Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack the Sheenius

We just gotta hope he kills it.

He will know, that there are only two type of coaches, those being sacked and those waiting to be sacked:)
I doubt it.

Im kinda surprised the stakeholders haven’t tried to bump him off as well as he’s an integral part of the failed 5 year plan and lacklustre coaching effort this year.

I think he’s better used elsewhere to be honest. He doesn’t have to coach to contribute.

But it will be what it will be and if I’m wrong I’ll wear it.

I’d be happy if we ran 12th at this point.

Now we have the excitement of Fulton v Benji slugging it out for roster glory.

Justin survives lol.

Today is a great day for the club anyway.

Nothing is usually one persons fault. I wish Tim well and thank him for his service.

SMH are reporting:

The Wests Tigers are set to fast-track Benji Marshall’s ascension to the head coaching role in time for the start of the 2024 pre-season.

While Tim Sheens will remain the head coach in name, the club has mapped out a plan for Marshall to assume his responsibilities when the team returns for pre-season training in November.
^ was post #75 on July 2nd. Only the 1st paragraph correct so no doubt for some this wasn't a surprise.

If Furner remains as the defensive coach, Marshall needs an experienced assistant with him, all of the other former players in various positions at the club need not apply.

I doubt it.

Im kinda surprised the stakeholders haven’t tried to bump him off as well as he’s an integral part of the failed 5 year plan and lacklustre coaching effort this year.

I think he’s better used elsewhere to be honest. He doesn’t have to coach to contribute.

But it will be what it will be and if I’m wrong I’ll wear it.

I’d be happy if we ran 12th at this point.

Now we have the excitement of Fulton v Benji slugging it out for roster glory.

Justin survives lol.

Today is a great day for the club anyway.

Nothing is usually one persons fault. I wish Tim well and thank him for his service.
Not sure what you are doubting, Benji will be the coach until he isn’t.
I hope he kills it, we need success.

Not sure what you are doubting, Benji will be the coach until he isn’t.
I hope he kills it, we need success.
I doubt he’s going to bring us anything but more abject failure and misery.

Maybe a few laughs from his overall ignorance and stupidity.

I’ve got more coaching experience than GTA.

If it’s failure and misery, then a seat next to Tim will be available, but for all our sakes I hope he is successful.

He certainly can’t go any lower.

Did you send your resume in for the next, next coach?

Cheer up mate, this could be the start of the renaissance of the West Tigers, OR you can have the satisfaction to start the “Sack Benji” thread, mid next season hahaha

Cheer up?!

This is one of the happiest days of my Wests Tigers life.

But the coaching hacksaw, I fear that not enough blood has been spilt today.

The wound remains open and festering.

A noble comment about an assistant earlier.

Benjis promotion is little more than face saving.

Does Benji know more about coaching than Tim?

The 5 year plan is cactus, so was our club if we’d stuck to it.

Tim’s management wanted out. We predicted this lame excuse ages ago.

Cheer up?!

This is one of the happiest days of my Wests Tigers life.

But the coaching hacksaw, I fear that not enough blood has been spilt today.

The wound remains open and festering.

A noble comment about an assistant earlier.

Benjis promotion is little more than face saving.

Does Benji know more about coaching than Tim?

The 5 year plan is cactus, so was our club if we’d stuck to it.

Tim’s management wanted out. We predicted this lame excuse ages ago.
I got a feeling, that the 200 passes a day will go out the window?

The 5 year plan may be still on, but it will start again with Benji:(
Unfortunately, he won't last if he's not showing success, it is the same for all coaches.

I got a feeling, that the 200 passes a day will go out the window?

The 5 year plan may be still on, but it will start again with Benji:(
Unfortunately, he won't last if he's not showing success, it is the same for all coaches.

I always like to look for the symbolism.

The decision to cast Tim off now is good for a number of reasons, but most of all because it clearly illustrates that the club is capable of addressing bad errors of judgment.

Whatever the lies and spin, they bludgeoned him into an early coaching death.

It’s humiliating, it’s embarrassing and represents a total admission of complete and failure.

They can’t bring themselves to admit it publically, because they are dishonest

We haven’t seen such a step for a long time.

One small step for Pascoe, one giant leap for clubkind.

If Benji fails, they will slit his throat too.

The Tim and Benji Matey wanker vanity project is over.

One snout pulled out of the trough.

BrotherJim05

What a complete f**king mess. Whoever signed off on the decision to bring Sheens in as coach needs to be sacked. Is there no fkn accountability in business anymore? You made a decision and it failed. Own up to it.

Former Cronulla coach John Morris, who shares the same management company as Sheens, has been mooted as a possible assistant to add to Marshall's coaching staff.

--------------------

That'd be interesting?