Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Salary Cap

It seems to me that current board apologists blame everyone else but the current board. Blaming former board members who have been banned from the club for over 4-5 years for leaking sensitive documents seems fanciful. Who leaked board meeting docs??

Probably Steve Sharp hey?

From my point of view as an average Eels supporter I have to say I am dismayed at the latest saga and all that goes with it. I bet there are a bunch of similar minded Eels supporters who would agree with me that we have all had enough of seeing our proud club being continually dragged through the mud from one crisis to the next. We've become the Kardashians of the NRL. I also figure it's no co-incidence that this gets maximum attention one week into the new season. If they keep this up without someone fixing it once and for all then I , as an average Eels supporter will find other avenues in sport to spend my hard earned on.

I reckon you're above average.

Basil Brush

Paul Kent is another piece of shit just like Massoud

Kent is just so vindictive towards Parra because we deemed him not good enough as a footy player.

Not sure what Matty Johns problem is.

Massoud seems to side with past boards.

Less said about Hadley and his crap agendas, the better.

I think Suity hit the nail on the head, none of us care about rugby league like we do the Eels

The frustration that ticks me off the most is that all crap started when the emperor was ousted, and the next person was incompetent

Stop. The next person was white-anted from the word go by a deposed former regime. So when they were overthrown they joined in backstabbing the next guys.

That's the story of our club ever since Fitzgerald's board (did they even have names? I believe one was Overton) was ousted.

My sentiments exactly. The game itself has become too predictable, especially for those of us who have been through many of it's phases. But, this is about the issues with head office and it's continuing ability to get news coverage for all the wrong reasons. Hell, we get more media attention than any other club and we always have for the most part. I would love to see that as acceptable to successful coverage, not about back stabbings, self interests and back room deals. When the Storm were caught out for their 2009 salary cap issues we sat back and thought the worst about them. Seems we like swimming in the same pool, and that is a murky pool to swim in.

Yep.
It's really sad the way the club is continually dragged through the mud.
It's humiliating and embarrassing.
It's more about the news stories than it is about the football.
It's not just management to blame though, it's the media just as much.
I'm so tired of it actually. So tired of following such an ineptly managed club.

Interesting we haven't heard anything from the club yet. I do not expect them to release a statement EVERYTIME there is some shitty article or story out about us, but i thought they would have got on the front foot by now.
We normally only hear from the chairman when it's good news, when it's not so good poor old Boulous will get the gig.

Cameron Smith had no idea of the extent of the injuries and was defending his own player in the hopes of reducing the repercussions that may have happened such as being sent off. There was enough sympathy from everyone else and the fans and to be blunt wasn't his sole responsibility to feel concern as it was shared by everyone else. There was nothing wrong with protecting his own.

It is laughable to think that a mistake must never be made in someones life and that a person can never get caught up in a situation. He may have done it differently looking back, sure... but to flog a dead horse and call someone classless over one situation is weird, considering every other thing he is apart of is pure class from the way he interviews, to the way he performs, to the way he leads on and off the field in a way that the eels could have only dreamed of in recent memory. That is all that matters as a Rugby League supporter unless you are registered as a psycho-analyst and even then you don't have enough information to call him classless. it's time to move on, most people accepted his side of the story when it happened and have almost certainly moved on from it now.

If you think camaraderie and mentality are both bad words than you have been supporting the Eels for too long. If the Eels had even an ounce of the mental fortitude that the Storm has had a times or the leadership that comes from a player like Cameron Smith, we wouldn't be here twiddling our c**ks with wooden spoons and alleged attempted rorts on the salary cap that haven't even paid off... we can't even get that right, at least the Storm got something out of it if only for a while.
So when a bloke is being stretchered off screaming i can't feel my legs poor innocent Cam had no idea how bad it was???? Keep defending the indefensible.

We normally only hear from the chairman when it's good news, when it's not so good poor old Boulous will get the gig.

Really? ... I thought everyones gripe was that boulos never says diddly ... when has he been delivering the bad news?

phantom eel

Stop. The next person was white-anted from the word go by a deposed former regime.
:lol: Revisionist history at its finest.

Spags was entirely innocent, just like Kearney wasn't to blame that he is a shit coach....

If anyone was actually whiteanted in Parra's recent history, it was Daniel Anderson - by Spagnolo and crew!

Really? ... I thought everyones gripe was that boulos never says diddly ... when has he been delivering the bad news?
When have we heard from Sharp when it was bad news??? He only delivers good news in his weekly dribble column.

Sharp was the face of the foran fiasco - he couldnt keep his mouth shut about the goverance n stuff - and he rabbitted on endlessly about the pending 4pt penalty