Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I’m heading to the Parra v Chooks game Saturday with my little girl. Daddy daughter date!
Can’t wait!

I haven’t said much about yesterday as I’m so nervous to jinx us lol.

I will say that the defensive patterns looked so calm. Even the kids seemed fluent in it. I’ve never really seen us look so comfortable. We looked fit.

I loved what Tuivati brings. Brown is a keeper too.

Russell may just turn out to be a special centre , he’s still young and really looks in good knick with speed etc. I reckon Mal would be pleased. I know people think I pick on Will Penisini but I wished we kept Russell and lost him. He is just so average I reckon he could maybe be an NRL player in future but a winger, cause he still ain’t an NRL player now as a centre.

But yeah, looking forward to Saturday. Go the mighty Eels!

Russell looked strong, and quick - I was very impressed.

Penisini seemed to me to run harder than I've seen him run in quite some time.

Da Silva is still defensively poor.

Iongi is a special talent.

Kautoga looked good in his first game in ages - primed for a big year.

I echo the Tuivati sentiments - he is a beast.

T-Boon

I was always a NSW supporter when living in Sydney. My hate for QLD was unrivalled. But when I moved to QLD 8 years ago my hate has been mellowed by age as well as seeing SOO becoming more manufactured than a war between two states. These days, SOO interferes in the NRL competition too much, especially with injuries and rep duties to all the clubs involved, more so the clubs that aren't ejaculating rep players.
Outside of grand finals, if your team is in it, SOO(x3) is the biggest sports events of the year - combined the TV ratings dwarf the NRL and AFL GF combined. They should pause the NRL season and soup origin up. Bring back authenticity - I will think of how to do that another time since I am apparently the only thinker here.

LyonHeart

Russell is still only 23. His best years are infront of him. I was surprised how he accelerated from virtually a standing start when he he got hit and then took off again before scoring. His defence at centre is outstanding. I too would rather keep him than Will.

The boys look fit. Tuivati, Kelma and Doorey looked much fitter than last year.
I don't want to jinx it but Rd1 v Storm won't be a repeat of last season.

It was an impressive performance. With the following players to be added for Rd1, I think we could push for a top 8 spot

Moses
Paulo
Williams
Walker
Add-Carr
Hopgood

Eelogical

Outside of grand finals, if your team is in it, SOO(x3) is the biggest sports events of the year - combined the TV ratings dwarf the NRL and AFL GF combined. They should pause the NRL season and soup origin up. Bring back authenticity - I will think of how to do that another time since I am apparently the only thinker here.
The problem is that the NRL want their cake and eat it too. SOO became the beast that they couldn't deal with without compromising the NRL competition. You must have seen weakened teams get beaten during the SOO season that they would normally be expected to win. At the end of the day, some clubs don't get to play finals footy because of SOO. But, as long as TV ratings are through the roof and the glamour clubs keep winning then all is good.

T-Boon

The problem is that the NRL want their cake and eat it too. SOO became the beast that they couldn't deal with without compromising the NRL competition. You must have seen weakened teams get beaten during the SOO season that they would normally be expected to win. At the end of the day, some clubs don't get to play finals footy because of SOO. But, as long as TV ratings are through the roof and the glamour clubs keep winning then all is good.
The solution is to soup origin up.

jason taylor

Russell is still only 23. His best years are infront of him. I was surprised how he accelerated from virtually a standing start when he he got hit and then took off again before scoring. His defence at centre is outstanding. I too would rather keep him than Will.

The boys look fit. Tuivati, Kelma and Doorey looked much fitter than last year.
I don't want to jinx it but Rd1 v Storm won't be a repeat of last season.

It was an impressive performance. With the following players to be added for Rd1, I think we could push for a top 8 spot

Moses
Paulo
Williams
Walker
Add-Carr
Hopgood

I've never understood or agreed with the Russell hate on here. I think a real problem we've had since the Brian Smith years is actually developing wingers and centres. We seem to expect all our juniors to come through as teenage sensations and dominate. The reality is that those players don't grow on trees.

I’m heading to the Parra v Chooks game Saturday with my little girl. Daddy daughter date!
Can’t wait!

I haven’t said much about yesterday as I’m so nervous to jinx us lol.

I will say that the defensive patterns looked so calm. Even the kids seemed fluent in it. I’ve never really seen us look so comfortable. We looked fit.

I loved what Tuivati brings. Brown is a keeper too.

Russell may just turn out to be a special centre , he’s still young and really looks in good knick with speed etc. I reckon Mal would be pleased. I know people think I pick on Will Penisini but I wished we kept Russell and lost him. He is just so average I reckon he could maybe be an NRL player in future but a winger, cause he still ain’t an NRL player now as a centre.

But yeah, looking forward to Saturday. Go the mighty Eels!
Will did pretty well over the weekend

Agree with most part, still not sold on KK

Snoochies

Origin would be more interesting if NSW found some nuts again. We've had the better team on paper yet QLD still rise to the occasion and win when they shouldn't. I was born in NSW, lived there for the first 9 months of my life and been up here since and it drives me nuts hearing Queenslanduuuuuh every year. But up here it certainly hasn't lost it's shine, the rednecks get fired up every year.

T-Boon

I've never understood or agreed with the Russell hate on here. I think a real problem we've had since the Brian Smith years is actually developing wingers and centres. We seem to expect all our juniors to come through as teenage sensations and dominate. The reality is that those players don't grow on trees.
I think we should put Hayne on as an outside backs coach. He should coach outside backs from under 17s through to 1st grade.

T-Boon

I think a clubs coaching structure should be:

Head coach
Defensive coach or attacking coach (which ever isnt the HCs main job)
DH coach
Halves and fullback coach
Outside backs coach
Middle forward coach
Kicking coach

The second rowers dont need a coach.

Timana

I think a clubs coaching structure should be:

Head coach
Defensive coach or attacking coach (which ever isnt the HCs main job)
DH coach
Halves and fullback coach
Outside backs coach
Middle forward coach
Kicking coach

The second rowers dont need a coach.
Why shouldn't the 2nd rowers have a coach. They make big defensive decisions and can run lines and decoys runs. Look at Briton Nikora, he runs great lines. I thought that needs to be taught.

You are right about the backs coach, currently, I believe all our coaches are forwards except maybe wisemantel but he wasnt a great outside back. I would like gasnier back as I thought he was a great analyst.

He once was a dragon and we have alot drags influence now.

PS: you forgot to mention we have a wing coach : JACS

Why shouldn't the 2nd rowers have a coach. They make big defensive decisions and can run lines and decoys runs. Look at Briton Nikora, he runs great lines. I thought that needs to be taught.

You are right about the backs coach, currently, I believe all our coaches are forwards except maybe wisemantel but he wasnt a great outside back. I would like gasnier back as I thought he was a great analyst.

He once was a dragon and we have alot drags influence now.

PS: you forgot to mention we have a wing coach : JACS

Rylesy said the other night at the members forum that our current coaching structure is as follows...

attack coach
middles coach
edge coach
last play coach.

I can't quite remmember who looks after what but I think Moa looks after the middles and Wisemantle looks atfre the last plays...

someone with a better memory will confirm this.