Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Salary Cap

Eelogical

If it was from the club then a number of people would have access to it. If it was from someone's individual account then yes, it shouldn't be hard to find out who leaked it.

Yet, it will never be revealed. Apparently, Inspector Clouseau is on the case.

Kornstar

If it was from the club then a number of people would have access to it. If it was from someone's individual account then yes, it shouldn't be hard to find out who leaked it.

Well they said the person who gave it to him said it was to settle a personal debt, so it's sounds like it was an individual not the club.

So the question is why the person who leaked it then say it was nothing?

Bigfella

What's a box for ten, fully catered, worth for every home game per year? I wouldn't have a clue. Let's guess 20k per year.
Now if I wanted to be a non club associated third party sponsor of Ryan Morgan and he could organise for me get to get the keys for said box then the company I work for would be all over it. Ryan knows he is worth $100k, signs with parra for $80k and still gets his worth and parra get the cap relief and I get a tax break.
I'm not associated with the club and everyone wins.
I hope there are no seats in the new stadium just fill it with boxes. We'd have the best roster in a heartbeat.
Surely that's at least part of the Nrl's beef here or am I missing something painfully obvious?

Yes mate.

You are missing the fact that having Ryan Morgan doesn't give us a competitive advantage.

In fact, I have it on good authority he is the main reason we never lost the four points.

They figure he is about 12-16 on his own.

Swiftstylez

Initially???? The piece of shit was still arguing the point while Alex was being carried off. He's just like his coach and his must win at all costs mentality. Who cares about the cap, other players or fans. Anything goes. The game will be much better when the big 3 finally f**k off and take their nut job coach with them.

Cameron Smith had no idea of the extent of the injuries and was defending his own player in the hopes of reducing the repercussions that may have happened such as being sent off. There was enough sympathy from everyone else and the fans and to be blunt wasn't his sole responsibility to feel concern as it was shared by everyone else. There was nothing wrong with protecting his own.

It is laughable to think that a mistake must never be made in someones life and that a person can never get caught up in a situation. He may have done it differently looking back, sure... but to flog a dead horse and call someone classless over one situation is weird, considering every other thing he is apart of is pure class from the way he interviews, to the way he performs, to the way he leads on and off the field in a way that the eels could have only dreamed of in recent memory. That is all that matters as a Rugby League supporter unless you are registered as a psycho-analyst and even then you don't have enough information to call him classless. it's time to move on, most people accepted his side of the story when it happened and have almost certainly moved on from it now.

If you think camaraderie and mentality are both bad words than you have been supporting the Eels for too long. If the Eels had even an ounce of the mental fortitude that the Storm has had a times or the leadership that comes from a player like Cameron Smith, we wouldn't be here twiddling our c**ks with wooden spoons and alleged attempted rorts on the salary cap that haven't even paid off... we can't even get that right, at least the Storm got something out of it if only for a while.

phantom eel

Cameron Smith had no idea of the extent of the injuries and was defending his own player in the hopes of reducing the repercussions that may have happened such as being sent off.
And that right there is why Smith is a merkin.

QED, thanks for coming Swifty.

Swiftstylez

And that's what separates the competitive cultures from the soft ones. You can't conveniently not bold the first part of that sentence either, it's a whole statement.

Swiftstylez

I enjoy beating the Storm as much as the next guy but I don't feel compelled to come up with twisted interpretations of reality to justify my hatred.

phantom eel

No, it's what sets the manipulative cultures out from the non-merkin cultures.

And I can bold whatever I want to thanks!

Now shoo... :D.

Johnny88

NRL and Kieran Foran had same concerns over governance

LAST June Kieran Foran and his manager Paul Sutton pulled off one of those once-in-a-lifetime deals that make you truly appreciate the NRL.

If the Eels really wanted Foran at the club, they argued, they had to provide a small guarantee against their Keystone Cops routine and include a get-out clause that allowed Foran to leave the club at the slightest hint of boardroom trouble.
They also had to pay $1 million in compensation.
Where else could that happen? Certainly nowhere where any sane conversations are held but Foran and his manager did it, prompting widespread admiration from the Mr Six-Percenters out there in league land who can recognise a job well done.
Sadly, NRL salary cap auditor Jamie L’Oste Brown was not as impressed, though, and refused to register the contract.
It came as a slight relief to the Eels board members, who spend most of their time walking around bumping into each other but through the late involvement of the NRL were able to dodge what would have been a very large bullet, copper-tipped.

Then a funny little thing happened.
Soon after, the NRL threatened to strip Parramatta of four competition points for the 2016 season unless they underwent a governance review and adopted the changes recommended to them.
So, in effect, this is what happened:
The NRL felt significantly worried to force Parramatta to undergo a review of its governance but would not allow a player to insert a clause to protect himself against those same concerns.
So Foran is stuck at Parramatta, about to play his first game for the club as news breaks all around him about the Eels rorting third party agreements, and significantly at that.
Minutes signed off by chairman Steve Sharp show, at the very least, the Eels discussed ways to rort the salary cap in their boardroom.
Whether they carried through remains to be proven but that they were thinking about it will be condemnation enough for the NRL.
The League knows the Eels will come up with “a clever argument” to explain the writings.
The longer the conversation goes, though, the more likely it appears Parramatta will suffer some significant penalty.
Few remember that when the NRL first ordered the governance review it also threatened the four point deduction would be triggered if the Eels also breached their salary cap again.
The NRL later removed the second clause.
It made sense.
The League was worried that if Parramatta breached the cap before the review and got deducted their four points it would remove the incentive to get the review done, which was a greater concern.
The NRL eventually fined Parramatta for breaching the salary cap.
Sharp was told during that investigation that if there was “anything else out there” the club should it on the table immediately.
The NRL believes the club had a conversation before deciding to go with the no-nothing defence.
The NRL believes this because the NRL has further belief, in the form of evidence, that Parramatta have cheated their third party agreements in other areas.
They are investigating third party payments to Anthony Watmough which, though Watmough has done nothing wrong, would put the Eels over the salary cap again if they are ruled to be illegally declared a third party.
It leaves the club heading for a fall.
Elsewhere in the minutes, some say, is a conversation the board held about what third party agreements they will declare to the NRL and what they will remain quiet on.
Certainly the Eels are the joke of the NRL.
When Melbourne got caught cheating the salary cap in 2010 after a second set of books was revealed a rival NRL coach, believing he was in trustworthy company, wondered aloud why the Storm would ever dream of documenting their deception in writing.
Parramatta not only wrote it down, they included it in their minutes.
Try and make that up.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...t/news-story/b040710e306b3f3bab704bffa568ebca