Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Whingers and Occasional Optimism XXIX

PARRAMATTA prop Junior Paulo has confirmed he will move to Canberra on a two-year deal at the end of this NRL season.

The 22-year-old had been linked with a move to the nation’s capital for most of the summer, possibly before the start of the year, however Paulo confirmed he will see out 2016 with the Eels. “Yeah, I’ve signed with Canberra,” Paulo said.

“But so far I’m still in the blue-and-gold and I’m still 100 per cent committed to what we’re doing this year. Hopefully we can come away with a good season and get that under the belt.

“Canberra’s another story for the next chapter in my life. I’m just happy to be here at the Eels.” Paulo, who has played 44 NRL games since debuting in 2013, said he was glad to sort out his future.

“It’s something I wanted to put to bed before the season actually started. I’m happy that’s done and I can just focus on playing footy week in, week out,” he said.

“There’s been a lot of talks, but I’m still an Eel and happy to be an Eel for the remainder of the year. I’m a junior here but I had to make the decision on looking after my family.” The established No.8 was one of the Eels’ best in Saturday’s shock win over defending premiers North Queensland, making 125 metres off 16 carries and setting up what turned out to be the match-winning try.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...: dailytelegraphnrlndm (Daily Telegraph | NRL)

Sigh... context dude :roll:. Suity was whinging about his posts being replied to... I replied indicating under which conditions that wouldn't be a worry for him.

Yep, that'd be it Suity :lol:... pretty pish-weak interpretation of stalking you've got there imo.

What's that old joke...Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not stalking you?

Mate, I don't think that exonerates what I brought up, tbh...

You harp on about the right to have your own opinion, and you attempt to persuade everyone that you have no anger towards certain people - yet you use terms like "f**k off", and use a critical tone when telling someone else what they should and shouldn't be saying to avoid your wrath.

Your language and overall demeanour betrays you, mate.

On top of which - can you see why people might think there's an obsession in play here?

eelement

but I’m still an Eel and happy to be an Eel for the remainder of the year. I’m a junior here but I had to make the decision on looking after my family. $$$$$$$$

but I?m still an Eel and happy to be an Eel for the remainder of the year. I?m a junior here but I had to make the decision on looking after my family. $$$$$$$$

So? The bloke has to look after his family. What would you expect him to do in the face of a much higher offer from elsewhere. Good luck to him, and as long as he's giving 100% while here he deserves the support of Eels fans. He's not running out in the middle of a contract or anything.

eelement

So? The bloke has to look after his family. What would you expect him to do in the face of a much higher offer from elsewhere. Good luck to him, and as long as he's giving 100% while here he deserves the support of Eels fans. He's not running out in the middle of a contract or anything.

But but but raiders fans think they aren't paying overs for him, I am glad parra didn't match or come any where close to what raiders have offered.

So....do you reckon he left for similar wages to those offered here?

And even if he did....what has he done wrong? Made a choice about his and his family's future. He hasn't broken any deal, he hasn't played any sort of silly buggers.

Agree Baz, people leave their jobs for better jobs to provide for their family all the time.

He's a professional footballer and he got a better job offer.

What's that big tall Dogs prop that goes ok? Not Klemmer some other younger dude. I'd go after him.

Exactly.

Maybe they're not. We'll never know. But if Paulo plays every week like he did last night then we'll know he's worth a lot more than he was at the end of last year.

I have no idea about the shape our cap is in but if we had of matched the raiders offer for Paulo than I don't think we would've been able to be competitive in keeping Norman at the club which I think is the higher priority.

phantom eel

Sigh. Eele, please don't become one of those people who spend way too much time getting bothered by what other people are saying on an internet forum. Forums are not real life :lol:.
You harp on about the right to have your own opinion
I haven't "harped on" about anything. I've simply answered your probing questions - everyone has a right to an opinion. But equally everyone has a right to form an opinion about other opinions. You can't have one right without the other, and I'm not sure why you're bothered by that?

and you attempt to persuade everyone that you have no anger towards certain people
I don't "attempt to persuade" everyone about anything. I've simply answered your probing questions, and incorrect assumptions. As previously stated, I don't give a toss what people on the internet think about my persona (also on the internet) - it's entertainment, not real life...

yet you use terms like "f**k off", and use a critical tone when telling someone else what they should and shouldn't be saying to avoid your wrath.
If the langauge is too heavy for you mate, there's some other forums around that might be more to your style? I was simply "telling someone" in response to their own post that whinged about how people can offer different opinions (on their opinions) on here. As previously explained, there is no wrath, it's just sport. Why are you all bothered about it again - moral crusader with too much time on your hands? Do you happen to be religious at all?
Your language and overall demeanour betrays you, mate.

On top of which - can you see why people might think there's an obsession in play here?
Actually, the only thing betrayed by your own assumptions (about demenaours, obsession and anger etc) is your own perceptions. Thanks for focusing well meaning intentions on me, but I can't speak for why you bother discussing an issue on here with me that exists only in your head?

As stated earlier, I don't care what "people" on an internet forum think - when I log out of here, I don't give the place two thoughts until I log in next time for a read and a laugh... be it from the toilet, the lounge chair when evening tele's a bit boring, or if I'm waiting to feel sleepy. Everyone here's an adult, and knows where the ignore button is. Cheers :D.

phantom eel

I hope we get good value out of Paulo this season - if he keeps up last night's form then tht will be great.

It's now Canberra's problem if they can get good value out of him in his next contract, for higher salary. I'm glad we didn't/couldn't match the offer, because teh chances of getting good value out of him at that price are less than they are at his current price.

He's talking the right talk (about being committed to the Eels this season etc), but come the end of the year, the fact we're losing him is neither here nor there really.

As long as we have time to plan his replacement in the top 17 - and with a year's notice we'll be a lot more prepared than we were in replacing Hayne for example, and his paltry two week's notice with a year left to run on his contract.

Sigh. Eele, please don't become one of those people who spend way too much time getting bothered by what other people are saying on an internet forum.

I don't think he's bothered mate, he's just identified some hypocrisy and is pointing it out.

Don't let it bother you.