Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Salary Cap

emjaycee

that's only if you don't consider him a big part of the problem :lol:

Agreed but as Dave Smith said, we are not currently in breach nor forecast to be next year so I am thinking whatever governance we have around recruitment and retention is probably working right now. ;-)

If for one moment people do not think that Spags and his former buddies combined with Stuart the egomaniac child are not responsible for this mess than I f**king give up.

The only issue I have is if Seward is going to give such an important response FFS wear a f**king tie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

At least look the part.

BennyBoy

I think this whole episode can be the catalyst for it to change, honestly. I think this is the bottom of the barrel, this is the darkest hour despite being based on a past indiscretion. We now have to take part in an independent review of the club and its governance. That's actually a huge thing and something no individual clique would ever have agreed to in isolation. As someone else said, any independent review is damn near guaranteed to recommend independent representation on the board, for starters, which negates any of the cliques having control of the club. So yeah, I think it can change and I think it will change. And people call me all sorts of amusing names for it, but I think things look better on the field for next year as well. Improved governance and an improved squad can only be good.
Well I fervently hope that what you say proves to be the case because it is the only way we will ever get out of this ongoing mess. If the review does result in truly independent representation on the board then I will start to share your confidence but until that time I'll maintain my wary watchful attitude.

Delboy

So, the players that were cut had their salary difference carried by the club immediately placed on the second tier cap. No wonder Sticky fcu*ed off after the mess he created.

What was any club to do, they were over the 2nd tier cap before the season began it seems, and the club went to the NRL to sort it out.

Amazing how the Eels are in the spotlight, and the Broncos for instance who refused to talk to the investigators had no case to answer, no wonder clubs outside the favoured few ask questions

So, the players that were cut had their salary difference carried by the club immediately placed on the second tier cap. No wonder Sticky fcu*ed off after the mess he created.

That man is a cancer and the worst human being in the game. Just a merkin of a man.

BennyBoy

Agreed but as Dave Smith said, we are not currently in breach nor forecast to be next year so I am thinking whatever governance we have around recruitment and retention is probably working right now. ;-)
We are not currently in breach simply because the subsidized contracts have now expired. They made it quite clear they believe our governance needs fixing.

Smith said. "The design of the penalty is to help them fix the club...not to hit them with a big stick. If the club does the right thing and takes the independent recommendations, applies the changes then they won't lose four competition points. If they don't they will."

If for one moment people do not think that Spags and his former buddies combined with Stuart the egomaniac child are not responsible for this mess than I f**king give up.

The only issue I have is if Seward is going to give such an important response FFS wear a f**king tie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

At least look the part.

Spags problem was that he had no f**king clue and thought he could just weasel his way through "governing" a footy club like he weasel's his way through his business life

as for the tie .... ffs tie's are old news - no merkin wears ties anymore .... the kid who stacks the rotten apples in woolies wears a tie, wtf does that mean? nothing .... get with the times :lol:

i noticed on the news last night - mike baird went to japan and met with the big guns organising their olympics planning .... had a big conference n meeting - very official .... none of em wearing ties

Spags problem was that he had no f**king clue and thought he could just weasel his way through "governing" a footy club like he weasel's his way through his business life

as for the tie .... ffs tie's are old news - no merkin wears ties anymore .... the kid who stacks the rotten apples in woolies wears a tie, wtf does that mean? nothing .... get with the times :lol:

i noticed on the news last night - mike baird went to japan and met with the big guns organising their olympics planning .... had a big conference n meeting - very official .... none of em wearing ties

Hey Strides....how many did that "one bourbon" turn into? :p

Joely01

At least look the part.

X2 about the top part.

BennyBoy

f**k, I wear a tie and always thought I was doing pretty good in the business world only to find out i should be stacking rotten apples in woolies. Now I am f**king depressed. :eek:

Ron Jeremy

f**king hell, on a break but thought i would say this.

The front office is responsible for the f**k up no matter how one can spin it.

Yes Stuart was a major part of it, but the board that hired him should walk.

And I will be the first to say bring back fitz, and even Brian smith into tr coaching ranks to fix up this mess.

Fmd, tbh don't really care anymore, heard the news, burped and farted at the same time and went back to looking up porn.

Ron Jeremy

In all seriousness, it isn't hard to find the right board members, good coaching and identifying talent, not rocket science, but to us it is.

f**king hell, on a break but thought i would say this.

The front office is responsible for the f**k up no matter how one can spin it.

Yes Stuart was a major part of it, but the board that hired him should walk.

And I will be the first to say bring back fitz, and even Brian smith into tr coaching ranks to fix up this mess.

Fmd, tbh don't really care anymore, heard the news, burped and farted at the same time and went back to looking up porn.

RJ, mate....the board that hired him is gone :lol:

f**k, I wear a tie and always thought I was doing pretty good in the business world only to find out i should be stacking rotten apples in woolies. Now I am f**king depressed. :eek:

don't be too hard on yourself mate - someone has to stack them apples

Chipmunk

Try and stay with the grown ups here Strides :D :D

The breach notice threatened the loss of points IF we breach again OR IF we don't put improvements to our governance in place. If we breach again they can and will take the points. If we don't breach (which the club seems confident of) but don't make the governance changes they want to see they can attempt to take the 4 points away but legal advice is that they wouldn't be able to.

And the NRL could decide not to pay us our discretionary grant so that we can pay all the players.

Neither option will happen.

Chipmunk

And they could say no because we have other options, such as Joseph Paulo to pick from.

Little known fact, the 2014 side named each week was NOT picked without involvement from League Headquarters.

I'm curious if the NRL would have stopped us playing in the Final Series last year if we had made it.