Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack Griffin

getsmarty

This says it all, what we need atm is a very strong BOD, with everything that is going on at the club now the BOD needs to be united, ruthless in their decision making and have a clear plan of where we are at and where we are going. There was a clear set of KPI's that were not met by the coach, a decision needs to be made. The team did not achieve what the set goals were for the year, why not ? We just cant keep on tweaking KPI's to suit the current environment eg " oh we will take this decision from the HC and make it ourselves etc" no !!! that wasnt the deal at the start and shouldnt be something that is comprimised because someone has failed to succeed in their role. For christ sake its a results driven sport, its ruthless, the BOD needs to stand strong , put the club first and NOT individuals, set a clear and uncompromising goals for the next 1, 3, 5, 10 years, and if people dont prove themselves worthy or are unable to achieve, then they must go , have we got a BOD like that, thats the million dollar question !!!!
Well said

dannyt

Interesting that much of the conversation around sacking Hook centres on our so called young guns either not improving or not getting a proper go and that then leads into the argument that Hook picks his favourites and old war horses.

Let's look at the young guns

Sullivan :
1. Missed out on playing and learning in reggies due to Covid interfering with that comp.
2. Hunt being captain, highest paid player and in his best form at 7 since coming to the club.
3. Multiple injuries that have restricted his availability.
4. Having a young and smallish body trying to cope continually at 9 would see him potentially end his career before it gets started.

Sloan:
1. Given an opportunity early and failed to get the basics of FB correct i.e catch bombs on the full, organise the defence by talking to and directing them, tackle the opposition, be proactive and show desperation and commitment in the last line.
2. Don't emulate Matt Dufty by being flashy and doing all the attacking stuff easily and being so piss poor in the other facets required to be a NRL quality FB.
3. When given another chance he again came up with another point 2 performance and showed no improvement re the requirements in point 1.

Max Feagai:
1. On the verge of potential selection but struck down with repeated injuries that have long recovery periods.
2. Needs to have match fitness to be considered ready for 1st garde and who actually would he replace considering Suli & Rava are also on the recovery trail.

Matt Feagai:
1. Got an opportunity due to his brothers injury issues and he has proved reliable and serviceable without being brilliant.
2. Has taken his opportunity and has been rewarded accordingly. In the Nighty mould of player.

Codey Ramsey:
1. Was in 1st grade and had very much up and down performances.
2. Was told what he had to work on, went back to reggies and did so and is now permanently in 1st grade.
3. Has continually improved and showing good form in all aspects of FB play.

Jackson Ford:
1. Not lived up to anywhere near all the hype that was in this place 2-3 years ago.
2. Consigned to reggies due to not improving in key areas and rather than hold onto him is on the reject list which will save any further costs by holding onto him.

Josh Kerr:
1. Been in the system for some years and still doing dumb shit.
2. Incapable of working out he has a body that can do some real damage by being committed to actually doing damage (Ashton Sims MK11)
3. Still yet to impose himself in lower grades to make it indelible that he picked in 1st grade.
4. Fitness levels questionable and lateral movement continues to be poor.

Jaiyden Hunt:
Read points 2, 3 & 4 above.

So what exactly is Hook not doing here?

All well and good all the posts going on and on and on about this and that but the reality of the situation is some of these players are not ready because of reasons out of Hooks control, also because the players themselves seem to have an expectation that they should just be in 1st grade regardless and somehow the individual things that you haven't improved on will just come good because you are in 1st grade.

Hook is certainly responsible for some very uninspiring coaching re game plan, tactics, lack of sparkling attack, also responsible for some uninspiring signings but to a large degree I do understand why the some of the so called young guns have not played more 1st grade.
Fair points, but I think at least some of these players, IMHO Sloan and Kerr, should've played more FG for one simple reason-they learn nothing in our reserve grade side because it is crap. Amone is a good example. Tentative at the start, but has improved markedly in the last few weeks. He has learned in FG.
-Would he have shown the same level of improvement in reserves? My answer is definitely not.
-Would choosing some of these guys in FG be more advantageous than choosing Woods, or Mybe? My answer is abso-f@#$%^*-lutely

Mjab

Fair points, but I think at least some of these players, IMHO Sloan and Kerr, should've played more FG for one simple reason-they learn nothing in our reserve grade side because it is crap. Amone is a good example. Tentative at the start, but has improved markedly in the last few weeks. He has learned in FG.
-Would he have shown the same level of improvement in reserves? My answer is definitely not.
-Would choosing some of these guys in FG be more advantageous than choosing Woods, or Mybe? My answer is abso-f@#$%^*-lutely
Id rather be playing Kerr, with some chance of a good game then Fxxxx like Woods

Slippery Morris

Kerr was given a fair chance to stake his claim and he has not taken it at all to be honest. I look at other teams and when a front rower gets as many cracks as Kerr they usually go on with it and become better but he simply hasn't unfortunately. Maybe under a different coach with a different game set up and structure he may improve as he seems to have the ability but he simply has an error in him or 2 each game. As per Mjab so has Woods but he seems to be an exception. How many penalties does he give away from laziness? I still cannot believe Woods was an Origin player? How?

