Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

The NRL have signed off on his medical retirement, so finally someone saying actually the words, which we thought was the situation.
It was mentioned elsewhere (Galvin thread) that they are going to look upgrade Galvin, I assume with his money.

Tiger Ted

DCE wants a cub that’ll get a premiership. That rules out the rooster. I reckon Dessy will get him.
We can’t wait for Nov 1 to get a decn from Galvin coz we need to know whether we should target DCE.If Galvin won’t commit then it’s glaring he will be signing elsewhere after nov 1 so I’d b dropping him to nsw cup coz he isn’t costing us much.We need to show the detestable weasel Isaac Moses that he can no longer fk with us like he has in the past with the turd & Mitch

I think we are in negotiations with him now.
There was a rumour that they are looking to offer him $5m over 5 years.
Apparently Moses is shopping him for $800k+, which I thought was illegal?
But I don't how strong that is.

You don't cut off your nose to spite your face. He deserves a spot in first grade. I just hope that we don't do a stupid deal.

The swindler Moses would more likely be seeking 1.8m

It's now trending on NRL Fox.

Gould believes we would be making a mistake offering $1m a season for 5 years.
He also thinks he's the best teenage footballer, he's ever seen.

I think if he accepted it, we would be getting a bargain if he keeps improving by year 3,4 & 5.

TBH I hope he does decide to go to market at the end of the season. At this stage I'd hate to give him $5 mil over 5 years. It's a real double edged sword as if he does progress and becomes the player everyone thinks and hopes he'll be, it would be a bargain. However, based on the 4 games so far (and it is only 4 games, a long time to go in the season) he's regressed from what he was producing last year.

If he agreed to those terms now, and either plateaued, or continued to regress.........well it's Luke Brooks' all over again.

I'd be calling Moses bluff, and saying we respect Lachie's decision to go to market, and come November 1 we'll be first to contact you with an offer. This gives us the entire year to assess where he's at. This shows him the respect that all players crave and demand (whether they deserve it or not) and gives us time to determine his worth against our cap requirements. I'd check in with him periodically to make sure he's still happy to wait until November 1, which covers our arse should a DCE situation arise and it's all he said, she said.

Although it's illegal to negotiate prior to November 1, it's not illegal to express interest in other players we might want, if Galvin goes elsewhere, or doesn't improve as we want him to but still asks for a premium contract. We can contact them and let them know if they go to market also, we'd be interested. It gives us options.

It's now trending on NRL Fox.

Gould believes we would be making a mistake offering $1m a season for 5 years.
He also thinks he's the best teenage footballer, he's ever seen.

I think if he accepted it, we would be getting a bargain if he keeps improving by year 3,4 & 5.

I don't have a problem with paying him top dollar if he is playing at that level but the fact is that he isn't. I thought he was really good last week but he made several mistakes.

I think he is pretty close to the level he needs to be at to deserve that amount but I still think Latu is looking just as good if not better albeit with much less chances in the top grade. The chances are a double edged sword. Latu could make a lot more mistakes as well.

It's a really tough situation.

I used to think Gould was okay but I'm starting to think he is a dickhead. He talks Galvin up too ridiculous levels and then says Galvin should say no to a million dollar contract. The reality is no club should offer him that amount.

I don't have a problem with paying him top dollar if he is playing at that level but the fact is that he isn't. I thought he was really good last week but he made several mistakes.

I think he is pretty close to the level he needs to be at to deserve that amount but I still think Latu is looking just as good if not better albeit with much less chances in the top grade. The chances are a double edged sword. Latu could make a lot more mistakes as well.

It's a really tough situation.

I used to think Gould was okay but I'm starting to think he is a dickhead. He talks Galvin up too ridiculous levels and then says Galvin should say no to a million dollar contract. The reality is no club should offer him that amount.
Agree mostly, but what will he be worth by the end of this season with Luai as his mentor.
I think that's what they are paying for.

Agree mostly, but what will he be worth by the end of this season with Luai as his mentor.
I think that's what they are paying for.

The problem is do we lose one of Galvin or Latu.

I think mentorship is BS. I'm not saying Luai has been crap because I think he has been pretty good but I expect Luai to win us games on the field for what we are paying him.

The problem is do we lose one of Galvin or Latu.

I think mentorship is BS. I'm not saying Luai has been crap because I think he has been pretty good but I expect Luai to win us games on the field for what we are paying him.
I think in time he will certainly do that.
I think his general play and his defence has been outstanding, so far.
Mentoring is a good thing for a young kid to have, especially from a player of Luai's stature.
He will show him things and advise him of things that he would never have dreamed of at his age. Especially about being flung into the spot light so early.
TDS said similar about Api.

I think in time he will certainly do that.
I think his general play and his defence has been outstanding, so far.

I don't think his general play has been outstanding but his defense has been great. I think on his pay packet he could have done more. I mean atm Ponga is a much more valuable player to a team than Luai is for us.

I don't want to be too harsh on Luai though because he has been good.

Mentoring is a good thing for a young kid to have, especially from a player of Luai's stature.
He will show him things and advise him of things that he would never have dreamed of at his age. Especially about being flung into the spot light so early.
TDS said similar about Api.

I still call bullshit. As soon as we are talking about Luai being great off the field to me it's an admittance it was a screwed up contract with us being the ones getting screwed.

It's not at that point yet but my expectation is that Luai win's us games on the park and like all players he doesn't do dumb shit off the park.

Nutz

I heard the other day that DCE is 36??
Which made him 22 yrs old when he started playing great footy at Manly. (I fink)
He came down from Redcliffe and played under 20's for Manly.
First season in NRL they won the premiership.
How old is Galvin? Just turned 19 in a team that's won 3 straight spoons.
Are we a tad harsh on the lad.
I'm terrible at mafs and plucked facts out of my bum but Lachlan is still a bub who shows a lot of potential and I say keep him.

Pezz70

I agree with Gus $1m a year at this point is too much, still learning the game, what apprentice gets paid full freight. But I wouldn’t trust Gould because he probably has $1.1m ready to go.

I would not be opposed to significant pay rises over the course of a contract if the results are there.

I think the most we should have anybody on is a three year deal.

As for Luai I think he has been great, all of the new additions bar Hunt (on field) have been fantastic you can see the change of attitude and the enthusiasm for footy that has come across the team. This weekend is a big one for the tigers, I don’t think they can win the game but they need a maximal defensive effort and to stay within two tries. A flogging would be very detrimental

I'm starting to think the Luai contract could be a dud. It's top dollar and 5 years and we have two young gun halves in our top 30 and a pretty decent back-up still on contract (Sullivan). It's way to early to make the call in relation to Luai's contract now but a 3 year contract in our specific situation may have been a better idea.

In saying that we've all been a basket case and we bought a half who is a 4 time premiership winner for 5 years.

It isn't so black and white.

Tiger Ted

I agree with Gus $1m a year at this point is too much, still learning the game, what apprentice gets paid full freight. But I wouldn’t trust Gould because he probably has $1.1m ready to go.

I would not be opposed to significant pay rises over the course of a contract if the results are there.

The truth is that the lying weasel Gould would pay 1.5m in a heartbeat to get Galvin to Belmore.Its where I think Galvin will end up.The ogre Gould is infatuated in Galvin he is mates again with the slimy Isaac Moses & the dogs thanks to the Laundy don’t comply with the salary cap.