Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack Griffin

I'm Hornby

Do I think we will make it..no
But that is no scoop, that was my thoughts at the start of he year
All i want to see is some development of these younger players, introduction of better players and cull the deadwood.
I think we are heading that way for 2022 because seriously besides Hynes..what standout player is (or was) available to purchase for 2022 after Hook settled into the job and could start to assess who and what we need. 2023 will be a different story and I expect some bigger changes next year
I agree, seems like too many posters on here got their rocks off when we won 4 in a row at the start of the year and convinced themselves one pre season was all it took for the club to right the wrongs of the McGregor Era.

Back to reality and the sack the coach rhetoric returns.

Dragon David

I’m sure he knows we’re done for the year but if he says it publicly some of the players will clock off.
Hook should say it as he actually sees it. Surely he must be able to see it the same as us and that we are well and truly out of finals contention for this year and who knows that it could be a repeat next year. Who is he kidding?

He cannot gloss it over and should tell it like it is, plain and simple - "just not good enough from the guys this year. Me and the other assistants will need to improve our methods of coaching or we will be out of jobs. Man management skills by us have to improve and we are deadset in need of a better strength and condition guy and get our bloody recruitment right by signing a coupe of speedy men, tough and rough and no beg your pardon younger middle hit men, none of this reserve grade rubbish we now have. I am sorry for the way that this year has turned out after a promising start. I just forgot that we still had 20 rounds of football to be played... I am sorry".

I wonder where Linespeed and the Silverdale Phantom are nowadays?

thebigredv

I agree, seems like too many posters on here got their rocks off when we won 4 in a row at the start of the year and convinced themselves one pre season was all it took for the club to right the wrongs of the McGregor Era.

Back to reality and the sack the coach rhetoric returns.

Takes time but going backwards is not a prerequisite for improvement.

Hook's teams play half a game. Until that changes he, and the players he selects, will come under criticism. Not real different at any other team.

I'm Hornby

Takes time but going backwards is not a prerequisite for improvement.

Hook's teams play half a game. Until that changes he, and the players he selects, will come under criticism. Not real different at any other team.

What do you consider as going backwards mate?

I'm Hornby

Watching the press conference Hook is deadset delusional.
“The opposition were very good, it had that finals feel to it tonight”
Is he high? That game was dogshit. Error ridden rubbish. Both teams sucked.
Seriously, he is kidding.
Error ridden rubbish?

That was actually our best amount of completions since Anzac Day against the Chooks! Also it was our least amount of missed tackles since the Broncos in round 13. Tell me more about how you know more than a guy with years of first grade coaching experience.

I'm disappointed at the loss too, but last night's performance was an improvement on the recent past which is what most people in here say that want to see week on week.

I'm Hornby

Where do you believe we will end on the ladder? To make the finals this year was easier than last year.

You can use the ladder as a yard stick if that makes you feel better but I would feel better reading some stats as to which individual areas of the game we've gone backwards in.

Now we've played 20 games we can see we have scored more points than last season and have conceded slightly more in a majorly disruptive season especially over the last 4 weeks having to suspend 12 players over that period. Our best attacking player Ben Hunt has also been injured for extended periods of 4 weeks or more twice (if we're including this current injury).

I'd love to know more about what your expectations were for this season knowing that our new coach was in charge of largely the same playing group with no major signings for this season.

Did you honestly think through the McGregor years the only thing holding us back was Mcgregor himself? Very narrow thinking if that's the case, mate.

Crush

Error ridden rubbish?

That was actually our best amount of completions since Anzac Day against the Chooks! Also it was our least amount of missed tackles since the Broncos in round 13. Tell me more about how you know more than a guy with years of first grade coaching experience.

I'm disappointed at the loss too, but last night's performance was an improvement on the recent past which is what most people in here say that want to see week on week.
You think the opposition were very good?
Did it have that finals feel for you?
Bro, wake up, don’t be a an apologist for Hook.
It’s gradually getting worse. His selections aren’t making sense, his use of the bench questionable. Bird at fullback? Ramsey at centre?
The opposition last night were poor, we were worse.
To not make the eight after where we were is a failure.
And don’t give me that BS that we’ve overachieved because we were spoon favourites.
It isn’t a good time to be a Dragons fan unfortunately, and next year looks bleak.

I'm Hornby

You think the opposition were very good?
Did it have that finals feel for you?
Bro, wake up, don’t be a an apologist for Hook.
It’s gradually getting worse. His selections aren’t making sense, his use of the bench questionable. Bird at fullback? Ramsey at centre?
The opposition last night were poor, we were worse.
To not make the eight after where we were is a failure.
And don’t give me that BS that we’ve overachieved because we were spoon favourites.
It isn’t a good time to be a Dragons fan unfortunately, and next year looks bleak.
Take the emotion out of the loss. I've shown via statistics that last night's performance was an improvement on some key areas in the game and yet you come back with some non substantive emotionally based reply.

We improved on our recent past but the oppostion still beat us, that's footy, at least it was an improvement and that's all I want to see as a fan.

Again I'd love to know what your expectations were out of this season as well?

thebigredv

You can use the ladder as a yard stick if that makes you feel better but I would feel better reading some stats as to which individual areas of the game we've gone backwards in.

