Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

Mahoney & Papali’i have each played over 100 NRL games so “there's also 145 games played by guys who are/will no longer with the club” is factually incorrect.
No, he meant in 2022 only... not in their whole careers FFS. Do you really think he would mean that? The OP doesn't have to be clear in his posts mate, that requirement is only for the rest of us.

Although he did count the currently contracted Nathan Brown's 14 games in 2022 as lost experience for 2023 which is a bit presumptious of him and is simply not true.

#falsefacts

We were extremely lucky to have an 80min hooker who didn't get injured and miss a game all season - with Rein only being used as a bench selection twice.
If Mahoney had gotten injured I dare say we would’ve used our backup Rein at hooker instead. And if he couldn’t play 80 minutes in first grade we would’ve used one of the two spare bench slots to cover him, almost certainly Jake Arthur.

Mahoney & Papali’i have each played over 100 NRL games so “there's also 145 games played by guys who are/will no longer with the club” is factually incorrect.
Live by the fact check, die by the fact check
Yeah nah... 145 games played by guys that won't be with us in 2023, that will have to be filled by other in 2023.

Nothing at all to do with how many career games experience are lost/gained in our off-season personnel changes.

No, he meant in 2022 only... not in their whole careers FFS. Do you really think he would mean that? The OP doesn't have to be clear in his posts mate, that requirement is only for the rest of us.

Although he did count the currently contracted Nathan Brown's 14 games in 2022 as lost experience for 2023 which is a bit presumptious of him and is simply not true.

#falsefacts
Still butt hurt? :eek: Looks like you couldn't meet that challenge...

Yes, I'm calling Nathan Brown's departure in my total of 145 game, based on the zero tackle article flagging Tapau's signing - even though I'm not waiting an eternity for the club's official press release (shoc, horror!).
Our resident fact checker has gone off early with including Nathan Brown's 14 games in his analysis.

Not to say it won't happen but i guess accuracy in posts only matters if it isn't Bart doing the posting.
Oh goody, a second consecutive post in my direction about the same thing #livingrentfree

Call me out if it proves wrong - just like I did for a reference to 28 rounds ago that proved wrong 🤷‍♂️

emjaycee

Elizabeth Warren Feminism GIF by Women's History

King-Gutho94

We were extremely lucky to have an 80min hooker who didn't get injured and miss a game all season - with Rein only being used as a bench selection twice.

There's very little probably we'll have the same luck with injuries/playing time in that key position two seasons in a row, regardless of whether Mahoney moved on or not.
Well we were due some luck.

We lost all 3 dummy halves the previous season come finals time & were stuck with Ray Stone who did his best but wasnt ideal.

SneakyEel

Lots of giggles about Tigers being shit but I think they’ve recruited well. Great additions to their forward pack and if they add Nathan Brown I reckon he’ll be reborn.

Good luck to them, they won’t challenge for the comp but they could trouble a lot of sides. Top 8 I’d be expecting as a fan.
Honestly think they'll go well. Their bench is strong
  1. Staines
  2. Maumalo
  3. To’a
  4. Naden
  5. Nofaluma
  6. Doueihi
  7. Brooks
  8. Klemmer
  9. Koroisau
  10. Ofahengaue
  11. Papali’i
  12. Bateman
  13. Brown
  14. Laurie
  15. Twal
  16. Pole
  17. Utoikmanu
Definitely capable of top 8. Only question mark is their backs and brooks stepping up

lingard

Most sensible post of 2022.
What about my post on the 23rd of May?
We can talk all day about improvements within the team BUT the big elephant in the room is the dummy half position. What the hell are we going to do with Josh Hodgson as our main hooker? We currently don't have anyone good enough to cover that position. I can't believe the recruitment. Surely we could of atleast picked up a younger player. Yet we went with an old man with shot knees
I like the Hodgson signing. If he can remain relatively injury free, he can transform this side into Premiers. But I absolutely agree with you about a back up hooker. It's a real gamble. And one we really shouldn't need to make. For example, why purchase Tapau rather than a young back up hooker? It doesn't make sense, does it?

Obscene Assassin

Honestly think they'll go well. Their bench is strong
  1. Staines
  2. Maumalo
  3. To’a
  4. Naden
  5. Nofaluma
  6. Doueihi
  7. Brooks
  8. Klemmer
  9. Koroisau
  10. Ofahengaue
  11. Papali’i
  12. Bateman
  13. Brown
  14. Laurie
  15. Twal
  16. Pole
  17. Utoikmanu
Definitely capable of top 8. Only question mark is their backs and brooks stepping up

1-7 is trash. Also their biggest 2 recruits either openly shit on them or tried to get out of the deal as soon as he signed.

He's the only spark they've got... looks like Sheens/Benji are opting for a bash 'em up pack - which will mean a different, muscular type of lock/middle?

I'm interested to see how they go in 2023 - I think they'll be sniffing around 7th or 8th (or 9th or 10th if it doesn't quite come off).