspect that we might not be the only club interested but.
Have we seen enough from Cam King to say it was a good move not matching Peat's demands? I say most likely at this stage. We might have just saved ourselves 250 grand if you factor KP's salary in.

(I was leaning gently towards paying Peats what he wanted back there FTR.)

Do people think it's possible to play well at hooker without posting good statistics? Do you reckon there are any other quality dummy halves in the game with stats as poor as King's?

Chipmunk

Do people think it's possible to play well at hooker without posting good statistics? Do you reckon there are any other quality dummy halves in the game with stats as poor as King's?

His win percentage stats this season is the best of any hooker in the NRL.

You can come up with stats that say whatever you want your argument to say.

For every stat that is poor I'm sure someone could find one that is good.

Individual stats never tell the full story.

About time a club took their duty of care to players seriously. Why Parra didn't medically retire him earlier so insurance company paid his wages is beyond me.

Does anybody know if his pay counts on the cap?

The club does make the call on med retirement Bro.

Here's one for you @parra pete

Talking to a bunch of blokes up the pub last night talking about Parra's best team, I mentioned Ken Thornett, the mayor.

Old fella: I used to play footy with him

Me: f**k off, Pull the other one

Him: I did

Me: Who did you play for (thinking an NRL team)

Him: Coonabarabran RLC, he played captain coach for 2 years 2 GFs and we won one late 60s.

He went on to tell me that the Mayor played lock for them, old mate played hooker in the days when scrums were actually competitive.

Me: How come he played lock ?

Him: He always said "I wanna be where the action is and keep an eye on you fellas."

I never knew that about the Mayor, damn good story, many beers and stories were exchanged all night.

His win percentage stats this season is the best of any hooker in the NRL.
Do you think he has played a statistically significant sample? Besides the Broncos he has faced Melbourne without their Origin players, plus the bottom eight Bulldogs and Tigers.
You can come up with stats that say whatever you want your argument to say.
But can you? This is the point of my previous post. Tell me which stats you expect to see and then we can have a look at them to test your hypothesis. Or do you expect to see a random distribution of statistics through the NRL's hookers?
For every stat that is poor I'm sure someone could find one that is good.
So which of King's stats do you think would be good? Where do you expect his stats to compare with the other hookers in the NRL?
Individual stats never tell the full story.
Agreed but do you think they tell none of the story? Do you not expect that the best hookers will have better stats than the worst ones? Would the stats be completely random or are they likely to represent something happening on the field?

Chipmunk

Do you think he has played a statistically significant sample? Besides the Broncos he has faced Melbourne without their Origin players, plus the bottom eight Bulldogs and Tigers.

But can you? This is the point of my previous post. Tell me which stats you expect to see and then we can have a look at them to test your hypothesis. Or do you expect to see a random distribution of statistics through the NRL's hookers?

So which of King's stats do you think would be good? Where do you expect his stats to compare with the other hookers in the NRL?

Agreed but do you think they tell none of the story? Do you not expect that the best hookers will have better stats than the worst ones? Would the stats be completely random or are they likely to represent something happening on the field?

Is there any more important statistic than win/loss? He can only beat what his in front of him. Any other statistics are just over complicating what is otherwise a pretty simple game.

Is there any more important statistic than win/loss?
So you think Cameron King is a better player this year than Josh Hodgson? After all, his win percentage is better.
He can only beat what his in front of him. Any other statistics are just over complicating what is otherwise a pretty simple game.
Wow, so Cheyse Blair is a better centre than Michael Jennings now, because win percentage? I'm glad the game is so simple for you.

So if he had the best stats in tackle effectiveness and LBAs of any hooker in the comp, yet the team had a 0 per cent win rate, then what does that tell you?
It tells you his team mates are f**ked.

Do you know Jarryd Hayne won his Dally M awards in two years where his team only won half its games?

Chipmunk

It tells you his team mates are f**ked.

Do you know Jarryd Hayne won his Dally M awards in two years where his team only won half its games?

Perhaps the teams who won more games weren't a one man team and the better players shared their Dally M points?

And on the other King issue, if he had the best stats and his team had won all their games does that mean his team mates weren't f**ked?

Again, both statistics prove that individual statistics don't demonstrate whether a team wins or loses or not.

Im sure if Brown didn't play all our Middle Forwards would have better individual stats, but would we win more games?

Perhaps the teams who won more games weren't a one man team and the better players shared their Dally M points?

And on the other King issue, if he had the best stats and his team had won all their games does that mean his team mates weren't f**ked?

Again, both statistics prove that individual statistics don't demonstrate whether a team wins or loses or not.

Im sure if Brown didn't play all our Middle Forwards would have better individual stats, but would we win more games?
For a bloke crowing about how simple the game was a few minutes ago you've certainly flipped to hypotheticals in a hurry.

Why is Josh Hodgson considered a better hooker than Cam King if his team wins fewer games?

Chipmunk

So you think Cameron King is a better player this year than Josh Hodgson? After all, his win percentage is better.

Wow, so Cheyse Blair is a better centre than Michael Jennings now, because win percentage? I'm glad the game is so simple for you.

Well who you have in your team all comes down to salary cap. I'm sure Cameron Smith is a better player than Cameron King, but would we win more games with significantly less quality players in other positions because we had a better player at Hooker?

Chipmunk

For a bloke crowing about how simple the game was a few minutes ago you've certainly flipped to hypotheticals in a hurry.

Why is Josh Hodgson considered a better hooker than Cam King if his team wins fewer games?

Does Josh Hodgson have these good stats of the same you want to see high from Cameron King?