Qdf

Kerr was given a fair chance to stake his claim and he has not taken it at all to be honest. I look at other teams and when a front rower gets as many cracks as Kerr they usually go on with it and become better but he simply hasn't unfortunately. Maybe under a different coach with a different game set up and structure he may improve as he seems to have the ability but he simply has an error in him or 2 each game. As per Mjab so has Woods but he seems to be an exception. How many penalties does he give away from laziness? I still cannot believe Woods was an Origin player? How?
Yes, waiting for Kerr to come good. Just didn't happen. We have the worst prop rotation in the competition.

Slippery Morris

Buzz Rothfield tipped Tigers to beat Saints after getting flogged and stated that there is plenty of player unrest at the Saints. Hooper reported this 5 weeks ago. I know they just come off a win and looked pretty happy with each other but where these is smoke there is fire as they say. I know Buzz is a flog but we have now heard this way too many times. Another reason to sack Hook as he seems to have caused it due to his favourtism on Qlders. Credit to Mary and Price as they did not cause so much player unrest in their tenures no matter how bad they were.

OneEyedDragon

Buzz Rothfield tipped Tigers to beat Saints after getting flogged and stated that there is plenty of player unrest at the Saints. Hooper reported this 5 weeks ago. I know they just come off a win and looked pretty happy with each other but where these is smoke there is fire as they say. I know Buzz is a flog but we have now heard this way too many times. Another reason to sack Hook as he seems to have caused it due to his favourtism on Qlders. Credit to Mary and Price as they did not cause so much player unrest in their tenures no matter how bad they were.
The Dragons can't lose to the Tigers can they? They just can't! I've got a $10 scratchy on the game with a mate!

FlameThrower

These type of games are the most dangerous. The team goes in with lazy attitude and thinks it will be a walkover . Exhibit A- Broncos game .
Tigers would be desperate not to get wooden spoon, but our mob have shown many times that we can fold and get smashed at the worst possible time.
If we are ahead at half time we need to be ahead by a big margin. If we are behind then we struggle to play catch-up. This game won’t be champagne football , that will be the Titans v Knights blockbuster!

RedVee_8

Actually, I though Kerr’s last FG game was an improved showing. But he disappeared again after so who knows what goes on ?

Ghostrider22

These type of games are the most dangerous. The team goes in with lazy attitude and thinks it will be a walkover . Exhibit A- Broncos game .
Tigers would be desperate not to get wooden spoon, but our mob have shown many times that we can fold and get smashed at the worst possible time.
If we are ahead at half time we need to be ahead by a big margin. If we are behind then we struggle to play catch-up. This game won’t be champagne football , that will be the Titans v Knights blockbuster!
No No hahaha we score first we win this is happened in all our games so far this year. That’s has to happen, I hope, I think as you stated if we play dragons footy we are in trouble.

I was reading earlier about how the Tigers side is so depleted of their strike players and that spells trouble for the Dragons.

Our boys seem to have trouble stepping out of a puddle of water at times and it wouldn’t take much to upset their rhythm. So they need to fully concentrate on their game on Sunday to come home with the bickies .

As far as the unrest is concerned , it is such a damn shame that highly paid professional ( ? ) rugby league players allow that to interfere with their game .

Bad coach , good coach or bog average coach they are on money that you and I can only dream about . They should always give their all in every match they play as they owe it to the club , the team and fans .

Anything less than that , then they are taking money under false pretences .

BLM01

I beg your pardon. Credit to Mary and Price?
They both caused plenty at different times.
Price thought he was Wayne Bennett and had runs in with the backs and Soward and was axed mid season
Mary could not get on with his halves and in later years some outside backs.

BLM01

Yep.. one of the great mysteries of the world.
Woods!. Who has only even trotted up to the defence so he could stand and offload..playing origin.
Has he ever bent his back?
He was just tall and cuddly. Thats all

dannyt

Yep.. one of the great mysteries of the world.
Woods!. Who has only even trotted up to the defence so he could stand and offload..playing origin.
Has he ever bent his back?
He was just tall and cuddly. Thats all
Um, when was the last time he offloaded?