Now we've played 20 games we can we have scored more points than last season and have conceded slightly more in a majorly disruptive season especially over the last 4 weeks having to suspend 12 players over that period. Our best attacking player Ben Hunt has also been injured for extended periods of 4 weeks or more twice (if we're including this current injury).

I'd love to know more about what your expectations were for this season knowing that our new coach was in charge of largely the same playing group with no major signings for this season.

Did you honestly think through the McGregor years the only thing holding us back was Mcgregor himself? Very narrow thinking if that's the case, mate.

If you read my posts I blame the players more than the coach. I've defended Hook and am fine with him seeing out his contract, but I absolutely think the ladder is a good yardstick as it does position you against all other teams below and above you. In terms of prospects, I'd have to say it's not looking a lot brighter next year aside for a couple good forwards who hopefully don't absorb the stink of our playing group.

Griffin could have done more by now with the roster. That's on him. McCulloch is the worst of his appointments as the game has surpassed him. Instead we are stuck with a slow boring hooker in a game played at rocket speed. Roster is a work in progress but expect some good signings during the off-season or we simply won't have the cattle to be up near finals - which is definitely an expectation of mine for 2022. That's hardly unrealistic for an experienced coach.

If you are stuck on 18 points for four weeks, about to be 5 then you have issues and some of these have to do with coaching.

thebigredv

Take the emotion out of the loss. I've shown via statistics that last night's performance was an improvement on some key areas in the game and yet you come back with some non substantive emotionally based reply.

We improved on our recent past but the oppostion still beat us, that's footy, at least it was an improvement and that's all I want to see as a fan.

Are you the guy on the hill with the 'Go Stats' banner?

Take the emotion out????

The thing we all love has been crapped all over the last ten years. It hurts.

I'm Hornby

Also if somone wanting to give a coach fresh air after 20 games in charge is an apologist then count me in.

I'm Hornby

If you read my posts I blame the players more than the coach. I've defended Hook and am fine with him seeing out his contract, but I absolutely think the ladder is a good yardstick as it does position you against all other teams below and above you. In terms of prospects, I'd have to say it's not looking a lot brighter next year aside for a couple good forwards who hopefully don't absorb the stink of our playing group.

Griffin could have done more by now with the roster. That's on him. McCulloch is the worst of his appointments as the game has surpassed him. Instead we are stuck with a slow boring hooker in a game played at rocket speed. Roster is a work in progress but expect some good signings during the off-season or we simply won't have the cattle to be up near finals - which is definitely an expectation of mine for 2022. That's hardly unrealistic for an experienced coach.

If you are stuck on 18 points for four weeks, about to be 5 then you have issues and some of these have to do with coaching.

Agree to disagree on whether we have gone backwards or not then I guess.

How could Griffin have done more with the roster? He has done his best to bring in some experienced players mid season but these guys still get shat on for their effort. Recruits are generally under contract so we can't get them straight away.

Was Mcinnes getting injured for the season on Griffin too? McCullough actually leads the league for tackles made so might be one reason why he doesn't offer a lot with the ball across the entire 80 mins, he'd be gassed! Should he stop making tackles to preserve energy for attack or is there another hooker in the squad who isn't getting selected?

So many wanted an experienced coach from outside the system for years and years and now we've got him people expect instant success, it generally doesn't work that way.

Crush

Top 8.
That was my expectation of 2021.
Playing finals this year was a pass.
2022 top 4.
That is what my expectations are/were.

I'm Hornby

Top 8.
That was my expectation of 2021.
Playing finals this year was a pass.
2022 top 4.
That is what my expectations are/were.

Your expectations must've changed somewhere along the way then mate because you said bottom 4 in the round 4 v Newcastle thread.

ozbuck

Not reaching the top 8 was "cut his head off" for mcgregor.

Griffin has had a better side and still has failed to get to the 8.

Next 2 years look like the same!

SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT TEAM EACH YEAR, SAME RESULTS.

WHY?

CULTURE!!

Just look at the storm for the same effect but just flipped to the positive.

Illusion

Your expectations must've changed somewhere along the way then mate because you said bottom 4 in the round 4 v Newcastle thread.
Mate we still might end up bottom 4 the way they are playing ..... We are all frustrated by the way the season is finishing They , had plenty of chances to cement a top 8 spot , but as normal they have failed to win against teams they should have beat .... Tigers twice , bulldogs , Titians just those games alone and they would have been there seasons end ..... Hook looks like a shattered man in his press conference ..... Anyway lets hope for a good finish to the season and lets see what next year brings ......

I'm Hornby

Mate we still might end up bottom 4 the way they are playing ..... We are all frustrated by the way the season is finishing They , had plenty of chances to cement a top 8 spot , but as normal they have failed to win against teams they should have beat .... Tigers twice , bulldogs , Titians just those games alone and they would have been there seasons end ..... Hook looks like a shattered man in his press conference ..... Anyway lets hope for a good finish to the season and lets see what next year brings ......

Absolutely mate, just important that we as fans are honest to ourselves as to what we expected out of the season before a ball was kicked for the purpose of realism.