Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2024

and that has the makings of a large problem.
With respect, he is 22 and played 27 games, probably mostly outside Hunt at the drags, he wouldn’t have had a lot of opportunity to do too much, you wouldn’t want anyone to peak in their early years, he’s got at least 10 years of footy ahead of him.
IMO, we need to judge him in another 4 or 5 years, to see what he’s got. And Luai (it’s not official yet) will help tremendously.

Tiger Ted

With respect, he is 22 and played 27 games, probably mostly outside Hunt at the drags, he wouldn’t have had a lot of opportunity to do too much, you wouldn’t want anyone to peak in their early years, he’s got at least 10 years of footy ahead of him.
IMO, we need to judge him in another 4 or 5 years, to see what he’s got. And Luai (it’s not official yet) will help tremendously.
What I saw of Sullivan at saints I’m expecting Latu to swiftly leapfrog him in the pecking order

On twitter:
Big names the Panthers let go - Kikau, Api, Laui, Crichton. Ones they kept - Cleary, Edwards, Kenny, Yeo, Martin. If your a Pacific Islander kid in Western Sydney think that mayby tells you something when Tigers have a Maori coach and All Pacifica spine from 2025.

It’s an interesting take on our recruitment of late and perhaps the future?

Nutz

Sezer had one of the best kicking games in the comp when he left, I barely watched him in the ESL so no idea if he still does however that’s a big reason we bought him.
Vic Sezer's kicking game in the ESL was good. He has a good variety, grubbers, bombs to the corners.
The touch in goal area is so small over there so grubbers need finess.
Hopefully we won't see too many Brooks blunders that resulted in 7 tackle sets which turned attack into D.

Vic Sezer's kicking game in the ESL was good. He has a good variety, grubbers, bombs to the corners.
The touch in goal area is so small over there so grubbers need finess.
Hopefully we won't see too many Brooks blunders that resulted in 7 tackle sets which turned attack into D.
I think we got him for his brains besides his kicking, he’s been around a while to know when to hold us, know when to scold us, know when to walk away, knows how to win hahaha

Nutz

Picsart_24-01-04_09-57-15-302.jpg
Interim CEO Shane Richardon on the Tigers' roster.
''I'm happy with the squad but it's not 100% balanced. "We are going to spend the next 12 months massaging the squad to ensure it's a strong side in the next two to three years. "

My fear is that when we get the best team assembled we will lose some good players and they wont play together for a long time.

Tiger Ted

I think we got him for his brains besides his kicking, he’s been around a while to know when to hold us, know when to scold us, know when to walk away, knows how to win hahaha
Can’t wait to see a 7 wearing our colours who in steering the wheel displays an IQ > a single digit.Also looking forward to watching manly when DCE is on origin duties or is injured although the prick doesn’t ever seem to get injured.

Tiger Ted

View attachment 83052
''I'm happy with the squad but it's not 100% balanced. "We are going to spend the next 12 months massaging the squad to ensure it's a strong side in the next two to three years. "

My fear is that when we get the best team assembled we will lose some good players and they wont play together for a long time.
In Richo we trust

Nutz

Sort of disagree with that mate. Kicking is a crucial part of todays game and also if you keep the d honest eg try to get the fullback engaged you open the d up to long shifts and kicks to corner etc.
I do agree that he has more to his bow than just kicking. Look at the highlights I posted, he has a complete game.

View attachment 83052

Yeah, but you can’t keep every body, players will leave for better opportunities and money, as long as they keep the players they want, just hope they are the right players.

Nutz

Yeah, but you can’t keep every body, players will leave for better opportunities and money, as long as they keep the players they want, just hope they are the right players.
I can see Fainu playing a utility half/hooker off bench role, just like he did with Samoa.
Simpkin may have someone to compete with. I'm just guessing, no idea really..

Nutz

They say adds that pop-up are a reflection of ones internet surfing history.
The ads I see are hearing aids, artificial limbs, psychology, physiotherapists and latest surgery developments.
Are they trying to say I'm rooted? :)

Tiger Ted

I can see Fainu playing a utility half/hooker off bench role, just like he did with Samoa.
Simpkins may have someone to compete with. I'm just guessing, no idea really..
Imo Fainu will cement the 5/8 position.He has a heck of a lot more ability than Sullivan.Also Tallyn de Silva is a special kid & expect him to jump Simpkins in pecking order.

Nutz

Imo Fainu will cement the 5/8 position.He has a heck of a lot more ability than Sullivan.Also Tallyn de Silva is a special kid & expect him to jump Simpkins in pecking order.
Yeh, but the good thing is competition. You need it. Not just yo keep players honest but to cover injuries.
I haven't given up in 2024 but we need to experiment somewhat and it will benji and morris who will detect the mood and trends at training, the swagger factor and intent to produce that he'll pick-up on....fingers crossed.
Everyone seems to have forgotten about Morris. He's good at bringing the best out of the youngins like he did at the sharks. He could really help Benji develop this side.

On twitter:
Richardson made a passing comment about there possibly being room for roster movement over the next week or so also (assumption is Olam/Blore)

The plot thickens hahaha

Ideally Tallyn would spent a year playing nsw cup getting conditioned against men. I think Jake Simpkin still has the makings of a good first grade hooker, COVID really stalled his career, its a shame he'll have to leave to do so. Penrith, Cronulla, Canberra and Parra should all be trying to get him.

Tiger Ted

Ideally Tallyn would spent a year playing nsw cup getting conditioned against men. I think Jake Simpkin still has the makings of a good first grade hooker, COVID really stalled his career, its a shame he'll have to leave to do so. Penrith, Cronulla, Canberra and Parra should all be trying to get him.
Agree I rate Simpkin good kid & a genuine 1st grader but we have a junior no.9 in TDS who is going to b something special & will b club captain by his mid 20’s.